Skip to content

Counting Favorites

February 2, 2008

Here’s a new meme, created by my online friend, Moonbeam McQueen. She first posted this on her blog (somewhere, I can’t find it now) and with her permission, I’m turning it into a meme.  

One of my favorite books: A Woman’s Worth by Marianne Williamson

Two of my favorite writers: Marianne Williamson, Emmet Fox

Three of my favorite movies: Sound of Music, Pretty Woman, Save the Last Dance

Four of my favorite artists: Renoir, Monet, Degas, and whoever did the cover art on Illuminata by Marianne Williamson. (I can’t remember the artist’s name, but I actually saw the original of this painting in Madrid, Spain when I was 13. I found it oddly coincidental that it was on her book as well.)

Five musicky people I’ve been listening to this week: None. I rarely listen to music. Sorry.

Six flowers I want in the imaginary bouquet I will be sent by my secret admirer: Roses, freesias, lilacs, snapdragons, lilies, orchids

Seven denominations of money I hope my anonymous benefactor will soon be sending me: thousands, tens of thousands, seven times ten thousand, and more. I’d even take hundred dollar bills I dunno. Hmmm.

Eight cookies I’d like to eat: This one’s easier. Dark chocolate chocolate chip, oreos, chocolate covered marshmallow cookies, chocolate covered graham crackers, frosted animal crackers, frosted white raisin cookies, double stuff oreos, ice-cream sandwich cookies

Nine places I’d like to visit: Greece, Italy, bora bora, Hawaii (again), Florida, South Carolina, Cape Cod, Paris (again), Spain.

Ten items I like in salad: Apples, filberts, macadamia nuts, cantaloupe, cucumber, jicama, romaine lettuce, dried cranberries, pecans, blue cheese.

Wow, that’s harder than it appears. I won’t tag anyone, but if you want to do this meme, just link back to me.

7 Comments
  1. February 3, 2008 9:17 am

    This is so great! Looking back, I’d reverse numbers one and ten. I’d love to know ten of your favorite books! Your bouquet sounds beautiful. It must be lovely to write “Paris (again)”!

    I’m surprised you don’t listen to music. I have this picture of you listening to classical music in your lovely house, knitting one of those cool hats.

  2. February 3, 2008 9:23 am

    MB: Writing Paris (again) always makes me incredibly grateful for the start in life my dad gave me. I was a teenager when I was there last, and I’m sure going there again, I’d have a completely different perspective and I’d probably explore and enjoy it so much more. Even if I was there alone.

    I don’t listen to music not because I don’t like it. I do. I just have no music collection and after my hardwood floors were installed, my stereo system never got set up again. My son-in-law is the one who knows how to do that.

    Every once in a while, I’ll turn on a music station on the TV and listen to relaxing sounds. My favorite song however that gets me moving is “September” by Earth, Wind, and Fire.

    I’ll get that list of ten favorite books for you. 😉

  3. February 3, 2008 3:57 pm

    Fantastic! I’ve taken it as well 🙂 I hope the linking works

  4. February 3, 2008 4:49 pm

    Dragonfly, it worked. 🙂

  5. February 4, 2008 1:19 pm

    I love Emmet Fox. And I love reading memes like this!

  6. February 8, 2008 2:29 pm

    I’m glad Cape Cod is on your list of places to visit.

  7. February 8, 2008 5:46 pm

    Have to disagree with you on the cookies. You’ve neglected snickerdoodles! Not to mention old-fashioned sugar cookies and pecan sandies. Ginger snaps and peanut butter. Oh, and milk chocolate chocolate chip!

Comments are closed.

