Skip to content

Grandparents Day

May 1, 2008

Yesterday I attended a Grandparents Day event at my granddaughter’s school. Since Elise is in Kindergarten, this is the first opportunity I’ve had to attend something like this. It was very, very special for me.

My daughter dropped me off at Elise’s school and there were older kids there handing out carnations to the grandparents. We then went into their little cafeteria where there were tables set up with baskets of crayons, sorted by color, and paper and cutouts and glue sticks – everything for a cute art project. Teams of older kids came by with large trays of cookies (I passed, thank you Weight Watchers) and there was also Starbucks coffee or juice. I chose coffee.

Then Elise and her class comes in and Elise comes up to me, hands me a little card she’d made, and gives me a huge hug. And she keeps hugging and clings to me as if to never let go. I swear, I almost started crying right there. This is a girl who I thought had no more time or interest in me and here she was tickled and delighted that I was there for her.

We then proceeded to do our little art project and the design was all Elise’s idea. She wanted a field of flowers. I think this is really special too because she and I have had some very sweet times together planting flowers in my yard or my containers. And I learned something new: Elise’s favorite flowers are tulips and roses.

016

After our art project, we got to go to her classroom and she showed me around. Her favorite part was the pretend “store” where there was even a toy cash register with a credit card slot for payment! Oh my, oh my. Then we had fun playing with building blocks while I waited for Cindy to pick me back up and it was time to go.

I had a wonderful time, and the whole event will stay in my memory for ever. And I’m framing that picture to put on my office wall.

(Oh, and when my kids were in school, I was always the very youngest parent and I often felt out of place. Now I am the very youngest grandparent, and the older grandparents were looking at me like, your her mom, right? Uh, nope. <BIG ASS GRIN> I love it.)

3 Comments
  1. May 1, 2008 9:31 am

    I can totally relate to the “being the youngest” thing, but my situation is a bit more confusing for the kids involved…I have a son who is 22, married, and has made me a Granny twice now. I also have a son who is 5 (no, that’s not a typo, there are 17 years between them *grin*)
    Anywho, just wanted to let you know someone is reading, and to rescue you from no comment land 🙂
    BB
    dawtch

  2. May 1, 2008 4:34 pm

    @Jodi – thanks for visiting my blog. I could easily still have a child in elementary school – in fact, many women my age do. But I’m glad I started young. I’m still young enough to enjoy my daughters as adults. Hope to see you around here again soon.

  3. May 8, 2008 4:15 am

    Elise’s picture is fantastic– she’s so talented! I’m glad you got to be there for her.

Comments are closed.

