Skip to content

A Fun Day with Family

February 21, 2008

Today, I babysat the boys while my daughter went to Elise’s school to help out in the classroom. She likes to do this every other week, and happily, today I was free to help. When she got home from helping at Elise’s school, we had a quick lunch, then went to Target. After Target, we went to some new homes being built nearby and looked through the model homes. These are by the same builder that built my current home and last condo. The are great investments, that’s for sure. And of course, the model homes were beautiful.

Cayden was a handful. He hadn’t had a nap, and wasn’t really being naughty, he was just into EVERY thing. One room had a big football pillow and he flopped on that, then started wanting to throw the real football that was in the room. In another room, before we could catch him, he had climbed up on the bed and started jumping on it. Thank goodness no one else was there to witness it. And in another year, that won’t be so cute. Of course, we didn’t indulge his cuteness, but rather told him to knock it off!

Later, we got home and he needed to take a nap. Baby Evan needed mommy, so I tried to get Cayden to get back up on the bed and nap. I couldn’t understand what he was saying but he was telling me he had to go potty. Somehow he slipped past me, went straight to the bathroom, took off his Pull-Ups and stood at the potty like a big boy and did his business. After that, he washed his hands, climbed up on the bed, and after jumping on it a few times, he laid right down and went to sleep for almost 2 hours. What a sweet, sweet boy. I soooo heart him.

I had dinner with the kids. Cody tried to fix the lights around my rear license plate, but no luck. Kia here I come. Cindy made a really nice dinner and I enjoyed playing with both boys for a while longer. Lily came with me today and was such a good puppy all day. Previous visits have concerned me about having her around Cayden because she would growl or bark. But this time she was so good and after we got back to the car from Target she even stood up to Cayden’s car seat with this look like, I want to be in YOUR lap. Cayden ate it up.

So, without further ado, here are some adorable pictures of today.

Cayden checking out the little Cars wallet I gave him when I got there this morning. I’m Grandma, I’m allowed to spoil him. Heck, it’s in my job description, isn’t it? (Click the image for a larger view.)

014

Both of Grandma’s boys:

017

Evan checking out his brother.

018

Evan cracking up at Grandma. He has the cutest little chuckle laugh and coo. It sounds just like his mother’s laugh. I love it and it makes me tear up.

022

The big boy watching cartoons. Later, he loved sitting on my legs watching more cartoons while I knitted baby brother another hat, or playing with me. And hitting me up for money to put in that wallet. I emptied out the meager contents of my purse into his. About $1.45.

024

Sleepybaby Evan. I love the dimples in his knuckles.

033

047

I love baby hands.

053

5 Comments
  1. February 21, 2008 9:52 pm

    I love the photos, thanks for sharing them. Cayden is getting so big, he’s grown a lot in the last few months. And of course Evan is growing by leaps and bounds, he’s a total baby now, not an infant anymore. I love his dimple knuckles, too. So sweet.

    Don’t you wish you could nap for two hours straight? That must be wonderful.

  2. February 22, 2008 7:13 am

    Evan is all baby. All cheeks. I love it. And Cayden’s new favorite word is “Why?”. I love that too. Although I get tired of answering a series of questions. I just adore them both. I’m savoring every moment with them, because as Elise has shown me, they grow up far too fast.

  3. February 22, 2008 2:26 pm

    What a sweet, loving post. The photos are just so adorable, and so is your description of the day.

  4. February 24, 2008 1:16 pm

    I love the photos. I am still waiting to be a grandma. Some day. My son used to pee in the kitty litter when he was Cayden’s age. He started out with the baby potty, worked up to the kitty litter and then finally the toilet..

  5. February 24, 2008 2:21 pm

    Great photos!!! And boy, are they the cutest little guys…no wonder you spoil them!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

Comments are closed.

