Skip to content

Another Meme with a Boring Headline.

June 20, 2008

And I’m too tired to think of anything more clever. So, I’ve been tagged by Mermaids to do this meme.

 

What was I doing 10 years ago? 

Let’s see, that would be June, 1998. I had just gotten married and was probably heading home with my soon-to-be (but not known to me) ex-husband from our honeymoon at Pismo Beach, California.

Six months after we were married he “changed his mind”. Whatever. I say that now, but then I was devastated, embarrassed, humiliated, and depressed. It took me two years to wake up and really get him out of my life.  

 

What are 5 things on my to-do list for today (not in any particular order):

Laundry Delivery Lady* track my Weight Watchers points

* finish copyediting some frequently asked questions for a client

* do some laundry

* take a walk, with or without Lily

* get some groceries and fresh veggies

And adding one more: trying out a new recipe for coleslaw (only 2 WW points per serving!)

Snacks I enjoy:

Popcorn, Weight Watchers Chocolate Fudge Ice Cream, Brownies (but I don’t eat them any more), cottage cheese with peaches, WW caramel bars

Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

620 south ocean

Geez, I could almost put Mermaid’s post right here. She wants a house on the ocean, so do I. It has to fit family, and have a great sewing room. So would mine. (You know… I think it has something to do with being a Taurus, perhaps?) I would buy both my kids and my brothers a house so that we always had a roof over our heads. I’d invest something so that I had a consistently decent income for the rest of my life, so if I didn’t want to work – which I don’t – I wouldn’t have to. I’d choose a charity and support it, of course, although I also believe charity begins at home. I’d make sure my grandkids had a trust fund for college or whatever they wanted to do as adults for their careers. And, like Mermaids, I’d buy shoes. Beautiful, comfortable, sexy shoes that fit my ridiculously wide feet.

Places I have lived:

England Portland, Oregon; Southern California (on the peninsula and near the amusement parks); England (Surrey County and Devon County); Missouri, and Washington State.

(This pic is the house we lived in in England. I love the Internet and Google Maps.)

 

 

Jobs I have had:

Cleaned the neighbor’s house as a kid to earn swimming lessons from her son who was an Olympic athlete. Babysat to buy my first Schwinn derailleur – bright lemon yellow – in 1971. Yellow. Mens style. It rocked. Insurance broker file clerk in England; Secretary for my dad in London as a teenager; Admin Assistant; Benefits Administrator; Technical Writer, Technical Editor, and finally, my favorite: Freelance Writer and Editor working at home.

 

6 Peeps I would like to know more about (in no particular order)

Okay, this is the part where I veer from the instructions. Just feel free to jump in. Kind of like a community swimming pool. It’s more fun when there’s more people. I like you all, so I would like to know more about all of you.

 

 

Advertisements
5 Comments
  1. thegirlfromtheghetto permalink
    June 20, 2008 4:57 pm

    Loved it … maybe I will borrow your MeMe since you didn’t tag anyone…

  2. June 20, 2008 5:44 pm

    Hey, GG _ Borrow away. I don’t like to tag people. I like people to join in if they are so inclined. Eager to read what you write.

  3. June 20, 2008 9:54 pm

    I don’t tag either but I do most memes that come my way so I am sure I will be doing this one soon. Plus I learned more about you. Your snacks sound very familiar.

  4. Bev permalink
    June 21, 2008 7:29 am

    I don’t have a blog, so here goes!

    10 Years Ago: In June 1998, we were still celebrating the h.s. graduation of our daughter and getting her ready for college. We were also completely devastated that our son’s college baseball days had just ended with a big thud due to an open dislocation of his finger and therefore was not drafted as everyone thought he would be. Some good times and not so good!

    To Do List Today: laundry, clean house, grocery shop, play the piano and take a pain pill for my back that is giving me fits again. Oy.

    Snacks: Brownies (me, too), fresh peaches, and grapes

    If I were a billionaire: I’d say glory hallelujah to my husband because that would mean he won the dang lottery, finally! Buy houses for both kids, give away mucho to our families and various charities/causes we would love to help, and then move somewhere like North Carolina. And probably live like we normally do.

    Places I’ve lived: Illinois most of my life; Texas, California, Okinawa. I’ll stick with Illinois!

    Jobs I’ve Had: my 1st job right out of h.s. was a baton teacher in the summer for the park district; testing bureau clerk in California; payroll clerk, data processing mgr, comptroller at the same place in Illinois. Then a home day care provider while I was taking a break from the corporate world. For the last 20 years an adm ass’t at a comm. college here in Illinois, from which I will retire!

    Too much info? ha

    I enjoyed reading about you! 🙂

  5. June 21, 2008 7:45 am

    Wow, Bev. A baton teacher? How fun. I used to be good at that when I was about seven. LOL. I love North Carolina too, although I’ve never been there. The beaches look awesome.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: