Skip to content

Sewing Book Bonanza

April 2, 2008

I responded to an ad on Freecycle.org but was too late for whatever it was she was offering. It was sewing related, but now I don’t even recall what it was because instead she asked if I wanted a bunch of sewing and fashion history books. Are you kidding me?

This is what I got – for free.

008

Okay, sorry. No more teasing… Here are individual pictures of the books. You can click the picture for a larger view. I’m not sure I’m going to keep all these, but I’ll decide after I give them a closer look.

Pattern making books:

009

I have two copies of this one – at least they appear identical. I will probably be giving one away. Maybe I should have a contest?

010

A couple men’s fashion design books:

011 012

A couple Nancy Zieman books (of Sewing with Nancy fame.)

013

The Art of Fashion Draping by Connie Amaden-Crawford

014

A book about designing using flat patterns:

015

An entertaining book about clothes made from articles in Threads magazine. I’m sure the pictures will be hilarious as it appears much of these fashions were from the 1980s.

016

I think I have a newer version of this book by someone else now.

017

Standard Singer sewing book – or is this a unique one?

018

Standard serger idea book.

019

And now for the cool books:

Children’s clothing design. How cool is this?

020

Classic tailoring techniques

023

Vintage Complete Book of Sewing from the 1940s.

024

Okay there’s more, but I’m not going to introduce each one. I’m tired. You can click on the picture to see more details. Do tell me though if any of these look like they are good books. The very last one here – Madeleine Vionnet – to me looks like one I’m really interested in perusing.

025 026

 027 028

029 030

031 033

Thoughts, anyone?

13 Comments
  1. April 2, 2008 8:19 pm

    I don’t know anything about sewing, but these look fantastic, especially the last seven. You’re going to have so much fun browsing those fashions– you are one lucky freecycler!

  2. April 3, 2008 2:40 am

    You certainly did hit upon a great give away! If you have the space, I’d say keep them, at least until you’ve read through each one. I own quite a few of them, some of mine are the revised version, but the info in yours is still solid. Go to Connie Crawford’s site and check the price of her latest of the Draping book!

    I own Clasic Tailoring Techniques and wouldn’t part with it but I make tailored jackets. Even though it’s written for men’s suits I use the information in tailoring for me. I’ve not heard of the Professional drafting system books by Jack Hande____ but you’d at least get to study what is offered without having to go out and find it, if you even could find it. As for the last 8 fashion books, I’d love to have them!

    I keep looking back through trying to help you decided to give some away but each time I get more convinced that you have just received a very substantial sewing library that others I know (she said glancing around) have paid lots of money for. Maybe the Threads book would be the one I could live without.

    Lucky sewing woman!!!

  3. April 3, 2008 4:16 am

    Oh. My. God. !!!

    BTW, Jack Handford’s books are very well thought of by Kathleen Fasenalla. I’ve never personally seen one because the prices are usually beyond reasonable.

  4. April 3, 2008 5:07 am

    Wow! What a treasure you were given! These are fantastic books – and all worth keeping for reference and inspiration.

  5. April 3, 2008 5:37 am

    lucky girl! have great fun reading thru all of them. i think you have some real gems in there. i think it would be fun to read thru some of the older ones just to see how styles and techniques have changed. ….and then there are techniques that are timeless…..

    teri

  6. April 3, 2008 7:03 am

    what a goldmine! I think the Vionnet book, the haute couture and the decades of fashion one look fascinating.

  7. April 3, 2008 8:32 am

    wow, lucky you… i really love sewing, it’s really a goldmine

  8. April 3, 2008 8:46 am

    What a lucky haul! Can I come over and look at them? 😉

  9. April 3, 2008 9:34 am

    Very fun!

  10. April 3, 2008 1:26 pm

    I tagged you for a meme. It’s an easy one. Check out mine to see what’s involved. No pressure.

  11. April 4, 2008 1:50 pm

    I don’t sew either but that would be like me getting a bunch of free cookbooks . I would be ecstatic. I like the Vintage one from the 40’s.

  12. April 5, 2008 4:29 pm

    No way. You did NOT get all those books free. right?

    right?

  13. April 7, 2008 7:07 pm

    @Dawn – yes, those were all free.

    @Joan, It would be exactly like you getting all sorts of free cookbooks.

    Thank you everyone else. I’m looking forward to browsing through them and learning from the techniques.

Comments are closed.

