Skip to content

Unleashed and Unwound

April 26, 2008

Today was a busy day. Today we got up early because we had to take all three dogs to compete in Petco’s Fastest Chihuahua in America race. We didn’t win any prizes, but we sure had a great time. After that, we raced (no pun intended) over to Chuck E. Cheese’s for Cayden’s birthday party. The weather was also absolutely gorgeous all day today, and now I’m sitting listening to lawn mowers, kids playing, and birds chirping. And trying to just rest and unwind all the way without freezing up completely. I ended up being on my feet from about 9:30 to 11:30, which, for me, is a very long time.

Oh, and I almost forgot… we got interviewed by the Seattle Times on video, so I’ll have to check in a couple days to see if we made the cut.

So, you asked for pictures, here you go. (I think you can click the pictures for a larger view.)

This lady was one of the first we bumped into when we got there. Poor doggy – that’s a boy. Does he look annoyed, or what? Not only is there a wig, but he’s got pantaloons on. Poor confused little doggy. Or is it the owner who is confused?

001

Trixie making friends. Trixie loved everyone and was so cute doing her commando crawl to scoot up to the cute puppies she wanted to befriend.

003

Some people dogs wear the weirdest things in public.

005

Stella from A Life with Buck and my Lily are so much cuter than these two.

007

The sun was out so even the dogs sported shades. 008 023

A couple random shots of the crowd so you can see just how many dogs and people there were there.

009 010

Lily and Daisy take it easy in the comfort of their pink Outdoor Hound stroller.

014 015

This boy was so cute riding around on his unicycle. That’s supposed to be a chihuahua he’s got there, but it’s a mighty big one. He even admitted the dog was almost too big to get through the race chutes.

018

Stacy and Trixie, and Stacy and Lily.

019 024

Trixie investigating this pretty girl’s fashionable attire and where she shops.

021

The starting gate and finish line. I think the distance they run is a mere 28 yards or something.

 

029

028

On your bark, get set, go. (Okay, I stole that line from the announcer. But it was cute.)

032

Owners waiting at the finish line, enticing their pups to run to them.

034

A Petco helper with Trixie so I could take pictures and watch Lily and Daisy. I tried to take a movie, but my camera malfunctioned and I got only five seconds of video.

039

Lily heading down the race track (sorry for the butt shot) and Lily and Daisy at the finish line. (I couldn’t take more pictures other than this of them because they combined both their heats so they both went at the same time.)

042 043

So, there you have it. A day at the races, a dog-day afternoon morning, now we’re all dog tired… Okay, you add to the puns. I dare you. I double dog dare you.

3 Comments
  1. April 27, 2008 4:14 am

    Doggonit, that looks like fun! I love the pink doggie wig, and all of those sunglasses!

    That stroller is amazing— I didn’t know they made such things– talk about pampering! Do they make those for humans?

    Thanks for sharing your fun day– great pics!

  2. April 27, 2008 7:37 am

    @MB: You would have had so much fun there, I know it. And that dog with the pink wig was an AKC stud, she said. I wish I had gotten her phone number, but she said unless Lily is AKC as well (she isn’t) not to breed her cuz I could end up with a mutt. I think that’s unlikely, but what do I know. She doesn’t appear to have any mutt in her, but she doesn’t have papers either.

  3. April 27, 2008 7:02 pm

    Great coverage! Oh, thank you for posting this. It looks like such a great time for everybody, and they have a really big turnout for it. Lily looks FABULOUS, as always, Trixie too. The dogs all look like they were having fun.

    About breeding Lily… even if there was a slight chance that Lily could have some other breed hidden in there (and she doesn’t look like it) and one of her pups looked a little like a terrier or whatever, so what? It would still be a tiny dog and who doesn’t love tiny dogs?

Comments are closed.

