Skip to content

It’s the little moments that count

April 27, 2008

Joy in my life consists of little moments that I experience and the feeling I get from them. These moments can be fleeting – a look, a glance, a quick exchange – or they can be short visits with loved ones and family, or long spells of time spent living with others. These are the moments that make me smile and feel blessed, even when I’m all alone.

The last few days, I’ve done way too much and my body told me so last night, but I’ve loved every minute of it, because of moments like these:

  • Walking up to my daughter’s family and seeing my grandson, Cayden, recognize me when he isn’t expecting me. He calls out, “Mama, there’s Damma!” and he looks back at me and runs up to me with arms outstretched, unsolicited.
  • How my grandson, Evan, lays his head on my shoulder when I’m holding him.
  • How my granddaughter, Elise, gets excited playing silly games with me.
  • Hearing my cat purr as she lays across my arm and I distractedly pet her instead of my usual pushing her off because her kneading claws are so sharp.
  • The quick look that Cayden gives me when people start singing him Happy Birthday that shows his recognition and excitement about what’s going on, as if to say, Damma, these people are singing for me!
  • Spending time with my daughter, Cindy, and helping with the kids while she pursues her new found passion of baking.
  • Hanging with my daughter, Stacy, and enjoying the Chihuahuas. (If it wasn’t for her, I’d not even have Lily.)
  • Watching a little family grow and witnessing a father’s love for his sons and daughter.

092 CaydenBirthday_Cropped 085 040

8 Comments
  1. April 27, 2008 4:48 pm

    awwww….i think sometimes we get so caught in expecting big things to make us happy. we forget to notice the little things that happen every day. a great deal of happiness comes from *choosing* to grateful for the things we have. there is at least one point in every day when i look at my boys and think “wow, they really are terrific guys.” i so enjoy spending time with them.

  2. April 27, 2008 6:53 pm

    What a great list, I love it. I forget to appreciate the little moments, and that’s so silly because life is all about the little moments.
    PS- I have the same headband as Elise.

  3. April 28, 2008 8:10 pm

    I’ve always said it doesn’t take a lot to make me happy. What a good time you’re having with your family! Some people no matter how ‘rich’ they are, certainly are no more fortunate than you!

  4. kaylee2 permalink
    April 28, 2008 8:31 pm

    Great list 🙂

  5. April 29, 2008 10:39 am

    I love your Meez! Lily is an excellent touch. 🙂

  6. April 30, 2008 10:39 pm

    @mermaids…it really is a choice, isn’t it? I spent far too much time as a young adult wondering why I didn’t have this guy or that piece of furniture or whatever. I now choose to focus my attention elsewhere and it makes me so much happier. Funny how that works.

    @Wendy – I forget all the time, really, which is kinda why I wrote this post. To remind myself. That headband on Elise is a cheap $1 item from Target and she absolutely LOVES it. She wears it all the time. And I think your desert and laptop on your blog is perfect too!

    @Laura… Glad to see you stop by again, Laura!

    @Kaylee… Thanks! Glad you liked my list.

  7. May 1, 2008 8:58 pm

    I love your meez. You are so right about the little things in life. They are what makes life so special as a whole. Tonight as I was cooking supper I was watching our resident mallard family eating cracked corn in the front yard. Just at dusk the cardinal family showed up too and then as quickly as they came they flew away. But I know they will be back tomorrow. As I write this at 1:00AM in the morning in my peaceful quiet house I can hear the pinkletinks in the swamp in the back yard and I feel so content with life. Like you said it’s just the little things.

  8. May 2, 2008 6:40 am

    @Joan – and here’s another one… driving with my daughter a couple days ago and she spots an eagle flying up to a nest along side the road. She was soo excited (and she’s 28!) about seeing the eagle. She’d seen the nest but didn’t know what type of bird it was for. She almost ran off the road she was so excited!

    Being “awake” and conscious enough to recognize those moments is so important. Someday, I hope to hear pinkletinks for myself and then I can fully appreciate them as you do.

Comments are closed.

