Skip to content

Playoffs, Purging, and Providence

January 5, 2008

What’s going on with me today?

The Seahawks are playing the Redskins in the Playoffs at home (Quest Field in Seattle), that’s what. I love football and I love our stadium. The Washington Redskins apparently didn’t know what they were doing when they made a comment implying that Seattle mikes up the stadium. Have you been there and heard the volume of the guys in the rows around you? I have. It’s unreal. Miked up. I think not.  My mom and her roommate are going. I’ll be watching the game on TV. I like to hear the commentary, even if it’s sometimes anti-Seahawks and ticks me off.

Meanwhile, I’ve taken down the artificial christmas tree and will be doing some early spring cleaning and reorganizing. Yesterday, I had a financial planner come talk with me, and guess what? She sews! Mostly home dec, but she sews! How divinely providential is that?

As she was leaving, we talked about how to decorate my front room. I think I have it figured out, finally. Since I’m going to be starting my own writing and editing business, how great would it be to have my front room be sort of a lounge or sitting room where I can meet with clients, without having to have them come all the way into my house, or upstairs into my office? So, some paint, some wainscoting or a chair rail, some valances and curtains, some furniture, and I’ll finally have a beautiful front room. I even have the furniture layout in my head. I’ll have to draw it out so I can start searching for the right pieces to fill up the room. I’m thinking a small love seat, a small round table and two chairs, or two easy chairs with a lower round coffee table, a bookshelf, and some warm lights. I already have the fabric for the valances that I’ll use in both the front room and the family room/dining area for continuity.

I’m inspired. It’s stormy outside but things are starting to liven up and prospects look hopeful for a good year, both financially and emotionally, for me. Inside, I’m full of ideas, and my body seems to be holding up well enough to allow me to implement some of them – slowly but surely.

More later! Go Hawks.

7 Comments
  1. January 5, 2008 1:32 pm

    I’m going for the Redskins on this one. It should be a great game.

  2. January 5, 2008 2:08 pm

    Either way, it WILL be a great game. So far (first quarter) the Hawks are winning. 2:52 minutes left in the first Q.

  3. January 5, 2008 4:29 pm

    What is up with your mom? Jersey Boys, pro football games … what next, Paris? Geez, my mother would look outside and say, “I’m not going, it’s too bright out” or something like that. Your mom sounds cool.

    Let me also say that my mother used to call me at 6 AM on rainy days and demand that I call work and tell them I’m not coming in. She’d say, “What, do they expect you to drive in this RAIN?” I was a reporter at the time, so you can imagine how that would have played in the newsroom.

  4. January 5, 2008 4:57 pm

    Wendy: My mom is the most social person I know. She has more umph and extroversion than I could ever dream of having. Not only does she have season tickets to the Hawks, but she goes regularly to the Mariners baseball games. She’s been a Hawks season ticket holder since the 80s and the days of the Seattle Kingdome. She used to ask me to go with her. In fact, the last time we were in the Playoffs, I got to go to both games (she bought extra tickets) but the deal was I had to take a MALE date. Not my daughters. LOL. The last time she asked me though, was after I developed fibro, so it wears me out to go all day to an outing. Let me say, when my mom goes somewhere, I can’t keep up with her. She’s a dynamo.

    Oh, and she lived in Paris for two years. Who knows? Maybe nostalgia will kick in and she’ll want me to accompany her.

    Marquis: We won. Sorry. Go HAWKS!

  5. January 7, 2008 9:14 pm

    I love to hear this about older women, probably because I have no role models in that area. Hearing about your mom and seeing how lovely she is (and her cool pad with the wicked view) really gives me hope. 🙂

  6. blogfree Jessica permalink
    January 8, 2008 5:05 am

    My neighbor in Kansas tried to tell me that Arrowhead Stadium was the loudest in the NFL. We went, twice this year, and they got NOTHIN on the ‘hawks and the “kingdome”. Remember when the Kingdome was still ‘alive’, and they tried to say that the noise level was due to it being an enclosed arena? Hmmm, now we have an open air stadium, and i think we are LOUDER. :o)
    Yes Marquis, it was a GREAT game….How ’bout them SEAHAWKS!!!!!!

  7. January 8, 2008 9:23 am

    Jessica: You are right on. The designers of the stadium used all the acoustical engineering tricks ever designed to make sure the loudness reverberates, I’m sure. Quest Field has to be an amazing stadium.

Comments are closed.

