Skip to content

Two Types of Painting

March 9, 2008

I must be bored. At least that’s what my daughter figures. So, I went shopping – in my garage. I found that I had almost two gallons, one still unopened, of the light cafe-au-lait colored paint that I already have on my walls. It’s called Pony Tail by Olympic. The darker caramel color – bungalow gold (some line at Lowes) is too dark now that I have the dark floors. So I figured I’d take the day “off” from working on my writing to start slowly painting the walls that need finishing. It will never get done as long as I sit her and wish for it to happen.

So I started painting slowly and used up one of the gallons. I promised myself I’d stop there so as to not overdo it. It’s hard getting this stuff finished because I feel like I’m moving at the speed of a snail on Quaaludes.

Here’s where I got with the stairs (left) and you can see how nice it looks with the blue of the kitchen. I could only paint up so high. I’ll need to do the rest when someone is here to spot me on a ladder. Not attempting that while home alone. I had images of me falling down those stairs and breaking my back. There’s no padding on them now. (Click the pictures for a larger view.)

012 016  011

When I finished up the gallon of paint, I decided to grab my quart of coffee bean high gloss brown and paint some picture frames.

021These frames were white, dingy, dirty, with a drab olive green inset. They were horrible and didn’t do any justice to the artwork they framed. The artwork was done by a friend of my parents in Sussex, England in 1973 when we lived there. My dad was an avid and skilled sailor and we traveled all over the UK going to regattas. (The British pronounce that re-GA-tah, with the GA rhyming with cat.) A woman, Leta Nicholson, painted these two paintings and they are signed by her. I couldn’t find anything on the Internet about her or if she’s even still alive. Just think, this artwork is 35 years old! GAWD.

The art on the top is the Itchenor Sailing Club in Sussex, England. The picture on the bottom is some church near there, in Sussex. I suppose that in the art world these paintings aren’t all that special, but they are to me. They bring back fond memories of a country I lived in and loved – still do. Plus, I had a wonderful life over there with my parents touring around and watching dad sail while mom knit in the clubhouses.  I’ll have to tell you someday about my mom’s fabulous talent for knitting.

029 026

7 Comments
  1. March 10, 2008 2:29 am

    the color is lovely. looks great with the blue…..very beachy. 🙂 you are smart to not push it with the projects. from what i understand, learning to pace yourself is important with fibro. it will all get done….just not today.

    teri

  2. March 10, 2008 3:02 am

    Love the new color!

    Good luck with your new venture Claire! I’ve been thinking about you.

  3. March 10, 2008 4:44 am

    I hate painting more than anything in the world!! If wallpaper was cheap, there wouldn’t be a painted room in my house!! I love your pictures! My boyfriend loves to sail. By the time he was 16 he was a sailing instructor and he’s still itching to get out on the water.

  4. blogfree Jessica permalink
    March 11, 2008 2:57 am

    I just painted my living room Bungalow Gold! I accented with Pecan, from the same line.
    Your house is looking wonderful…you are doing a beautiful job!

  5. March 14, 2008 6:43 am

    Love it! I like those paintings very much. and the walls look great. oh – and congrats on the BIZ! go, go GO!

  6. March 17, 2008 4:37 pm

    These colors are so pretty, I really love them. It looks so elegant and calming with those wonderful floors. You’re doing a great job, it looks lovely!

  7. March 17, 2008 8:34 pm

    I just realized I haven’t responded to people on this post. Shame on me. Thank you so much for the good wishes. I do love the new color. It’s actually a pleasure to be in my kitchen now and I’ll be repeating the soothing tones throughout the house.

Comments are closed.

