Skip to content

No longer snow-less in Seattle

January 28, 2008

The weather geniuses around here have been predicting snow for days. I was about to give up and figure that I must live in some vortex or black hole because it certainly wasn’t snowing around here at all. Finally, around 1:00 this morning, it started snowing. (What was I doing up at that hour? Typical for me these days, sorry to say.) Then, this morning when I woke up, it was snowing heavily. We got a good three inches, but now the sun is out, and it’s warmed up to about 40F and the snow is melting off the trees in big clumps. I forgot to have my camera with me when I let Lily out because it was really darling. The snow was up to her belly, poor thing. Luckily we have some bushes she can get under.

So, here are some pictures I took. I’m amazed how they turned out taking them through a closed window and not standing outsize freezing my butt.

This is the thermometer attached to my back fence, and the first picture I took this morning.

jansnow_thermometer.jpg

The hummingbird feeder.

jansnow_birdfeeder.jpg

The birdbath in the front yard. Photo is retouched to change it to black and white. I like how it turned out.

jansnow_birdbath.jpg

This is the backyard looking from the back sliding window in my dining area. I just love this view and am glad the builders were smart enough to only build a short, three foot high fence along the back.

jansnow_bench.jpg

Here it is around 9 or 10, starting to clear up a little bit. The next three photos are unedited. I’m amazed at this camera sometimes.

jansnow_clearing.jpg

jansnow_clearing2.jpg

jansnow_clearing3.jpg

9 Comments
  1. January 28, 2008 12:56 pm

    These photos were so beautiful, and feeling the way I’ve been feeling lately (very homesick) they actually got me all choked up. So I hope you’re happy. 🙂 Between you and Aimee today, I can’t even enjoy the very mild temperatures here today … I want one of these snow-covered backyards!

  2. January 28, 2008 1:05 pm

    I’m sorry, Wendy. You’re welcome to hurry up and fly over here. It’s cooled off again and is starting to snow on top of the melted snow from this morning. I have to say, I could easily live in New England. I’ve only been there one time, and that was on our way to England. I was 12. We stopped in Salem, MA to see the statue of our ancestor who founded Salem (Roger Conant), and then drove up to my dad’s head office in Hartford, Connecticut. I think my brothers and mom and I stayed in the car while he went in for a meeting. I also remember staying overnight in New York before our flight the next day. As much as I love warm and sunshine, I do love all the seasons.

  3. January 28, 2008 5:32 pm

    I love your pictures! My camera is crappy and even the anti blur setting is blurry. The snow setting sets the flash on so of course everything turns white… stupid. I hate my camera basically.

    I’ve always wanted to go to Seattle but I’ve been to Oregon and I love it! I want to move out there some day 🙂

    and Wendy… you know you are always welcome here. Although, I have to warn you, I live in the basement and my food is stolen often haha.

  4. Bev permalink
    January 28, 2008 5:47 pm

    What a beautiful view you have! If you must have snow, this is the way to enjoy it!

    My only really truly beautiful view is crossing the lake on my way to work. Sometimes the snow or the frost clings to the big trees and just glistens. I always wanted to take a picture but it’s kinda hard to do going 65 mph and keeping up with traffic.

    Any of those snow scenes would make a beautiful framed picture. Gorgeous!

  5. January 28, 2008 6:16 pm

    I’m with everyone else– these are just so gorgeous. Seattle seems like heaven, except for that whole rainy, gray, cold thing.

    You’re a talented photographer. I e-mailed you a thank you for the moon photos, but of course it got returned as spam. But thank you!!! I love them.

  6. January 28, 2008 8:24 pm

    @ Dragonfly: Oregon is beautiful. I was born there and my sister lives there. Let me know if you ever get up this way. I’ll buy you a coffee. I owe Wendy one too. 😉

    @ Bev – thank you. I am fortunate with my view – it’s protected growth area so they can never build there. Plus, it’s a deep ravine a ways out there, so it would be too expensive and difficult if they ever changed the boundaries. And I will be framing some of these, you know. No point in buying store bought pictures. Someday I should print them up and sell them. Hee hee.

    @ Moonbeam. I’m glad you liked the moon photos. It’s so strange your emails get returned as spam. I haven’t set it that way. Weird. Oh, and the gray, rain, cold thing here? When I first moved here, it wasn’t as bad as it is now. Winters may have been cold, but we had plenty of days of sun. Oh, and the summers? You can’t beat the beauty up here with the lakes. Well, you can, but it sure is pretty.

  7. January 28, 2008 8:25 pm

    Thanks for the invitations, LM and Aimee. I’m stuck here, but thanks anyway. I’ll have to visit your photos often. 🙂

  8. January 29, 2008 5:31 am

    Lovely lovely! I love snow.

  9. February 15, 2008 6:07 pm

    Thanks for the lovely photos! Really like the shots of the snow sticking to the trees!

Comments are closed.

