Skip to content

The $100 Absent-minded Mistake

June 11, 2008

I’m just kicking myself. Today I went to meet a client and was in a conference room, laptop plugged into the outlet, working away, and conscientiously watching the clock so the next people who had the room reserved wouldn’t have to wait while we wrapped up.

So, in my hurry to pack up everything, I forgot this:

I didn’t realize until I got home and went to plug my computer back in that I’d left it there. Keep in mind, the client is a good 45 minute drive from my house in no traffic. I called my client and she went to the conference room, trustingly thinking it would still be there. Nope. I am going to see if that company has a lost and found or anything – maybe they do. In the meantime, I had to buy a new power cord. To the tune of $96. Add in the cost of gas to get to Best Buy and back, you have a sweet $100 mistake. DANG. I want to throw up. That is $100 I just didn’t have to spare. Besides, if I did, I certainly wouldn’t be spending it on computer crap. I’d be buying fabric or shoes for my outfit I need for my mom’s big shindig in July. (More on that later.)

4 Comments
  1. June 12, 2008 2:58 am

    oh, i hate it when that happens. don’t be too hard on yourself. we all have our moments.

    teri

  2. June 12, 2008 8:09 am

    I lost mine once and got one on E-Bay for $15.00. It worked fine. But you have to wait to get it. As soon as it came I found the other one. I hate when I have to throw money away like that.

  3. June 13, 2008 1:41 am

    oh I feel your pain! My 15 yo daughter left her cord at school THREE TIMES this year…yep, that’s $300. Enough said.

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  4. June 13, 2008 7:12 am

    @Teri – My “moments” somehow seem to be a bit more frequent these days. LOL

    @Joan – I never thought of ebay. If I lose it again, that’s what I’ll do. But I intend to glue my name to this one.

    @Lisa – So, that’s *really* painful. Ugh. How is your daughter doing? How are *you* doing?

Comments are closed.

