Skip to content

More Blue, Less Blue

March 22, 2008

The more blue that goes up, the less blue I become.

016 

(Click the image for a larger view.)

The blue is all done. I think this took me about 2 hours. I took my time, cut in the edges with a brush, but the rest was roller. And this is the same blue that was used in the kitchen. One gallon. Five dollars. Two rooms. How can you beat that?

017

You can see how it looks against the pretty floors.

018

The long wall…Don’t you just love the light switch right in the middle? Who was the dumb electrician that figured that out?

014

And this is how it looks as one heads up the stairs. Oh, how I’m going to love the soothing look of that every time I come upstairs now.

022

Now just in case you think that’s a whole lotta blue, it is. But it’s going to be broken up by white bookshelves and white picture frames. Eventually (like five years from now at the rate I move), there will be white crown molding.

img_0117_small.jpgimg_0118_small.jpgThen, you may remember (or not) that I got these a year ago from a sewing store in Seaside, Oregon, that was closing their business. These will be painted white and hung on the big wall. I could keep them black, but I think that would darken the room too much. Fabric goes behind them, if I so choose, or I could just let the blue of the wall shine through. What do you think? White or black? Fabric or no fabric?

And, finally, what’s a little blue without some pink?

021

18 Comments
  1. March 22, 2008 3:50 pm

    oh Claire…you did it! Way to go!!!

    Love those cool art thingies!!! How big are they? I say paint them white and put fabric behind them. Those are so unique…they’ll make the room pop~

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  2. March 22, 2008 3:53 pm

    Lisa, those art things are a good 3 feet by 4 feet. The are HUGE. I was thinking I’d use white chains to hang them from the wall, too. I was thinking a pretty white and blue/green toile behind them, or a paisley, would look so pretty.

    I’m so happy to get the walls done. Now I am resting. 🙂

  3. March 22, 2008 3:54 pm

    wow! that looks terrific….but that’s enough for one day. rest, relax, and revel in the new blueness.

    teri

  4. March 22, 2008 3:55 pm

    You bet, Teri. I’m chillin’ now… 🙂

  5. Bev permalink
    March 22, 2008 4:52 pm

    Looks great, Claire! I don’t think it’s too much blue at all. The white frames, etc., will look great.

    (I vote that you paint the light switch the same color as the walls. Then it won’t be noticeable that it was an afterthought by the builders, good grief.)

    I also like the idea of hanging those sewing cutouts with white chain and painting them white. I can’t quite visualize what you mean by fabric behind them, tho, but I’m having a d’uh moment.

  6. March 23, 2008 8:21 am

    Now I could go for that pup. Of course I’m partial to Chihuahuas. I have two of them and the other one thinks she is a Chihuahua.

    Yours looks like my youngest. Her name is Tinky.

  7. March 23, 2008 1:08 pm

    @4urpets: Thanks! I’m kinda partial to her myself. She picked me when I got her. I’ll hop over to your blog now to check out your pets.

  8. kaylee2 permalink
    March 23, 2008 2:00 pm

    WOW i love it so far!!!!!!!!!

  9. March 23, 2008 3:07 pm

    I love that shade of blue. So tranquil looking. You’re amazing!

  10. March 23, 2008 3:24 pm

    @Kaylee – Thanks!

    @MB – I’m hoping it will be my soothing and tranquil retreat. Now to sell some fabric I no longer want or need so I can buy just the right fabric for that room.

  11. March 25, 2008 6:39 am

    What a gorgeous shade of blue! What is the brand and shade?

  12. March 25, 2008 6:45 am

    @Knitsational – the brand is American Tradition by Lowe’s, but the color, I have no idea. It was on the mistint stand (they made a mistake with someone’s selection) and I got it for $5. They can match the color for me, but they can’t tell me what it is. I’ve taken swatches from the rack but I for the life of me cannot find the right one. I suspect perhaps someone had a swatch of fabric and wanted them to match it. Either way, it’s the best color for me – in some lights it is bluey, other lights, it’s greeney.

  13. March 26, 2008 7:12 pm

    We have a lot of that shade of blue in my house. I love it. You can’t have too much blue.. I find it to be a soothing color. I think it will look awesome when it’s finished. I give you credit for doing it. I have to admit I like the doggie photo the best.

  14. March 27, 2008 12:11 pm

    I love that blue! Are those pictures like cut outs? see through? nifty. They look cool.

  15. March 27, 2008 5:55 pm

    This is the best blue ever. I adore it. It’s so serene and elegant. Kinda like Lily.

  16. March 29, 2008 7:12 am

    I love that blue. Its what I want in my bedroom…whats it called??

  17. March 29, 2008 7:13 am

    duh…I shoulda read all the comments first.
    Forgive me, I havent finished my coffee yet.

  18. March 29, 2008 7:14 am

    @ The Vinyl Villager – I have no idea what the name is. It’s a Valspar paint that I found on Lowe’s mis-tint table. You’d think when they mix something wrong, they’d still put the formula on the can or the name of the color. Just in case idiots like me actually like the color and want more of it.

Comments are closed.

