Skip to content

Like a Tornado

March 6, 2008
(I’ll probably regret that headline because I once had a post on a different blog about my Tsunami of pain and it got an exorbitant number of spam hits. I finally had to delete it.)

Yesterday afternoon, my daughter came over and we went to visit a friend. Before we left we had planned to take the boys and the puppies for a walk to the park. Instead we made a nice healthy lunch and I enjoyed my oldest grandson, Cayden, going crazy in my house. He loves coming to Damma’s house, playing with the puppies, and getting into absolutely everything. One thing he likes to do is go upstairs and peek outside from my bedroom window. He loves looking down on the back yard. His mommy and I would be downstairs and we’d hear him go upstairs and walk around (you can’t miss it with shoes on the hardwoods.) I’d go up and find him peering out the window. I wish I’d taken my camera along then.

Here’s Cayden on the stairs after we turned our back for a minute. The cat scratching post was pulled apart and spilled the “crumbs” all over the stairs.

011  010

He started out at my house looking so crisp and tidy in his nice long-sleeved white shirt and gray sweat pants. Then he decided to go outside when the doggies did and next we knew he was pulling up wet grass and tossing it around and wiping his muddy hands on his butt. Finally, as we were getting ready to leave, he had one of those cheese and cracker snack packs and next thing we knew the cheese was squirting out all over his shirt – and on my car door! So, off came the shirt and I had to run into the store and buy him a new one because mommy didn’t have another one with her.

All in all, it was a great afternoon and I never mind the tornado that comes through my house called Cayden. I relish every minute of it because, like the real ones, this one will be gone in a flash, grown up, and won’t have time for Damma.

I can’t wait until this one does the same.

012

2 Comments
  1. March 7, 2008 4:55 am

    you are such a good grandma. lots of grandmothers get annoyed when little ones behave like…well….little ones…getting dirty, messing up the house, “investigating,” etc.

    and, yes, they grow up in a flash…

  2. March 9, 2008 9:47 am

    When my son was little he used to get so dirty we used to call him “alien piggy”.

Comments are closed.

