Skip to content

Hairdressers are a girl’s best friend.

May 3, 2008

As are makeup artists.

Say what? You thought it was diamonds? Oh nooooo. Diamonds have absolutely no resale value. Trust me. I’ve been trying to hock my diamond wedding ring for nine years now and can’t even get a bite on 50% of the appraised value. Whatever. Future boyfriends pay attention: You can woo me better with a great visit to a salon or money for clothes and shoes. Not purses though.

Anyway…

Yesterday, my oldest daughter, Cindy and I had a girl’s afternoon out. Sort of a pre-Mother’s day, pre-My Birthday afternoon. Her husband babysat the boys, and she and I headed for Gene Juarez. I recently lamented about having a bad haircut from a local stylist on this blog post here. Since my roots were becoming borderline trashy and I was looking and feeling decidedly frumpy, and my daughter also felt the same, we decided it was time to take that upcoming income tax stimulus payment and treat ourselves.

And I’m so glad we did. We had a delightful afternoon. Although the entire time at the salon we couldn’t see each other because we were with different stylists, it sure was fun when we were done to see how our “makeover” turned out.

Here’s Cindy and me before taken in the car before we got out:

004009 

But wait…

Before you see our “after” pictures I have to tell you about Awkward Moment Number One. After we got done at the hair salon, we decided we would go to the Mac counter at Nordstroms and Cindy could get her makeup done. There’s nothing that can make a young woman who just had a baby feel better than pretty hair and all new makeup. So we wandered over there and as we turned the corner, guess who was standing at the makeup counter and looked right at me? Yup. Bad Local Salon Hairstylist. Uh, HI! I waved, and clearly she knew I’d had my hair done. Can we say awkward? The color is exquisite, the style fresh and young, and I was walking about three inches off the ground. Who wouldn’t figure it out? Apparently she was there with her friend, who was getting her makeup done. We overheard them mumbling at the cash register that “she was the Hair Master.” Uh, ya, I think not.

So, without further ado, here are the after pictures. Is my daughter not absolutely beautiful? Well, her husband certainly thinks so.

015021

 Cindy_Makeover2

13 Comments
  1. May 3, 2008 10:41 am

    Love the bangs!

  2. May 3, 2008 1:48 pm

    You two looks mahvalous dahrling! Hope you are doing well – g

  3. May 3, 2008 2:55 pm

    OMG, You both look totally awesome like on extreme makeover. Your daughter is gorgeous and your hair has so much more style but it also looks like it will be easy to keep up yourself. I love doing Mom and daughter stuff with my girl. When I lose more weight I want to have a makeover. I think it might have to include plastic surgery.

  4. May 3, 2008 3:09 pm

    @EL – Thanks!

    @Gaylen – Thank you too. I’m doing really well.

    @Joan – You crack me up. Plastic surgery, indeed. What’s cool about this cut – as with any good cut – is that when left to dry on its own with my natural curls/wave, it still looks fab.

  5. blogfree Jessica permalink
    May 3, 2008 4:35 pm

    Love it…both of you look gorgeous!!

  6. Bev permalink
    May 3, 2008 8:27 pm

    Yowza! You both look wonderful!

  7. May 4, 2008 8:19 am

    @BlogfreeJessica – Thank you!

    @Bev – You are so sweet, thank you.

  8. Cherie permalink
    May 4, 2008 1:12 pm

    Oh, my, you both look beautiful! And, happy! I’d call that day a huge success.

  9. May 4, 2008 8:55 pm

    Well Miss Claire of course your daughter is beautiful! But I have to tell you sister you look mav-a-lous!! I have debated about adding bangs myself (after just two years of growing them out) and I think you may have given the kick to jump into those waters. Thanks! I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  10. May 6, 2008 2:31 am

    Wow! Super fabulous! You both look so pretty!

  11. May 6, 2008 4:15 pm

    Fabulous! You have to love it! There are times when I can’t tell you and your daughter apart! I mean it.

  12. May 7, 2008 7:30 am

    @Cherie – It was a very fun day. I know I feel better, and my daughter is amazed how much it’s changed how she feels too.

    @Wendy – Thanks! Let me know if you decide to give the bangs a try.

    @Robin – Thanks. Blushing again. I wasn’t expecting so much praise here…

    @Laura – People say my daughter look alike and we always look at each other quizzically when they say that. LOL. Funny how we don’t see it so much. It must be true though because we do hear it a lot.

  13. shornsheep permalink
    May 15, 2008 2:59 pm

    Aww, gorgeous! 🙂

Comments are closed.

