Skip to content

Sad Times in Our Family

February 18, 2008

I haven’t been posting here as much lately because I’ve been quite busy working and then taking a trip to Portland, Oregon with my mom this last weekend. No, I didn’t buy any fabric. I haven’t touched any fabric since my last purchase late last year and my sewing room isn’t set back up yet. I can’t find my rotary cutters! Not to mention the fact that I don’t have a steady income right now. So, I couldn’t justify even looking. I did do some knitting, though.

There have been a couple sad events in our family recently. Last Wednesday, my son-in-law’s father passed away. He’d been sick for sometime and in hospice for a couple months, and passed away quietly in his sleep. However, he was only 54. That’s just a few years older than me. We are still waiting to hear when services will be and then my daughter and her hubby will fly down there with baby, and I’ll watch Cayden.

Then, Friday, our kitty Akira slipped out the door and has not returned. This is very unlike her and my youngest daughter is heartbroken. She’s an indoor cat and she didn’t have her shots up to date, nor did she have her collar on. That was my fault as it was clinking on the hardwood floor in the middle of the night when she’d play under my bed and it was driving me nuts. So I took it off, then we lost the collar. I feel horrible. We’ve put flyers out and today will be calling the Humane Society and other pet shelters in the area. What makes this sadder for my daughter is that this is the fifth kitty she has lost. She had four others that she entrusted to a “friend” and that “friend” let them all loose.

Then, as if all this wasn’t enough, my son-in-law heard yesterday that his younger brother, who had been helping to take care of their dad, is hospitalized now with pneumonia and possible leukemia.

Please pray for him. And for our kitty.

Akira-Trixie

8 Comments
  1. February 18, 2008 1:32 pm

    I am sorry you have all these things coming at you all at once. Sometimes it can seem overwhelming. One of my indoor kitties is an escape artist but the longest he has ever been gone is two days which was the longest two days of my life. My son would have been devastated if I had lost Yoda. Though Yoda is mine now because I refuse to give him to my son. I love him (the cat) so much. I love my soon too but the cat doesn’t give me as much trouble as my son does.

    I hope your son-in-law’s brother is OK and I am sorry about his father. That is so young, younger than me. I lost my father when he was 85 but you expect it at that age but not at 54. You and your family will be in my prayers.

  2. February 18, 2008 2:55 pm

    Prayers and good energy thoughts going out to you, safe return for kitty, and quick return to health for sil’s bro.

  3. February 18, 2008 6:37 pm

    @Joan: It’s okay, thank you. I never knew my SIL’s father, but I feel sad for my SIL. You try to be prepared, but you never are – especially with the first loss of a parent.

    @CuriousC: Thank you. We are hoping our little Akira will be home soon, and I’m praying that my SIL’s brother is going to be okay.

  4. February 19, 2008 3:42 am

    I’m sending you hugs. It all does seem to hit at once sometimes. When will your SIL’s brother going to get his test results back? I’m praying for all of you.

  5. February 19, 2008 6:13 am

    That’s a lot to have tossed at you at once. Let’s hope the diagnosis on your sil’s brother is premature, sometimes the medical community can scare the bejeebers out of us! As for the cat; they can be such stinkers! She may have found someone who feels sorry for her and is feeding her, and then maybe she’ll get bored and come home. I know this summer alone I took 2 strays to my daughter for shots and testing and then found homes for them. I checked for lost kitties in the paper but none matching their description popped up. Hopefully your flyers will help!!Keep us posted.

  6. February 19, 2008 9:58 pm

    You’re in my prayers tonight, LM, and I’ve lit a candle for you and your family (fur family included).

  7. February 20, 2008 10:26 am

    Thanks, everyone. SIL’s brother is out of the hospital now and he is being treated with antibiotics. They aren’t sure why the low white cell count, but they will recheck in a couple weeks. I told my daughter that they should fly him up here and let him stay here and just rest. Poor guy. He’d been taking care of his sick dad in between hospice people visits. And the guy is only in his early 20s. I’ve never met him. If he’s anything like his brother, he’s a good guy.

  8. February 24, 2008 2:16 pm

    Sending lots of hugs and prayers your way. Seems like a lot to deal with.

    Hope things get better and you find the little kitty!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

Comments are closed.

