Skip to content

The Home Stretch

May 5, 2008

I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. The downstairs is almost completely painted now and ready for the baseboard installs and touch up of the trim. You don’t realize how dirty the front door gets until you put a fresh coat of paint next to it.

Yesterday I decided I felt good enough to finally tackle the front room. Two walls were this dark Bungalow Gold. It looked fine with cream colored carpet, but when you put the dark hardwoods in there, it just felt like walking into a cave. Those ceilings have to be 15 feet high. Or at least 11. Anyway, it was depressing and felt like I was always walking into a cave. I still have my goal of turning this into a lovely sitting and reading area. It’s ready now and all it needs is furniture.

We went from this:

019

To this:

012

A better shot of the color.

020

And now, the light fixture that I absolutely hated doesn’t look so bad after all. (It does need a wash though.)

013

Doing this room was a lot of work and I don’t plan on ever painting it myself again. I had to prime over the dark color before putting up the pretty blue. This meant cutting in the ceiling twice, and up and down the ladder nine million times. (That better count for some Weight Watchers Activity Points!) I am stiff as a board today, but that’s okay. It’s all worth it because I’ll be able to sit in that room and relax, enjoying my labors. Once I get a sofa in there, that is.

That color, by the way, is Summer Sorbet (SR1011). One of the Seaside Retreat colors from Lowes. In some light it has a slight green tint to it, in other lights it’s very Tiffany blue-ish, and in the sunlight, it’s almost white. When it’s wet, it looked like mint green, but look how it turned out blue. Just what I was hoping for. It is really a few shades lighter than the color I put in my kitchen, so everything flows in this house. Finally.

009 The stairwell is primed and ready to be painted too. I will probably carry the same blue up the stairwell since it is bright and light. The finish is also semi-gloss so that lets the light bounce and reflect off of it, making the area appear even larger. In the stairway, I already tried the beige (Pony Tail – used in the family room) and a pumpkin color that we used in the bathroom, and those are just too dark. I’m afraid of too much blue, but I plan on breaking it up with picture frames or artwork up the stairwell wall and sheers over the huge picture window. I think since the color turns almost white in the sunlight, it will be fine in the stairwell. I don’t want to have to do this again!

My daughter has a dark purple couch I’m going to put in the front room, and then I’m scouring flea markets, Craigslist, and garage sales for end tables, a coffee table, and an old dresser – oh and a small writing desk. I literally have NO furniture for this room. I plan to paint the furniture either white or black, and the dresser – when I find the right one – will be an entry buffet. I would like to find one where I can take out a couple of the drawers and use wicker baskets instead. I think it will look fabulous.

After the stairwell is done, all that will be left is one wall in my sewing room and the upstairs hallway. (I’m ignoring the bathrooms and laundry room for now.) Then all the baseboards will be installed, the furniture moved back in (sparingly), and life will be semi-normal again. Then I can focus on fun stuff, like sewing window treatments. Woohooo!

Later this spring and early summer, my next big home improvement project is the backyard. Let’s just say it involves a LOT of concrete and outdoor porcelain tile.

15 Comments
  1. May 6, 2008 2:29 am

    This looks wonderful! I just love the blue!

  2. Bev permalink
    May 6, 2008 9:04 am

    Oh, it is lovely and quite the improvement! And, yes, that light fixture looks fine!

  3. May 7, 2008 7:24 am

    that blue looks so awesome with the color of the floors! Great job

  4. May 7, 2008 7:24 am

    and I love the light too…I used one almost just like that in a job recently.

  5. May 7, 2008 7:34 am

    @Robin – The blue is so soothing.
    @Bev – I’m so happy to be almost done. Next up, baseboards.
    @VV – I was lucky with this color. I agonize over it so much. You used a similar lite in a job? Are you a contractor? 😉

  6. May 7, 2008 1:05 pm

    No, Im a designer. Contractors hate me. LOL

  7. May 7, 2008 1:25 pm

    @VV – Then I’m so happy I have the approval of a designer. I’m not a designer but I play one on the internet. LOL.

  8. May 7, 2008 5:09 pm

    These “Seaside” colors are awesome. They really do remind me of sea glass, or a wonderful beach house. I’m still dazzled by your floors, and I even love your light fixture. 🙂

  9. May 7, 2008 7:43 pm

    @Wendy – Thanks. I guess I figure if I can’t live by the ocean, I can fake it, right? I love my floors. I waited until I could get exactly what I wanted, and it was totally worth it. They are solid hardwood (three-quarter inch), not hardwood veneer. So they will last forever. You know, I almost got rid of that light fixture. I’m glad now that I didn’t.

  10. May 7, 2008 7:59 pm

    I love hardwood floors rather than wall to wall carpeting. Yours look beautiful. The blue is perfect. You are such a hard worker. I bet you get lots of WW activity points.

  11. May 7, 2008 8:11 pm

    @Joan – Ha! I lost two pounds this week, so it must have counted for something. 🙂

  12. May 8, 2008 9:05 am

    Way to go!!! I can’t wait for Saturday to see how I did. I think I had a good week.

  13. kaylee permalink
    May 8, 2008 8:22 pm

    Wooho thats great.

  14. May 9, 2008 6:35 am

    you not only have my approval, I may very well copy you. Thats the same color I have in mind for my upcoming bedroom redecorate.

  15. May 9, 2008 6:46 am

    @Joan – You will do great, I’m sure. Especially with the WW cheese. LOL

    @Kaylee – thanks!

    @VV – You’ll have to post pictures so I can see (or email if you prefer.) Now all I need is furniture for that room. How does one do that with no budget? 😉

Comments are closed.

