Skip to content

Just a Quick Update

January 17, 2008

Thanks everyone for the wishes on my daughter. She went to the doctor two days ago and surprisingly the doctor didn’t even examine her abdomen. I seriously sometimes hate doctors. So she is still not feeling well – flu on top of everything else, which I also got. She goes back to her regular doctor tomorrow. She’s 27 so there’s nothing I can really do at this point for her. Not like I can put her in the car and go in there and be mommy demanding treatment, although if she gets worse, I will certainly just take her to the ER. I have to walk the fine line between letting go and letting my daughter be her own adult and being a protective, loving, supportive mom. I still haven’t figured that out so well. I tend to enable more than let go. But that’s another story.

Meanwhile, I’ve had the flu and am trying to focus on editing another version of a very strangely, choppily written document. But I love the challenge. When I can focus, that is. And yesterday I helped my mom with her computer setup and guided the Comcast guy through the condo and so forth.

Today I must work. I must, I must, I must. I just wonder when I’ll get back to sewing and having some fun. I talked to my mother about that yesterday. I really, really miss sewing. I am slowly getting things in place where I can pull out my lovely fabric and start making some spring and summer tops. I want to try that Ottobre top pattern that everyone is making!

Oh, and does anyone watch The Biggest Loser? Did anyone notice that to-die-for denim jacket the host was wearing at the beginning of the show this week? I’ll see if I can find a screen capture of it. I soooo want that jacket. It was darling. I’m sure I have some patterns that could easily be morphed into it.

More later, peeps.

7 Comments
  1. January 17, 2008 11:19 am

    Doctors are so frustrating, aren’t they? If you interfere they resent it, and if you don’t they could miss or neglect something important. If you’re really worried that the doctor didn’t examine her properly, try and get her to tell that to her regular doctor tomorrow. He may have some insight on the whole thing.

    How wonderful you can sew like that, to whip up your own clothes. I like the Biggest Loser, too, but I really love Celebrity Fit Club. I can’t wait till it’s back on.

  2. January 17, 2008 6:05 pm

    Doctors. Yeah. I think of them as fancy-pants auto mechanics. They might just fix your car up really good. Or not. But they cost 10 to 100 times more and you might die if they screw up.

    “Reality TV” so depresses me. I get all the reality I need from my daily life. It’s real enough. From TV I want the lurid drama or the belly laughs.

  3. January 17, 2008 6:42 pm

    Wendy: I agree. And this particular clinic has some of the stupidest doctors ever. I went to one there – who I’ll never go to again – and complained of chronic back pain to the point that I could not get out of bed. She gave me exercises and told me “if you hurt bad enough you’ll do the exercises”. Subsequent MRIs (diff doc) showed degeneration and a slight vertical tear. Nice.

    David: Some reality TV I like, but not all. I like ones where people overcome personal challenges, and I also like Project Runway because I like to sew. But some of the other ones just irritate me. The worst I’ve seen so far is “Bad Girls Club”. A bunch of young women being bitchy and crass. Ugh.

  4. January 18, 2008 9:46 am

    Even though your daughter is 27, it is sometimes too much to stand by and not interfere. Maybe if you persist, she’ll just go to make you happy…LOL.

    Hope it is minor. Keeping fingers crossed.

    You REALLY need to start sewing again. It does so much for the soul. Ottobre ROCKS!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  5. January 18, 2008 5:54 pm

    Just got back from the doctor. She has bronchitis and goes in Monday for an ultrasound to determine if she has a hernia. That’s about it for now! Thanks for all the good wishes.

  6. January 18, 2008 9:12 pm

    I’m glad she’s getting the ultrasound. And if it’s not a hernia, you’ll feel so much better knowing that.

    Bad Girls Club is the worst! They’re drunk all the time. Did you see the girl who used the couch as a bathroom? The producers of that show should be fired.

  7. January 18, 2008 9:55 pm

    Ewww. No, I didn’t see that. I guess I’m glad I missed that episode. Who thinks of these reality shows?

Comments are closed.

