Skip to content

Color Inspiration

February 8, 2008

I’ve been busy lately working, so not much blogging here. However I have been doing my quick Blog 365 posts over at my Random Inkings site, if you want to visit me there.

Part of what is in progress, creatively, at my place, is setting up and decorating my office space. Since I’m working from home full time now, I need a comfortable and effective office space. I finally got a decent desk and chair. One that I like, not a garage sale leftover or hand-me-down. Not that these don’t make great pieces of furniture, but for me, they are acquired after settling for less than what I wanted all along. That, or they need refinishing or painting, for which I just do not have time these days to do.

037 I thought I’d show you my color inspiration for my office area. It came to me sort of randomly one day. I was looking through a thrift store hoping to find some old sheets or fabric for my bedroom and I came across this vase for $1. Or was it $2. Whatever. It was cheap. I love the colors and it seems I’ve been drawn for a while to this color scheme. So my office will ultimately have these sage green walls, with pink, white and black accents. My furniture is black, and my curtains are pink and white, as is the lamp you see in the photo.

Clearly, the walls in the background need painting. They are the leftover paint treatment of pink and purple that I did for my granddaughter when she lived with us with her dad and my daughter. I’m considering putting white wainscoting along the bottom half of the wall with the sage green up above. I think it would look delicious. If you can describe a room as delicious. Hey, I guess it’s my room, so I can.

Stay tuned. After I finish this project for work, I plan to go pick out the paint and get started. I’m actually accomplishing things these days, but it takes so much longer and I have to go at it in short bursts of time.

8 Comments
  1. February 8, 2008 5:40 pm

    Love the color scheme. I’m in the process of renovating my sewng room and have been jonesing for some wainscoting, too!!! It just makes the room look so polished.

    Can’t wait to see your completed office! You deserve it!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  2. Bev permalink
    February 8, 2008 6:03 pm

    I would never have thought to put this combination of colors together, but I think it looks fab! Funny how just a couple of small items can inspire you.

    Have fun! Can’t wait to see pictures of the completed project some day soon!

  3. February 8, 2008 6:42 pm

    Gorgeous!!!! And I love your $1 vase. It’s fantastic!

  4. February 8, 2008 6:46 pm

    @ DDiva – I knew you would like the pink. šŸ˜‰

    @ Bev – I learned from watching too many design shows that a single object can inspire a whole room. Next career: Designer Extraordinaire. LOL

    @ MB: The best part of that vase was it’s price. Oh, and the color scheme. Haha.

  5. February 8, 2008 9:08 pm

    I love your inspiration pieces, those colors look great together. White wainscoting with sage walls sounds wonderful. This will be fun following along as your office coming together.

  6. February 8, 2008 9:13 pm

    @ Wendy – it will. I’m excited about it. I’ll have to find someone reasonable to cut and install the beadboard or wainscoting – they are the same thing, aren’t they? But it will be beautiful. And I’m going to scout around for a nice loveseat sized hideabed or something that can double for somewhere for my brother and his girlfriend to stay when they come to visit this summer – hopefully.

  7. February 9, 2008 12:02 pm

    it will gorgeous, dahling….and yes, a room can totally be delicious.

Trackbacks

  1. ADD of Home Decorating « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

