Skip to content

Blogging Tips

June 19, 2008

Nate, over on Confessions of a CF Husband, posted a good list of blogging tips. I have some of my own to share.

Don’t assume everyone has a Blogger account. This is my biggest pet peeve. I wanted to comment on his blog and I couldn’t. It was restricted to those with Google accounts only, and I don’t have a Google account. I won’t get one either. I have too many other accounts to remember. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wanted to comment on someone’s thoughtful blog post but couldn’t because of the Google account setting.

Don’t moderate your comments. Use Akismet to monitor the spam and read your comments frequently so that you can just delete the rude, spiteful, mean, or hurtful ones. Moderating comments tells me that you really don’t want to hear what the other person is saying, even if they disagree with you.

Remember that blogging is a conversation. Use the same common courtesies in blogging that you would if you were having coffee with a friend. Remember to listen to and acknowledge each commenter. Ask questions of your readers. Give something back, if you can, even if it’s just linking to them on your blog roll. Remember to be grateful that they have taken time from their day to come visit you.

Stay away from blatant self-promotion or self-berating. The most tiresome blogs I’ve come across are those that are too heavy on the self-promotion (either how wonderful they are or their business is) to the exclusivity of everything else. Also, people who constantly whine, berate themselves (and others), go fishing for compliments, or have a continual pity party. This isn’t to say that your personal blog shouldn’t be an outlet for you when you have a bad day or week, or when tragedy hits, it should. I’ve been known to whine from time to time on my own blogs. But if ALL your days are so horrible, then professional help may be called for. Basically, don’t take yourself so seriously.

Shower us with pretty – or funny – pictures. If you’re handy with a camera, supplement your post with lovely pictures. Everyone loves picture books and the sensory delight of relative, thoughtful illustrations is always entertaining.

Make sure your blog supports RSS feeds, using whatever subscription service you prefer. I love to get instant updates to all my favorite blogs and then I go read them online.

Don’t put background music on your blog. Save the music for the MP3 player. Some of your readers may be reading your site while at work and your music blaring on your blog is like an annoying tattletale when they’re trying to be discreet. Plus, not everyone appreciates your same taste in music. Do share you favorite music with us via a video, though, that we can click when we can

Have fun. Enjoy the conversation. Laugh. Live. Love. Make new friends, learn new things. Blogging is the best thing I’ve ever come across. I’ve made the neatest friends that I’ve never met online.

8 Comments
  1. June 19, 2008 11:39 am

    ooooh…i totally agree about the music on blogs & websites. annoys me to no end. there are also a couple of blogs i am reluctant to read simply because they take so bloody long to load…..too many graphics.

    i’m working on being better about responding to comments. love to get ’em. i get busy and don’t respond promptly, then feel weird about responding two weeks later.

    photos…still working on that one too. i am a terrible photographer and very slow with photoshop….but i am getting better.

    thanks for giving me something to think about. always looking to improve.

    teri

  2. June 19, 2008 11:42 am

    @Teri – I am in no way criticizing my blogging buddies – hopefully it didn’t come across that way. Your first point, though, makes me click way from some blogs and websites. I’m impatient. And…. I’ve been known to let some comments get away from me and I’ve been bad about not responding. Sometimes we all get tired. No one is perfect, not moi, for sure. Just aiming for the goal works, right? 🙂

  3. June 19, 2008 4:41 pm

    Yes, great tips! Thank you, C

  4. June 20, 2008 12:38 am

    sorry you weren’t able to comment. I receive so many crude and vulgar comments that I was forced to limit to only those with blogger accounts…moderating (deleting the crude comments) was literally becoming a full-time activity…hope you understand.

    Nate (CFHusband)

  5. thegirlfromtheghetto permalink
    June 20, 2008 4:56 pm

    I used to have tunes on my blog until I had about 300 complaints. I guess not everyone loves Beatles tunes!

  6. June 20, 2008 5:45 pm

    Nate – totally understand. I em’d you privately. 🙂

    GG – I love Beatles music, I just don’t care for music blaring at me when I land on a web page. Just startles my fine sensibilities. LOL. (I really don’t have any fine sensibilities, I just thought that sounded uppity. LOL)

  7. June 20, 2008 5:47 pm

    Curious – didn’t mean to leave you out… Thanks for reading. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Got No Time To Blog ? Here’s A Few Easy Tips For You | Niche Marketing and Social Media

Comments are closed.

