Skip to content

Here We Go Again – Maybe.

January 13, 2008

My very first post on this blog was when my daughter came home from the hospital after undergoing emergency surgery for an incarcerated hernia. Lately, she’s had the flu, which I now have, thankyouverymuch, and we suspect her deep coughing has given her another hernia. She has a weakened abdominal wall from several stomach surgeries and she’s fearing that she’s going to have to have another. I’m trying to help her not build this up out of proportion until she sees the doctor. I hope for her, and for me, that she’s ok.

On top of this, yesterday my computer totally crapped out on me. I got at least six “blue screens of death” – that screen that tells you Windows has shut down to prevent your computer from blowing up in your lap. Then, finally, I just simply got the black screen with a message that said “Unable to boot operating system”. Great. Panic city. What was I going to do without a laptop? My whole income depends on a computer and all my work was on the old one.

notebook.jpg

Best Buy came through with a screaming deal on a sweet little HP laptop. (Looks like the one above, but white with a sweet silver keyboard.) So I’m back in business. Somehow, I’ll have to figure out how to transfer my files from the old laptop to this new one – including all my pictures. Thankfully, I had backed up most of my photos to disk a few weeks ago so there wasn’t too much on there.

On the bright side, it sure is fun playing on a new laptop that doesn’t burn your leg because it’s overheating, and you don’t have to wait and brew coffee while the windows open or the typing catches up with you. Ain’t technology grand?

I’ll keep you posted on my daughter.

9 Comments
  1. January 13, 2008 12:21 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your daughter. I hope she’s okay, for both your sake (s?).

    A new laptop, how cool! Don’t forget about the Antec cooling fan, even though your computer is new. I really think it helps extend the life of a laptop, and it makes it run so much better on days when I have it going for 15+ hours.

  2. January 13, 2008 2:21 pm

    goodness….hope your dd is okay. a mom never stops worrying about them, no matter old they get. 🙂

    congrats on the new laptop! my it generate lots of income for you.

    teir

  3. January 14, 2008 10:54 am

    I’m on my third laptop and the one I’m using now has a new hard drive because the old one crapped out on me. Mostly I use my wasband’s PC which we set up in the living room when he moved in. For some reason my laptop won’t work with the wireless system we have going here. It used to work at my store but not here and my son-in-law who is a computer wiz can’t figure out why. So I only use the laptop to play games on. I’ve lost so much stuff because I didn’t back stuff up on discs but I’m doing better at it.

    I hope your daughter is OK. My son had hernia surgery. But I don’t think his hernia was incarcerated (I don’t even know what kind of hernia that is). He’s also had ulcers. I think he also has IBS.

    I’ll send some good vibes to your daughter’s tummy.

  4. January 14, 2008 2:13 pm

    I hope she’s OK too. Our daughter had appendicitis twice. At 6 and 16. The first time her appendix closed back up after perforating and she was so sick with peritonitis (which we all thought was the flu) that the surgeon didn’t want to risk an appendectomy. At 16 we recognized the symptoms and got her right to the hospital for the appendectomy. She’s studying nursing now.

    Good going on the computer and your backing up your important stuff. If the hard drive on the old computer is not completely toasted you may be able to recover other files from it. It’s a very nerdy process, but my advice to you is that if there’s important stuff to be recovered, don’t give up on the old laptop just because it won’t start up. I hesitate to go any further here for fear of nerding you out. If you are not nerdy, then you’ll probably want to get some nerd help to start up the old laptop from a bootable utility CD with a storage device connected (external hard drive, flash drive, etc.). Dammit I went over-nerdy anyhow didn’t I? It’s what I do.

    Good luck with your new computer. 🙂

  5. January 14, 2008 4:41 pm

    Thanks, everyone, for the wishes on my daughter. She decided not to go to the ER but goes to the doctor tomorrow. Hopefully it’s not another hernia. The incarcerated hernia before meant that the intestines that has herniated were also being cut off. She was fortunate to get in fast enough that she didn’t lose any of the intestines.

    David, I’m glad your daughter is ok too. You so aren’t getting too nerdy for me. I’m a nerd in disguise. I can salvage the content on the hard drive, I’m sure. I just need to set aside time to figure it out. Or call Geek Squad. I sure love my new laptop though.

  6. January 15, 2008 10:26 pm

    I hope your daughter is ok! Flu, deep coughing, and possibly a hernia as a result. Not fun at all. That kind of coughing is no fun at all, you feel like a lung is going to wind up on your lap. Yuck.

    Congrats on the new computer, at least. Sounds very snazzy! There seems to be an epidemic of computers dying – mine pooped out last week, too. What a total pain in the butt. For future reference, I highly recommend two things to make your life easier the next time your computer dies (and you know it’s going to happen again, it’s inevitable):

    1) Buy and use an external hard disk to back up your files. They’re CHEAP. You can get them for about $100 to $300, depending on the amount of data they hold. You can even get cute little ones about the size of an ipod.

    2) Get some backup software that will do all this automatically so you don’t have to remember to do it. I use Microsoft Live One Care and it saved my life when my computer died last week. See my blog post about it.

    Renée
    The Empty Nest Blog
    Sharing laughter, experiences, and resources for fellow parents of college students.

  7. January 17, 2008 5:59 pm

    External hard drive is good advice Renee- they’re very easy to use. It cuts the chances of losing your stuff in half. Backing up to CDs or DVDs and storing those away safely cuts the chances down even more. External hard drives are great, but they’re still hard drives, sensitive, hard-working electro-mechanical instruments. The real key to successful backups is redundancy. Have your most important stuff backed up in at least 2 or 3 places.

  8. Tara permalink
    August 10, 2008 8:27 pm

    Wow I just happened to be doing some research and came across your story about your daughter. How is she doing now? I had gastric bypass surgery back in 01, in 04 I bacame pregnant and suffered extremely for the last 4 months. Vomiting, Abdominal cramping, pain so severe that i thought I was having premature labor. After carrying to 36 weeks the pain subsided a lot but not completely. Still not enough for me to go back and forth to the doctors. I just blew it off. I became pregnant again in 05, this was an oops but it was a message sent from heaven. However at 4 months pregnant the pain started to become severe again, I was in and out of the hospital with no answers. Doctors didnt want to do CT etc due to the pregnancy. After being d/c I went home and had a wonderful thanksgiving dinner, following day went and did some serious shopping, decided to stop for lunch because I was having pain and thought maybe I should sit down. So severe my friend say lets go, we went to the ER. I was admitted into the hospital where my General surgeon had privledges. The following day after admission my body had a terrible aroma and emergency exploratory surgery was needed. Upon going in they discovered an incarcerated hernia with strangulation of the small bowel. An emergency open surgery was performed at 24 weeks pregnant. The intestines pinkened back up after being unstrangled, thank god. After this I spent 4 months in the hospital and gave birth. I was sent home on TPN’s, Feeding Tubes all kinds of stuff and rehospitalized several times right up until Jan 08 when I had another sugery to fix a massive grapefruit size incisional hernia, they also had to remove part of the intestine that went ischemic after these surgeries. Its been a long journey and now I am facing more surgeries as another hernia has appeared and im still continuing to have intestinal problems. so I to know how you and your family are feeling as I spent my holidays in the hospital, we had no xmas, no new years.. But thats Ok my 2 pd baby girl turned out strong and she only helps me make it through each day as i look for the future of my health.

    Best of luck to you guys and i hope all goes well/or has gone well..

  9. August 10, 2008 8:40 pm

    Hi Tara – glad you are okay. My daughter is doing well. She is terrified of anything that could potentially cause her to vomit – as you can well understand. She’s doing much better but she’ll always have to be cautious about what she eats and take care of her body, more than most people need to. She hasn’t had any kids or pregnancies yet, so we’ll have to encounter that some day. I’m glad you’re doing okay. That incarcerated hernia situation is terrifying.

Comments are closed.

