Skip to content

Silly Lily and Family or Is it Summer Now?

June 16, 2008

I love this work at home stuff. I really do. Today, I took a bit of time before going to my Weight Watchers meeting to take the dogs to the dog park. Okay, actually, my daughter Stacy and I did. It was beautiful out, probably about 70 in the sun, and just all around pleasant. I actually think I got a bit of sunburn on my forearms.

Anyway, I digress. The girls all needed a trip to the dog park. With all the rain we’ve been getting it’s been hard for them to get out and really let loose and run around. We were lucky today too because the park wasn’t overrun with big dogs. The county has done a lovely job with the park (Willis Tucker Park in Snohomish County, for you locals) but what would be even greater would be to have one off leash area for big dogs and one for small dogs. I had an epiphany today and realized I’m as scared of the big dogs – those that slobber and spit and jump all over you with their hard claws and muddy paws – as my Lily is.

So, without further ado, here are some pictures of the event. As usual, click for a larger view.

Lily heading for the fields (tall grass taller than she is)

008

Where’s Waldo Daisy?

010

Uh, let’s go this way… (Daisy is such the adventurer.)

016

Follow me..

017

Fresh water on a hot day, in a pink bowl, no less.

042

That’s better. Can you dry your nose off with your tongue?

043

I can’t see you so you can’t see me.

046

Wait, where’d everyone go?

051

The view from the dog park is outstanding.

033

Need to explore just a little bit more.

035

What? Time to go home?

Yes, Mommy, I’m coming…

037

5 Comments
  1. June 18, 2008 6:09 am

    Love the photos. Is Lily afraid of the big dogs or does she want to eat them? Stella has a Napoleon complex and wants to take on every large dog that crosses her path or is in the car next to ours at a stop light.

    I love big dogs and I miss having one. Buck says I can get a new hihuahua puppy — if I can find an all-white one. I was like, “NO! I will not show racial prejudice among my dogs!” but he’s insistent that if I get a Chihuahua it has to be white like Stella. He’s probably doing that only because he knows how difficult this will be to accomplish.

    Chihuahua puppies are inexpensive here, like $75-$100, and they’re EVERYWHERE in the paper. But an all-white one? C’mon.

    I want a male and I want to call him Geoffrey, spelled pretentiously just like that. 🙂

  2. June 18, 2008 6:11 am

    You know I did not mean hihuahua, though I do rather like the sound of that.

  3. June 18, 2008 7:40 am

    Well, first I was laughing at hihuahua, but that’s sounds awesome. Let’s stick with that, shall we?

    Second, I am still on the fence about breeding Lily. I’d have to do it soon but she won’t be in heat for another six months, and by then, my vet assistant daughter will have moved to Florida and I’ll have no one to help me in the process. Plus, I’m afraid that if anything went wrong, I couldn’t afford the vet bill to help her through the birth and I wouldn’t want to risk losing her.

    Puppies here go for far more than that. I paid $500 for Lily and she’s not purebred – she looks like it, but didn’t come with any papers. I saw a male that looked like her who was purebred, but the owner was not interested in mixing his elite spawn with my Lily. Stuck up, much?

    I love the name Geoffrey. Perfect! Oh, and Trixie – Stacy’s hihuahua – is the one with the Napoleon complex. Same as Stella. Daisy just rolls over on her back for every dog. Slut. LOL.

  4. June 18, 2008 11:26 am

    What a jerk that stuck up guy is, huh? If he’s charging a stud fee, then what the hell does he care if Lily has papers or not? Ugh.

    We never bred Stella, though Buck wanted to. I just felt she was too small and I didn’t want to put her through that. A lot of the time small dogs have to have their puppies by cesarean, and having had a cesarean myself, I didn’t want her to go through that. Plus, hihuahuas often have only 2 or 3 puppies, and in that case I’d want to keep them all because I couldn’t mentally deal with wondering whatever became of them, so we didn’t do it. We didn’t get her spayed, either, because I was scared of the anthesthesia with such a small dog. I’m a weirdo, I know.

    Yes, I love the name Geoffrey for a hihuahua. If I do get a girl, I’m going to name her Barbara (after Joan’s sister).

  5. June 18, 2008 1:17 pm

    Yup, those are precisely the reasons I haven’t bred Lily. I figured initially that I would to recoup the costs, but now that I have her and am in love with her, the costs are inconsequential. I don’t want to put her through all that, and I couldn’t afford the vet bill for a cesarean.

    You should get two hihuahuas… then Geoffrey and Barbara can chill together under the watchful eye of Stella. LOL.

Comments are closed.

