Skip to content

Silly Lily (and Friends) Day

February 19, 2008

For a more upbeat post than my last one, I ask you to indulge me as I post gratuitous photos of my favorite kind of Lily and her friends from next door who came to play yesterday.

First, the guests.

This is Joey, all up in Lily’s business. He’s supposedly part Chihuahua and part Yorkie, but Stacy and I are pretty sure there’s no Chihuahua in him. One little tiny black puffball of fur. And he’s much older than the breeder’s told our neighbors he was because he’s already wanting to try out that action that older boy dogs love to do (use your imagination), and which my daughter the vet assistant says doesn’t usually start until about four months.

Joey

This is Tiffy – short for Tiffany, I think – and she’s mostly Chihuahua, and her hair is scraggly black. She’s really cute and Lily adores her. Poor little thing – Stacy was outside with them yesterday so they could do their business and this tiny little pup decided she wanted to see the inside of the puppy pool, leftover from last summer. Well, she didn’t know until she jumped over the edge, that it was full of ice cold icky water. Thank GOD Stacy was out there to rescue her or we would have been short one puppy.

tiffy

Here’s Joey, Tiffy, and Lily. Lily just loves having friends over. She is like a silly preschooler who jumps around all crazy saying, “Play with ME! Play with ME!”

Joey-Tiffy-Lily

You can see how tiny the puppies are compared to my Lily.

Here are all the pups except Daisy, who was far too busy eating grass and is now puking it all up this morning. Do you know how hard it is to get five puppies all in the same place at the same time? That’s Trixie who’s being the mother over all of them. She nips at Joey to boss him around. He responds by, well, being the boy pup that I described earlier. We don’t need any fluffy black Chihuahua’s around here just yet.  Well, other than Tiffy.

Chillins

It sure is fun having them all over. When the neighbor comes to the door to pick her pups up it sounds like a kennel of 100 puppies in my house. Everything echoes off the hardwood floors and my front room is still empty. But the hardwoods are the most durable thing yet. They sweep up beautifully, and a quick, light mopping with Bruce’s hardwood floor cleaner and they’re new all over again.

Finally, here’s Lily, telling her sister Stacy to stop playing on the computer and pay attention to her.

Lily-Puter

And a final update on SIL’s brother. He’s out of the hospital, but they don’t quite know what is wrong and will keep running tests. Hopefully it’s nothing more than being seriously run down after what he’s gone through.

And Akira, our black cat, still is not home. Stacy went to the local pet shelter, the local rescue facilities, and we posted on both Craigslist and Petfinder. Nothing yet.

5 Comments
  1. February 19, 2008 10:07 pm

    I love Tiffy’s dress! And it’s always so much fun to see Lily, I take my laptop and go running to show Buck. We stare at the photos of her and laugh out loud, we just can’t get over how fun it is to see Lily, who looks so much like Stella. It’s such a novelty for us, great entertainment. Simple things for simple minds, I guess. 🙂

  2. February 20, 2008 10:28 am

    @Wendy: Tiffy’s dress got waterlogged when she fell into the pool. But I washed it up and none of the little jewels on the hem fell off. Amazing. She’s so cute.

    I’m glad you guys get such a kick out of Lily. I’ll try to take a video of her Friday when the neighbor puppies come to visit. She’s so adorable trying to get the puppies to play with her. It cracks me up.

  3. February 20, 2008 9:25 pm

    These pictures are soooo cute! If Joey and Lily have a little of love children, I’d like to reserve one. We just won’t tell Tom.

    Thank you for the update on your SIL’s brother. Hope he’s okay.

    Still no Akira?

  4. February 21, 2008 7:43 am

    @MB: Deal. My lips are sealed. Nope, still no Akira. We are very sad and starting to lose hope that we will find her. It’s been very cold here at night, although lovely and almost sultry during the days (50?). I think maybe someone has adopted her. At least I’m hoping she’s being taken care of. The alternative thought is too heartbreaking.

  5. February 21, 2008 3:44 pm

    Hope your SIL’s brother feels better. Did he have pneumonia?
    I hope your kitty comes home soon.

    I miss not having a dog. The kids have their pit bull downstairs but I never see her because she’s afraid of my three cats.. Someday I hope they get a smaller dog.

    Your pups are so adorable.

Comments are closed.

