Skip to content

Party Dress Planning

June 12, 2008

We’re having a party for my mom in July, plus July is my granddaughter’s birthday party. I have to get started sewing, and I hope to get Elise’s dress cut out this weekend. I can disappoint myself, but I can’t disappoint her.

For Elise’s dress, we are using this fabric:

For the pattern, we have chosen Butterick 4718:

image of B4718

It should be a fairly simple dress to make. We’ll be making the view that is purple in the drawing (view B). She will look darling. I’m tempted to use some contrast pink or purple somewhere, but we’ll see.

After that, I want a new dress for my mom’s party. There will be up to 240 people there and she’ll look snazzy, as always. I will have lost nearly 30 pounds by then (since March) and I really don’t have anything nice to wear. I have tons of fabric, of course, but haven’t decided on the pattern.

I was thinking a nice drapey knit dress would look nice, skimming the hips and flowing nicely. Here are some knit choices I have in my stash to choose from.

This is my first choice, but I don’t know how it would look in a dress.

Or this:

I bought this fabric when it was popular, but I’m afraid it might be past its time. I also think it’s too much pattern for a dress on me. Probably better for a top, or I’ll sell it. It was an impulse buy, and I regret it.

I also have this combo, which instead of a dress could be a skirt and top combo. There’s a really pretty black woven jacquard-type fabric under there that would make an awesome jacket, but I won’t have time for that.

Finally, I have all these luscious fabrics that I bought in April 2007. I could make something out of that. Let me know if there’s anything there you think looks better.

See the problem with having too much fabric? It’s too hard to make up my mind what to make? I’m seriously going to dwindle this stash before buying anything new.

Here are the patterns I was looking at using for a dress. What do you think?

Simplicity 3867 – but I don’t like the pleats around the waist. I think this would  make me look pregnant, unless I used a very soft knit. The reviews I’ve seen done in this using a woven do make it look maternity.

Butterick 5029 – I read the reviews on this, and even though I love the green version shown, reviews say that there is just too much fabric around the waist. I need my curves (as in my defined waist) accentuated, not hidden!

image of B5029

Butterick 5206 – this may be the ticket, depending on the reviews. I haven’t checked them yet. I like the short sleeve version.

image of B5206

Okay, so, what do you think?

10 Comments
  1. June 12, 2008 8:36 pm

    I’m glad I re-read the first paragraph because for a minute I was thinking you were going to be wearing pink unicorns/ponies. LOL!

    My votes … #1, the Butterick wrap dress using the black/pink floral print for the body and the stripe cut on the crossgrain for the binding/trim.

    #2, The coral linen and crinkly print from the April post for a skirt (coral) and top (crinkle). I have no idea what patterns. LOL!

  2. June 12, 2008 8:41 pm

    I vote for the Butterick Wrap dress in the floral print. I also think the links\chains would look wonderful too (I still LOVE that fabric) and even thoughit’s a large print, Ive seen it made into a wrap and it looks wonderful.

  3. Judi S. permalink
    June 13, 2008 6:14 am

    I love the wrap dress! I love the fabric Debbie Cook suggested for the dress – you can’t go wrong with a wrap dress – and it will continue to fit (for a while) as you lose more weight!

    For the Butterick dress – could you make the waist a solid piece instead of a gathered piece? I think that would look fantastic.

    The chain link print is so *not* past it’s time! 🙂 Put some black trim with it to tone it down a bit and you’ll look gorgeous!

  4. June 13, 2008 7:09 am

    a wrap dress is so slimming. i would definitely do some contrast in there to accentuate the design lines.

    teri

  5. June 13, 2008 7:10 am

    @Debbie – that’s funny. Could you see me in a pony print? LOL. I thought of the black and pink like you said – I think Gigi (Behind the Seams) did a similar treatment on a Hot Patterns dress, but with blue/black fabric. I think the two combined would also look great.

    @Stacy – your top you made out of the chain link fabric is what inspired me to purchase it as well. I need some solid black jersey to go with it. I think a top out of it would look cute. Maybe if I love the wrap dress, I’ll try it in a dress. I have enough of the fabric, that’s for sure.

    @JudiS – You’re right about the wrap dress still fitting for a while. I saw the Butteric dress with a solid piece instead of a gathered piece, and perhaps it was just that item, but it sort of looked funny. Maybe the knit was cut wrong, or something, because it looked lumpy at the seams, to me. Maybe my perfectionist eye that doesn’t know better.

    Okay, girls, I’m out today to go get the Butterick patterns on sale at $1.99!

  6. June 13, 2008 7:11 am

    @Teri – you posted just as I did… I am sold on the Butterick wrap dress for sure!

  7. June 13, 2008 7:15 am

    That wrap dress is wonderful and would be great as Debbie suggested. I had to go read again because I couldn’t tell if you were thinking the chains were past their prime or the print above it, which I love and was going to offer to purchase and come pick up 🙂

    I’m off today and going to get some patterns, my nails done and then home to hibernate! Hope you are well – g

  8. June 13, 2008 7:31 am

    I am so out of my league here. I haven’t worn anything but jeans and plain T-shirts in 30 years. I didn’t even wear a dress to my daughter’s wedding. I wore black pants and some sort of blouse she picked out and never wore it again. But good luck with it all. We couldn’t come up with 240 people to invite to anything unless I put an add in the paper for free food.

    Aren’t you happy now that you’ve lost the weight? You must take pictures. I love Elise’s fabric. That I would consider for myself. I love unicorns. Of course, it would have to be made into a T-shirt for me. 🙂

    I don’t think I had a good week in the weight loss area. My party sort of killed it. I didn’t count points for days. But I am back on track now.

  9. June 13, 2008 7:36 am

    @Joan – my mom knows everyone in the world. The hall we’re renting holds 240, but we’ll see how many show up. It’s a grand celebration for her honoring her 50 years in AA, so it should be fun. Everyone else will be dressed casually, but that doesn’t mean *I* have to. I know my mom certainly won’t! However, now I only really have jeans and tops to wear so I have to figure something out.

    I feel pretty good about my weight loss. I’m trying to step up my exercise and activity without flaring my fibro too much. I have some friends who will bicycle with me as soon as I get a bike. I need a helmet, too. Pink, of course.

    I will definitely take pictures and post them. My chiropractor is extremely proud of me. He said he was cynical at first because he sees so many women over 40 start to lose weight and they do 10 pounds then gain it all back. But he’s very impressed with me. I am working hard to catch up to YOU. LOL.

  10. Cherie permalink
    June 13, 2008 11:26 am

    I also like the butterick wrap dress with the first print you showed! Quite stylish, and should be an easy wear. Wow, I’d love to see pics also of the party! Good for you getting back to sewing!

Comments are closed.

