Skip to content

Fully Loaded, Ready to Sew!

June 21, 2008

Finally. Today I took the day off from working (I’ve been working two jobs) and decided play in the sewing room.

First a word on tools. New isn’t always better. I dug around in my garage and finally found this old drill that my ex-husband gave me when we divorced. Put a screwdriver bit into it and I have an automatic, powerful screwdriver.

004

I used this to hang the two IKEA LACK shelves – in pink, of course – that I was going to use in my office but that work so much better in the sewing room. It took me two hours to hang the shelves, but at least they’re done.

OH! And the bookshelf is fully anchored into a stud so no more falling down on me and putting me out of commission for two weeks.

I finally cleared off the sewing table, put everything in order, and loaded a ton of my favorite fabrics into the bookshelf on the right. I have a dedicated cutting area now with all my cutting utensils right there and I’m ready to go.

After I take a nap and rest this weary, achy body, I plan to cut out the pattern and fabric for Elise’s birthday dress.

Here are the pics…Click for a larger picture.

The shelves finally hung. Only I can tell that they aren’t quite centered between the bookshelves, but that’s okay. I have room for that lamp there so I guess it was deliberate, right?

006

The sewing table before. Looks more like a carpenter’s table.

008

Everything loaded on the shelves. Hanging that quilt piece at the top was a PITA. But it looks so pretty there. I may still frost those glass doors. I’m still undecided. I like how the wall color shows through. I sorted the fabrics by type, not color. Had I sorted by color, it might be more interesting. Probably all pink. Hahaa.

010

The sewing table, all cleared off, ready to start the humming of the needles through fabric. Sigh. I felt so bad treating my machines so horribly for the last year. Oops. Forgot to hide the boxes of fabrics. Put a pink top on my dress form too, for a splash of color.

011

Another shot for perspective.

013

I took down the curtains because I want to make new ones out of this fabric I have. I bought this fabric back in the 80s and my girls hate it but I love it. I refuse to get rid of it and finally I have the place for it.

021

Now all I need is a bright pink area rug for the center and under the chair (which I plan on spray painting black and recovering) and a new sewing table. That table will have to go back to my daughter eventually. I have my eye on an IKEA white table – not as deep so it won’t take up so much space. But I’m good to go for a while.

One thing I noticed when I was “playing” in my sewing room, even though I was killing my body, I was smiling. I love how the little things look in certain places. The baskets with my rotary cutters above the cutting table. The giant paperclip to hold my patterns, remembering what pretty fabrics I have and seeing new uses for them. I’m jazzed!

Time to sew! Let the creativity begin!

7 Comments
  1. June 21, 2008 3:01 pm

    Sewing isn’t my thing but your sewing room looks great and I’m glad you enjoy doing it so much. I love when other people sew, just not me. I love my room the way you love your sewing room with all the neat things in just the right places. Have fun!!!

    Thanks, Joan. It just feels good in there now. Even though I overdid it today, my body is scolding me, my daughter is scolding me, I’m happy and one less thing on my to-do list.

  2. June 21, 2008 3:07 pm

    Your room looks great! have a good time sewing!!!

    Thanks, Adrienne!

  3. June 21, 2008 6:09 pm

    Beautiful! And, I love those shelves.

    Thanks, Debbie. It took me long enough, didn’t it? The frustrating thing with those shelves is they didn’t come with any hardware to mount them to the wall – just the mounting bracket. So I had to scout around for just the right screws and anchors for the wall. Argh. But I’m washing fabric now and will be using the rotary cutter tomorrow!

  4. Cherie permalink
    June 22, 2008 10:43 am

    Claire, what a nice sewing space! I love the colors also, even the curtin fabric. Looks like a great place to be creative!

    Thanks, Cherie. I love that curtain fabric too. I love my new space.

  5. June 23, 2008 4:05 pm

    Claire – its beautiful and I’m so glad to see it’s finished! Now all you have to do is spend some quality time in there so you will continue to smile!!!!

    Carolyn – took me long enough, eh? But it is so relaxing in there.

  6. June 24, 2008 7:51 am

    I envy you. I once tried to sew a simple table square…I cant even make a straight line.

    Well, VV, truth be told, I always use the guides on the machines to help me along. 🙂 In other words, cheating is perfectly acceptable in sewing. Sometimes.

  7. June 24, 2008 5:30 pm

    Your sewing room looks like an oasis. I love the shelves, and I love the cases you’ve got your fabric in. It looks so creative and cool. You did a great job!

    Thanks, Wendy. I had to have the pink shelves when I saw them! And I can thank my ex-husband for those shelves. Something I wangled away from him, finally.

Comments are closed.

