Skip to content

A Basic Math Quiz

June 3, 2008

What’s 4×5, plus 1? Answer: 21.

IMG_4937

Yessiree. That’s my total weight loss so far. Weight Watchers gives you this bookmark and for every five pounds you lose you get a sticker (and so much more, but intangible) to put on your “Star Catcher”. When I’m done, that bookmark will be full and then I’m going to laminate it so that I never forget just how hard I’ve worked for this.

My next goal is a total of 25 pounds by June 23. I’m four pounds away from that and if I can keep up my approximate two pound a week weight loss, I can make it.

My daughter and I have been walking a LOT. Sunday we walked 2.5 miles and yesterday I think we measured 2.6 miles on her pedometer. My body tells me when I hit 2 miles because my hip joints start to ache something fierce, but I push through it. By the time I get back to the car, I’m usually stiffer than a piece of petrified wood, but after a hot bath, a long night sleep (notice I say long, not good because I usually wake up several times), in the morning I’m a bit better. I keep forcing myself through the pain because I have accepted that it’s always going to be there. It can be there when I lift a cup of coffee, or when I walk 2.5 miles. Doesn’t differ. So what’s a girl going to do?

GET Skinny! That’s what I’m going to do.

Oh, and to keep it sewing related… Remember this top that I made last year?

 

After our WW meeting yesterday, one of the ladies came up to me and said, “My friend and I want to know where you got your top. It’s darling.”

“I made it.”

“Well, that’s no help.” She laughed. She really loved my top. I always get the best compliments with this top, and it’s fitting so much better now because I’m tinier around the waist.  I guess that sort of decides for me the first top I’ll be making – as soon as my work slows down a tad.

I realized this morning that I lost more than one of these worth in weight so far. Evan weighed in at 19 pounds at his six-month checkup. To see more absolutely darling pictures, check out Cindy’s blog.

Back to work! Soon to be sewing. The neck strain is almost healed but the bookshelf still isn’t anchored properly. Where’s a handsome handyman when you need one, eh?

11 Comments
  1. June 3, 2008 8:30 am

    HI! I found your blog by browsing tags.. I just wanted to say how wonderful your weight loss is and its a great idea to laminate your star catcher! I’m doing ww now too and got my 5 lb star at the last meeting.. I think i’ll do the same! Congratulations! You’ve earned it!

  2. June 3, 2008 10:05 am

    Good Work. I wish I could average 2 pounds a week but I am averaging 1 1/4 pounds a week but that’s OK, at least I’m losing.

    I’m not as good as you with the stars. I have them stuffed all over the place.I do have my 10% key ring and my 16 week hands and my 25 pound and 50 pound circle things that are all weighing down my keys. I guess my next goal is to reach 100 pounds.They better give me something good for that.

    The top is very pretty. I have a new photo of me in a blue dress on the side of my blog. I actually made that dress myself for a wedding I was matron of honor in. I don’t think I’ve sewed a thing since, maybe a button or two.

    That’s a sweet photo of Evan. I wish I could pull him out of my computer to give him a hug and smell his head.

  3. June 3, 2008 10:59 am

    @Tosha – Hi and welcome to my blog. I’m glad you found me and said hello. WW rocks. I don’t know why I put it off for so long.

    @Joan – 16 week hands? Wow, I’ll get those in two more weeks then. You are too funny. I smell Evan’s head too. It smells like sweetness purified in baby form. So intoxicating!

  4. Bev permalink
    June 3, 2008 12:57 pm

    Congrats on the weight loss, Claire. I’ve recommended WW to my daughter based on your success. Way to go! 🙂

  5. June 3, 2008 4:18 pm

    Wow, you’re doing great! If I were you I’d laminate that star catcher and wear it around my neck. It might clash with that adorable top you made, but so what?
    Thanks for putting lil’ puddin’ face on the blog today. He always makes me smile. 🙂

  6. June 3, 2008 4:23 pm

    @ Bev – Thanks, Bev. You know, a doctor recommended WW to me about 10 years ago. I was insulted then. Of course, I was also about 60 pounds lighter then, so maybe I was justified in being insulted. She thought that was why my ankles were swelling up and down. Not just fat. I had to do this on my own time, on my own terms, and now this is ALL for me. It’s one part of my life and body I have complete control over – well, more control than anything else.

    @ Wendy – I might just do that. I’m still not telling people what my starting weight was (too embarassing) or what my total weight loss goal is. Perhaps it won’t matter so much when I actually hit my final lifetime goal as then everyone will be like with Joan… “Wow, you lost HOW MUCH?” Lil’ Puddin’ face makes me smile too. Isn’t it funny how as babies we look so much like how we will probably look as old farts, sans wrinkles. LOL.

  7. kaylee2 permalink
    June 3, 2008 7:56 pm

    Good fOR YOU 🙂

  8. June 4, 2008 12:10 pm

    excellent job!! that top is wicked cute. just think of all the cute things you can wear with your new skinny bod. 🙂

    teri

  9. dragonfly3085 permalink
    June 4, 2008 9:33 pm

    Oh my I’m so happy for you! I’m insanely jealous but also motivated by your weight loss. I think i need to try this Weight Watchers business everybody is talking about!

    CONGRATULATIONS mostly because thats awesome – it must feel so amazing. I want that feeling!

    You are an inspiration to me!

  10. June 4, 2008 9:38 pm

    @Kaylee – Thank you. How are you doing these days?

    @mermaids – That is exactly what I’m thinking about as I go along this journey. Cute clothes that don’t require a ton of modifications before sewing. I’m lazy and I don’t do that kind of math very well. LOL

    @Dragonfly – Aimee, that is so sweet of you to say. I think I’m probably just stubborn and sick and tired of feeling how I was feeling. WW has been around longer than I have (I think) and I finally realized how arrogant I was thinking I could do it better. So many have been successful before me, I figured I might as well do what works. My way wasn’t, that’s for sure.

  11. June 5, 2008 5:13 am

    congratulations!! I dropped about 20 lbs last year…and its hard to say whats better—the improvement in how I looked, or in how I felt.

Comments are closed.

