Skip to content

Don’t Throw That!

April 17, 2008

Cayden_BaseballMittThis boy has an arm and all he wants to do is throw things. They can be rocks, balls, shoes, books, anything. He just wants to throw stuff. So today, when my daughter and I were at Target shopping for baby shower gifts, he spotted the baseball mitts across the aisle. And since Cayden’s birthday was Monday (and he was in Disneyland without his Grandma), I *had* to get him this new mitt and ball.

I feel fortunate that I could be the one to buy him his first mitt. He loves it. While his mommy fed the baby, Cayden and I played “catch”, which really consisted of me rolling the ball to him, or soft pitching it straight into the cup of the mitt, and him rolling the ball back to me. It was a lot of fun.

074 I heart Cayden.

I so missed these kids while they were gone for a week in California. I came up to my daughter’s house after a job interview today and got my dose of little snuggly boys. Evan drooled all over me and I got to watch him have his very first bite of rice cereal. Cayden made me laugh – side-splitting laughs – and just made me forget all my pain and worries. I treasure every moment with my daughter and her little family.

078

And Cayden wouldn’t even put the mitt down to eat his stale Tostitos.

Ah, boys. This one will be my daughter and son-in-laws’ future star pitcher or quarterback. Time will tell.

6 Comments
  1. April 18, 2008 10:29 am

    You must have missed them so much while they were on vacation. I am actually missing my daughter and her hubby. The wasband has been gone too and it is just way too quiet here.

  2. kaylee2 permalink
    April 18, 2008 3:52 pm

    My brother is the same way!

  3. April 19, 2008 8:15 pm

    @Joan: I did miss them a ton. I had to have daily updates by phone on how they were doing. They learned that they should have taken me along as the nanny. LOL.

    @Kaylee – your brother? How fun is that? I think my DGS is hilarious. Hope you are feeling okay.

  4. April 20, 2008 8:36 am

    Adorable! Cayden seems to grow a mile each time you photograph him! How lucky you are to get to watch your grandkids grow up!

  5. April 20, 2008 6:54 pm

    @MB: He does. And he’s such a polite, sweet natured, fun loving little boy.

  6. kaylee permalink
    April 24, 2008 7:35 pm

    I am feeling fine and yes i have a brother 🙂

Comments are closed.

