Skip to content

A Pain in the Neck

May 24, 2008

Literally.

Yesterday, I was getting the bookshelf in my sewing room ready to load fabrics, and moving the shelves within it to the right height. Suddenly, it started to fall on me. These shelves are tall and heavy, and I was alone.

Thankfully, it was empty, and having the door open stopped it from fully crashing on top of me, but in the process, I twisted my back and neck, while the middle toes on my left foot started cramping severely, just like a charlie horse. (I don’t know why, but my body does that in the weirdest places besides a calf. Like in the middle of my back.)

It was the scariest and oddest feeling. My whole body went into a sort of shock. It wasn’t until the middle of the night when I woke up and tried to look left that I realized how much damage I did to my neck. I can barely turn my head left.

This stuff works wonders. My chiropractor uses it all the time on me, and even though it is pricey, I got some to have at home. I am glad I did. I used some last night and my neck is a wee bit better.

Now, today, I need to re-anchor that shelf. I had it anchored, but not good enough. And I’m not sure if I can do it right – meaning, I don’t know if I have the strength anymore. Obviously not, or it would have been done right in the first place, yes? I’m so sick of doing this crap alone. There used to be a time that I was proud of myself for being able to be so independent. Not so much anymore.

However, once I get that out of the way, fabric is going onto those shelves. I’ve already got the serger thread out of a box, into a nice basket, and loaded on the other shelves. I really, really think I can fire up that sewing machine today!

Woohoo!

9 Comments
  1. May 24, 2008 10:00 am

    I’m going to have to remember this if I ever wrench my neck again – where did you get yours?

  2. May 24, 2008 10:02 am

    Oh no!! I was hoping to see more pics of your beautiful sewing room coming along or cute kiddie pics, not this rotten turn of events. Take it easy Claire, and hope your pains go away very fast. The sewing room can wait a bit longer.

  3. May 24, 2008 10:06 am

    Stacy, I got it from my chiropractor. A small tube was about $14. But a little goes a long way.

    Debbie – I’m not going to let the neck pain get in the way. I’ll just turn in circles to look the other way. LOL. I’m measuring fabric right now to see what I want to sell, then I’m going to go through my patterns for my standby top pattern that I love, and make something up. Or, I might go to Joanns and buy big pillow forms because I owe the tiny tots some cute reading (floor) pillows to sit on.

  4. May 24, 2008 10:40 am

    I don’t want to swear but I do. Holy Crap, that must have been scary. Thank goodness it didn’t land right on you. Sometimes I want to buy one of those things you wear around your neck so you can press it if you fall. “Help, I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.”

    My chiropractor uses that stuff too. He gave me samples. (he’s a friend of my daughter’s). It doesn’t help my knee with the alien in it and I have yet to try it on my back. I think I will.

    Well, be careful. I’m the same way as you. I want to do everything myself and when I do I just get yelled at by my daughter. “But Mom, you shouldn’t be doing that on your own.” Well, who was going to do it for me. I was alone. I suppose I could wait. But I hate to wait. I want to do it now.

    “I’ll just turn in circles to look the other way”. I can just imagine that. By the end of the day you’ll be so dizzy. Don’t fall and break your ass.

  5. May 24, 2008 10:53 am

    @Joan – you crack me up. I almost said something about breaking my ass, but I didn’t. You said it for me instead. LOL. I was on the floor when that montrous thing came flying towards me. Scared the holy bejeebus out of me. I literally screamed out loud – Oh no you don’t! You stop right there! Or words to that effect.

    If I waited for someone to help me, it would likely never get done.

  6. May 25, 2008 3:41 am

    ooooh….i’ll have to look for some of that stuff for dh. he gets a lot of muscular issues. me, i have no muscles to wrench. πŸ™‚

    hope you are feeling better…so you can sew something fabulous….

    teri

  7. May 26, 2008 1:48 pm

    I don’t want to ever be without Biofreeze. My husband the physically reckless man first brought it home after being treated by a chiropractor. That stuff works better than Bengay or anything else.

  8. May 26, 2008 1:49 pm

    P.S. Here is the company’s products page of its web site: http://www.biofreeze.com/products.php

  9. June 21, 2008 9:24 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation πŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Secessional!

Comments are closed.

