Skip to content

I feel like I’ve lost a limb

June 17, 2008

My daughter and her family have been on vacation for a few days now and I haven’t had a dose of grandbaby since last Friday. They’re down in Central California where it is roasting hot (I’m jealous, I think) and their other grandma – Cody’s mom, Laura – is enjoying the heck out of her grandbabies too. She went out and bought them a pool and a bunch of blow up toys to use in it, and I think even a couple supersoaker toys. I’m happy Laura is getting to enjoy them the way I do, even though I miss them horribly.

Picture 158

Picture 176

I guess I’ll just sit and stare at these pictures all day and wish I could squeeze those chubby baby legs and cheeks and splash water with the older kids. 🙂

Back to work and our overcast, cool weather.

5 Comments
  1. June 18, 2008 6:01 am

    OMG, I bet you really do feel like you’ve lost a limb. This sharing of the grandchildren is something I’m worried about, even though I have none as yet. Do fights break out between grandmothers? Or once you both become grandmothers do you feel a sisterhood, a bond? What if my future co-grandmother doesn’t approve of me? I have no role models in this because I was born so very late in the family not only were my parents done parenting, my grandparents had also lost interest in kids and I spent very little time with any of them. Does it just work itself out naturally?

  2. June 18, 2008 7:34 am

    Wendy – those are good questions. I don’t know. I’m mostly the primary grandma, if there is such a thing, by default because I live close by them and I’m around more. Cody’s mom lives a far away, and I’m sure she adores the kids just as much as I do. In many ways, she and I are alike, and in many more ways, we are different. I am sure she would be far more involved with them if she lived closer.

    I think there’s a bond of sorts, in that she is my son-in-law’s mom, and I adore my son-in-law, so by virtue of that, I have respect for her. I suspect – knowing me – there would be a defensiveness on my part if she felt that my daughter was doing something wrong with how she’s raising the kids. I’d have to learn how to handle that.

    I’ll have to ponder it more. Perhaps I’ll write a post on grandmothers. When is grandparents day? LOL.

  3. June 18, 2008 10:31 am

    According to Wikipedia, National Grandparents Day is the first Sunday after Labor Day every year. 🙂

  4. June 19, 2008 10:10 am

    You must miss the babies so much. When do they come home?

  5. June 19, 2008 10:28 am

    @Wendy – I’ll have to put that on my calendar. LOL

    @Joan – They don’t come home till next Tuesday. Sigh. That seems like an eternity. I know I’m whining because I know so many grandparents live across the continent – or even in a different state, like their grandma Laura – so I’m fortuate, really.

Comments are closed.

