Skip to content

Sewing Loft Blues

March 22, 2008

This is what I see in my sewing loft every time I go down the stairs, which is several times a day. This depresses me to no end.

002

See the sewing machine buried under all that clutter? That makes me so sad. There it sits, wanting to be used. And the thread and fabric sitting right there waiting to be made into something. The ironing board looks so dejected and discarded. Bolts of curtain fabric lean abandoned and dejected against the wall.

Here’s the whole room as it is right now.

003

It used to be full of life, full of fabric, full of ideas and creation. Now it sits like an empty cavern calling to me every time I pass by, “What about me?”

I feel as if I’ve lost an arm or lost something very essential to my being by not having my sewing room. Sometimes I think perhaps I should sell my beautiful house and find a smaller place that I can keep up with. Then I take the second thought and realize that I cannot sell right now and get what the home is worth, and I’d never be able to afford what I have right now: plenty of space, a quiet, semi-secluded lot near a beautiful green belt, a sort-of view, and three bedrooms plus the loft.

I look at that room and although I want to be in there, I don’t want to step foot in there because I’m overwhelmed with what needs to be done to make it comfortable, soothing, enticing, and my creative retreat. It needs painting. It needs new curtains. It needs the tables rearranged (and I can’t move them by myself), and it needs the bookshelves installed – after they are painted white.

I’m not supposed to be painting any more but I’m to the point – yet again – where I think, screw it. The satisfaction and accomplishment I’ll feel – and the moving forward of my goals – cancels out the pain I’ll feel in my shoulder after a day’s painting and fixing up. I cannot sit still any more. That room is crying out to be the same blue and beige as downstairs, and I have the paint to do it. So, that’s what I’m going to do.

I’ll be in pain tomorrow, but hopefully, I’ll be wincing in pain along with the sound of a sewing machine humming. Or at least wincing in pain, but completely satisfied.

7 Comments
  1. March 22, 2008 9:30 am

    You can do it Claire! Is there anyone you can get to help paint?

    Seems you really need to get sewing again. You’ve been away from your sewing machine far too long. it’s time.

    Wishing you luck! Can’t wait to see the room done!

    happy easter!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  2. March 22, 2008 9:36 am

    @Lisa – Yes, I do need to get sewing again! Even if it’s just a curtain panel. Something, anything. I was hoping my daughters would help, but one is busy with kids and the other one is too busy with dogs or being 26 going on 16. LOL. Even if I do it in stages, it will get done. I’m nothing if not stubborn and determined!

  3. March 22, 2008 10:03 am

    I am channeling your mother right now:

    You know, you don’t have to do this all in one day. Maybe paint a wall a day, organize your stuff over the course of three. Pace yourself, Little Missy. And please post “after” pictures.

  4. March 22, 2008 10:10 am

    @MB: You are too funny. My oldest, Cindy, said the same thing. Little bits at a time. Do you know how hard that is? It’s like dreaming in slow motion. Ever had those dreams where you want to run at the speed of light but your limbs and body move like frozen molasses? Ya. That kind of frustration. LOL. But I will pace myself, I promise. See? I’m already stopped and on the computer. I’ve only cleared off the walls so far. Now I have to go to Lowes and get a new paint brush. Mine went the way of socks in the dryers to the mysterious paint brush vortex.

  5. March 22, 2008 10:18 am

    oh honey, i wish i lived closer. i would help you paint. 🙂

    i know how much you want it “just right.” in the meantime, could you get it set up to the point that you could start sewing a little. the purr of the machine might just be the stress reliever you need.

    some people think sewing is frustrating and stressful. i find soothing and calming. in february, i made a commitment to sew at least a few minutes every day. i did it! some days, it was just one seam. i need to make that commitment again. the last quarter of school is long, busy, and stressful. a few minutes of sewing each day might be just the ticket.

    i agree with MB, don’t try to do it all in one day. also, don’t wait until it is perfect to start sewing again.

    teri

  6. kaylee2 permalink
    March 22, 2008 2:13 pm

    have fun and dont work yourself too hard 😉

  7. March 22, 2008 5:15 pm

    I completey understand about wanting your sewing room to be “just right”. I’m the same way, but have had to settle for pretty close. Someday…in the meantime, I’m thankful that in our little house full of children, I even have a sewing room!
    ~Rebecka

Comments are closed.

