Skip to content

Some Pretties for You

May 24, 2008

So, today, Mother Nature decided to fool the weather forecasters. They predicted rain, and it’s absolutely lovely outside. A mild 70-75 degrees, sunny, a nice light breeze blowing.

I did some measuring of fabric that I had on bolts so that I could sell some and decide what I wanted to keep. I have a bunch of purple rose fabric that a few years ago was all I ever wanted. Now I’m done with that and hopefully someone else will want it. I think the pattern is discontinued, but what do I know? I still like purple, and I still like roses, but it’s just not fitting with my pretty new blue walls and hardwood floors.

Next, I went to the bookstore and found a book to read so that I could hang out in the sun, or in the shade, and rest my neck. I ended up on the front porch admiring the azaleas that I thought had died last year. It turns out that they are deciduous and lose their leaves every fall. Aren’t they pretty?

IMG_4861 IMG_4858

While I was sitting on the front porch, we brought the puppies out front and my daughter cleaned out her car, and I sifted through three boxes of books in the garage. I ended up getting rid of two boxes and keeping one. The books I don’t want I’m going to try to sell at Half-Price Books, otherwise to Goodwill they go.

When I sat back down on the porch, I noticed this little Princess in the front grass. I don’t spoil her much, do I?

IMG_4863

IMG_4865

IMG_4866

IMG_4872

2 Comments
  1. May 27, 2008 6:51 am

    wow! yes, gorgeous azaleas! it is fun when you wonder if a plant is going to come back or not… I thought for sure my hyacinth bush was dead but it’s got some life in it all of a sudden! flowers will come mid summer? I get so impatient! I’m not sure about my hydrangeas – I got zero blooms last year.

  2. May 27, 2008 6:54 am

    Hydrangeas are funny. I can never tell what makes them bloom and what doesn’t. I do know I have a hydrangea plant from last year that I never put in the ground – just kept it in its pot – and it’s still growing. I finally planted it yesterday. It has new leaves on it and everything. I thought for sure it would die. I will be surprised though if it blooms this year.

Comments are closed.

