Skip to content

Presents / Presence of Spring in Winter

February 25, 2008

I planted these little things six years ago or so and every year am delighted when they reappear. I’ve always forgotten about them by the time Spring comes around again. Each year there are just a few more, which also surprises me because they are planted right along the sidewalk and if I back up the drive just so, they get flattened by my tires. Hardy little things, aren’t they?

Crocus

Technorati Tags: ,,
5 Comments
  1. February 25, 2008 8:11 pm

    Are these in bloom now? Oh so beautiful. I live on a really shady street. White Pines everywhere, so I don’t get much sun for growing things. My first big sign of spring are the spring peepers in my swamp. I can’t wait. They start singing soon sometime as early as March 15th to as late as March 25th, so it all depends on the weather.

  2. February 25, 2008 8:43 pm

    Yup, Joan, they are blooming now. I almost stepped on them when I was getting groceries out of the car today. They are growing right next to a rose bush – which reminds me – I need to prune my rose bushes this next weekend. Probably should have already done that too. Oh well.

    What are spring peepers?

  3. February 25, 2008 9:44 pm

    Gorgeous! Your photo?

  4. February 26, 2008 6:16 am

    Yes, MB, my photo. I was playing with the macro settings on the camera, seeing how close I could get. I would say that my specialty in photography leans toward fauna and flora and landscapes, or is that all the same thing?

  5. February 26, 2008 7:21 am

    Spring peepers are tiny little tree frogs that we call Pinkletinks. They are called Pinkletinks in only one place in the world and that is Martha’s Vineyard, the island my daughter works on and where Hillary and Bill vacation. She has run into them a few times (at the ice cream store). Carly Simon also is one of her regular customers and she sang a song to my daughter once.

    Pinkletinks hang out near fresh water like the vernal pool we have in our back yard. I wrote a whole blog about our vernal pool. You hear the first couple of them on the first warm night in March and then within a week you hear hundreds. The sound is so loud that if you’re not used to them they might keep you awake all night because it is the only time they sing-at night.

    I have been in my home for 34 years so I am used to them and look forward to them. As a matter of fact the first one that I hear, I will call my sister so she can go out her back door and listen. She lives one street over. We look forward to them as the first sign of spring. They start singing right at dusk. We call it singing, other people might call it annoying.

Comments are closed.

