Skip to content

Oregon Coast Pictures

April 5, 2008

If you’ve ever been to Cannon Beach, Oregon, then you understand the impressiveness of this earth monument. I don’t know what you call it other than a big rock sticking out of the water, but as we drove around the corner, this was simply breathtaking. I had to find a place to stop and take pictures, and all I could find was a place that made me shoot between houses and utility wires. Still…

006 005

(Click the pictures for a larger view.)

These other two rocks live nearby. Could you imagine living in that house and looking out across that view every day? Wow.

007 011

The weather was gray and raining most of the day but I really wanted to see what Cannon Beach was about. What I got was only a quick drive through town because Mom wasn’t feeling well. (I’m definitely coming back on my own someday to spend more time here.) We stopped for lunch at a small restaurant and these sweet pansies were in the flower box. Pretty color on a gray day.

014

Some architecture in Seaside Oregon. I thought this was a great exercise in showing modern versus vintage.

021

Tons of seagulls at the seaside being fed something by the tourists. People: do NOT feed the seagulls. You risk getting it delivered back to you in a different form, with a different color, on your head or in your face as you look up at them. They will just laugh at you and say, stupid humans.

025

My first glimpse of the ocean on a gray day. Right then, it wasn’t raining, and the sun was starting to peek out from behind clouds, but boy was it windy and cold. Great for kite flying, which several people were doing.

027

Random ocean pictures follow now. I love the ocean. Years ago, my parents, my daughters and I came down here and I had fun walking up and down the ocean with my girls. I have one of my favorite pictures of them from this time with the reflection of them in the ocean water. I’ll have to dig it out from somewhere and enlarge it and frame it.

032

039

044

053

056

And yes, I really am at the beach, folks. Here’s proof.

068

Today, so far, it’s not raining. Once I catch up on a bit of sleep, I’m going to go walk the beach again. The ocean and I are soul mates, you know. Or is it that the ocean stirs up my inner souls and the constant roar of the surf soothes my stressed out psyche? Who knows. It’s pretty.

13 Comments
  1. April 5, 2008 12:02 pm

    so pretty…..you are making me homesick for the ocean. yes, something about the sound of waves that just makes it all go away…

  2. kaylee2 permalink
    April 6, 2008 2:52 pm

    BeAUTIFUL……………I want to be at the ocean. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. thegirlfromtheghetto permalink
    April 6, 2008 7:56 pm

    Nice shoots. I recall seeing those rocks from a movie, was it Goonies?

  4. April 6, 2008 8:09 pm

    Mermaid: I must have been a mermaid in a previous life, as much as I love the ocean. HAHAHA.

    Kaylee: I wish you could be at the ocean too, rather than going through what you are going through.

    GirlfromtheGhetto: Thanks! I’m not sure. I don’t watch many movies and have never seen that one. I’ll take your word for it if you say it is so.

  5. April 7, 2008 1:11 pm

    Your pictures are beautiful!

  6. kaylee2 permalink
    April 7, 2008 6:14 pm

    THANKS ๐Ÿ™‚ I hate going through this!

  7. April 7, 2008 7:17 pm

    @Lucky – Thank you.

  8. April 8, 2008 6:00 pm

    These photos were great. I love the “big rock sticking out of the water” and the pansies are really beautiful. And YOU, madam, look fantastic. You’ll be beating men off with a stick.

  9. April 8, 2008 6:03 pm

    Okay… that last sentence looks really, really bad. Jeezus I hate when things like that don’t dawn in my brain until I’ve posted them. Shit. Please edit that in your head to read: You’ll be attracting men like bees to honey.
    Or something nice and sweet like that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. April 8, 2008 6:13 pm

    *coughing up a lung from laughing so hard at Wendy’s comment*

    Wendy, you kill me. Not literally of course, but I totally knew what you meant, and it wasn’t until your second comment that I reread that last sentence. Thank you so much for the compliment!

  11. April 11, 2008 7:30 am

    beautiful pics! I love a rocky shore…

  12. April 12, 2008 3:45 am

    These pictures make me want to jump in my car and move to Oregon. I wish they’d do something about that rainy gray weather they have though. Can you talk to someone about that for me please?

    Wendy’s right– you do look fantastic. As for “beating men off,” um….

  13. April 12, 2008 7:09 am

    @VV – Thanks!

    @MB – Ya, the weather sure is a problem. However, it would figure that *this* weekend it’s beautiful out. Sunny, birds chirping and all that. Oh, and thanks! I feel like I am looking less fat. LOL.

Comments are closed.

