Skip to content

Saturday Sunshine and Photo Overload

May 17, 2008

Today is supposed to be another beautiful day here in the Pacific Northwest. I missed yesterday’s beautiful weather because I had to go into the software giant’s office – yes, I’m whining, but thankful for the paying work. Today I’m going to slowly work on the yard area that we started on my birthday, and if I have energy (doubtful, but you never know) I may finish my sewing room. My son-in-law and daughter carried up my bookshelves and now all I have to do is anchor them to the wall and then load the books and fabric stash into them. Then I’ll be set! Yay! It only took nearly a year, but that’s okay.

As promised, here are some pictures of my birthday.

This is the sweet boy with his head on Feef (Felix) the cat watching TV while we waited in the morning for his mommy to get home from helping out at his sister’s kindergarden class. The cat was lying under Evan’s jumperoo and Cayden crawled up under there and snuggled on him. That’s the best cat in the world for kids. He’s old – about 11 – but the most tolerant cat I’ve ever seen.

003

While I was sitting on the couch, I noticed these birds up on the gutter and they were so pretty. I didn’t recognize them so I shot a couple pictures. I was hoping Joan’s wasband could tell me what they were. How I managed to get the one looking straight at me, I’ll never know.

005 006

My daughter, the chauffeur. She’s so cute. She really worked hard to make my birthday the very best, and it was. I think it was one of the best – if not THE best – birthday I’ve ever had. What better thing is there than to be surrounded by your family and enjoying life with them?

011

The boy eating his Subway sandwich and making silly faces at grandma. I adore him.

007 018

The other handsome boy. I missed getting the smiley faces – I was too close and they came out blurry.

021 023

Daisy eyeing Cayden’s dinner.

029

Lily checking things out.

031

There’s nothing sweeter than a boy and a puppy, especially this little boy.

041

Helping mama in grandma’s kitchen.

048

You get too close you get a tongue up the nose from Daisy. Ewww.

052

The yard before…well, sort of. I forgot to take a before picture so here it is with the tree planted, but you can see all those pavers I still have to move out of the way. My neighbor and I share this little area – half is hers and half is mine – and we’re going to put a semicircle of a planting bed across the back fence there, with the tree in the middle, and the planting bed full of no-maintenance ground cover and bulbs. Then the rest of the area is going to be paved so that we can sit there with our chairs and watch the kids play in the driveway/street area. We have a little section of the street off the main street where no cars drive and it’s a perfect place for bikes and trikes and water fountain playing.

054

Overgrown weeds that I have to get rid of because the nasty bitch property manager will send me a nastygram warning letter if I don’t.

056

The entire area and all the plants we got on my birthday – I need to plant them today!

057

And since no one guessed, but Joan knew, that’s a Profusion Crabapple tree that smells beautiful. Believe it or not, we got all these plants from WalMart. The dogwood was only $39 and the cherry was $20. How fabulous is that? The cherry tree is not going in this area, however. That would be silly. 🙂

Happy Saturday everyone!

5 Comments
  1. May 17, 2008 5:21 pm

    It sounds like you have a daughter just like mine. I will show the wasband the bird pictures when he gets home tomorrow night. He’s at a huge fleamarket for a week selling his sports memorabilia. I think it’s some kind of swallow but I could be wrong and probably am. I am happy you had such a wonderful birthday.

    I know my daughter is already planning my birthday for June 9th because I have heard her on the phone. It involves a cookout and who knows what else.

    Aren’t daughters wonderful.

  2. May 17, 2008 5:23 pm

    I think it’s a tree swallow but I will check with the wasband.

  3. May 18, 2008 4:17 pm

    GREAT photos. The first one is just beautiful, the lighting is so interesting. Cayden with Daisy (her back to the camera) is adorable. Happy Birthday! Your plants looks awesome, it’s going to be beautiful over there.

  4. May 18, 2008 4:21 pm

    I meant to add that it’s so funny you referred to Cayden as “the boy” eating his sandwich. We still refer to our youngest as “the boy” and he’s going to be 22 this summer. And when I start getting everyone’s names all tangled in my mouth and can’t spit out the right one, I point to him and say “that boy” which always cracks him up. As a matter of fact, the boy is coming tomorrow for a two-week visit. 🙂

  5. May 18, 2008 6:21 pm

    @Joan – I do think our daughters are the same. They are great. Both mine really did touching things for my birthday and it was very, very special. Let me know what the wasband says that bird is.

    @Wendy – We do call Cayden “the boy” all the time. I’ve also been known to call him “the mancub”. I’m already getting Cayden and Evan mixed up. I can be holding Evan and call him Cayden. I guess that’s understandable because I’ve been around Cayden longer. My daughter is quick to correct me when I do it too. The yard is going to be so pretty when it’s all done. I

Comments are closed.

