Skip to content

More Knitting and Gratuitous Cuteness

March 28, 2008

Yesterday I spent the day again with my daughter and the kids. Yes, I know, I have other things I *should* be doing but I’m exhausted and soon a time will come that I won’t have time to enjoy their company this way. So, I’m considering this a way to repay spending time with my daughter that I never got to do when she was young, because I was working too much. Now, even though she’s grown, I enjoy the time with her, listening to her “stuff”, and watching her kids grow and play.

009 We went to a place called Jungle Playland that’s in a warehouse in the back of a church. It’s great for the kids. Plenty huge for lots of climbing and sliding, and even tables and chairs where parents and grandparents can sit and watch. They even have concession stands where you can buy pizza, hot dogs, burgers – even Boca burgers – and other foods. The artwork around this place is great. Even the ceilings are painted like the sky, so it feels bigger than it really is. The kids loved it. We were there for almost three hours and the only time they stopped was to eat a slice of pizza.

021My job for the day was to watch this little cutie. I loved how he chewed on his finger while smiling at me – and drooling. And those deep blue eyes (which he gets from his mommy) are going to melt everyone’s heart as he gets bigger. They already have my heart.

 

Here’s Cayden following Elise down the slide. This is what they did over and over all day long. (Did I mention we were there for three hours?) It’s so adorable watching him follow her around and copying what she does.  In this clip, when she screams, he tries to scream. Kinda feeble scream, but darling. And that slide was fast – they’d hit the bottom and fall forward. All the kids did that. The first few times, Cayden would lean back too far and bonk his head. Then he’d get up, walk around and sort of rub it like, “What happened?” It was hilarious, and of course, not a bad bonk, so no worry that he’d hurt himself.

And finally, to the knitting. For the drive up there and back, I knitted furiously trying to finally finish a larger size hat for this darling cherub that is growing too fast. I did it, and whipped the last finishing stitch just as we pulled into the driveway. Now Cayden wants one to match. But, of course!

034

4 Comments
  1. kaylee2 permalink
    March 28, 2008 6:45 pm

    Love that post 🙂

  2. March 30, 2008 8:59 pm

    I like the screaming when they were coming down the slide. That’s what I do, but my screams are out of real terror.

    I love that hat, the colors are so cute. I’m nearly finished with a sweater for Buck (a five year project), but it’s so nice I think I’ll keep it for myself.

  3. March 31, 2008 8:11 pm

    I love the way Evan looks at the camera. He’s just so sweet! It sounds like such a great day.

    P.S. The hat’s adorable! I forgot you knit too (duhhh- I think of you as a seamstress). I should have made the post about the KnitKnot tree for you too!

  4. April 1, 2008 7:50 am

    @Kaylee: Thanks!

    @Wendy: I love the screaming too. I didn’t notice it the first time I watched the video. Can’t wait to see the sweater you’re finishing.

    @MB: Well, you are right, I am more a seamstress than a knitter, but I do knit. You did your post just right as Wendy really is the official knitter of the bunch, in my not so humble opinion. My heart isn’t into knitting so much. It’s more just to keep my hands occupied and not stuffing food in my mouth.

Comments are closed.

