Skip to content

What’s on the Cutting Table?

June 22, 2008

Really? She’s really sewing?

006

Yes, folks, I’m back in the saddle. If you could only see the bigass grin on my face. First up is a birthday dress for my granddaughter, Elise. She’ll be 7 on the 14th of July and this is a quick and easy project to get my sewing mojo flowing. We – rather she – chose this darling pink, purple, and brown fabric that has bright 70s like flowers and ponies on it. It’s going to be the cutest little dress and my only regret is that I’m not 7 and I can’t have one too!

The pattern we chose is Butterick 4718, view B.

image of B4718

It will be very easy to sew, and I had to run out and get a zipper today because I had forgotten about that part. I also chose a contrasting cotton from my stash to use for the bodice inside lining, and possibly also for the straps. I’m going to also put some lavender piping along the seam between the bodice and the skirt for an added touch. If I can find the right shade of lavender, that is, or I’ll make my own with the same contrasting fabric as the straps. Probably the latter, now that I think about it.

004 Right now, though, I’m stalled cutting out. I’m afraid that the bodice is too large, even cutting out the smallest size 6, for Elise, and I need my daughter to measure her again. Oh, and I had to cut the skirt front twice because I totally forgot about checking which way the horses were standing. They would have all been upside down.

I have enough extra fabric that I’m going to make her a cute top too and a cute pair of brown capris or something – after I make my own party dress, that is. Summer here will go way into September, so I’m not too worried about missing the warm weather with her.

And see what else followed me home from Joanns?

008

These are for “reading” pillows for all the little ones. I first made one of these for my friend April’s little boy, Gibson, when he turned one. She was having a party where everyone brought books to build him a library, so I thought, what better than a pillow to lie or sit on while reading? This has become a popular thing now in my family, and I owe one to Elise, Cayden, and Evan – although Evan’s not yet reading. Give him a couple months though. (Just kidding.) And Gibson’s little brother either just turned one or is turning one any minute, so I think he’ll probably want a reading pillow too. (Hint, hint, April.)

Okay, now my body is telling me to slow down, and call it quits for tonight. I’m also fighting off getting the dumb flu that my youngest daughter is just getting over.

Stay tuned.

8 Comments
  1. June 23, 2008 3:01 am

    the dress will be adorable! elise has very nice taste in fabric. her birthday will be even more special because she will be wearing a dress her grandmother made just for her.

    teri

    Isn’t that just the cutest fabric? I hope she appreciates it – well, I don’t expect her to at 7 years old, but I know it’s creating a memory she’ll appreciate when she is grown.

  2. June 23, 2008 4:17 am

    Sorry about the minor challenges, but I’m sure the dress will turn out fine! I like the fabric a lot! Looking forward to seeing the finished result! 🙂

    Thanks, Astrid. I’ll be sure to post pictures of the finished product, both before and during the birthday celebration.

  3. June 23, 2008 5:11 am

    Your blog was one of the first that I discovered when I googled for sewing help a year or so ago and I’ve been reading it ever since. I can’t believe how much work you’ve done by yourself in working on your house and won’t you have a great time in your sewing room now! I loved sewing for my girls when they were your granddaughter’s age and I (almost) always let them pick out their own fabric. Even though I sometimes cringed at their choices the outfits usually turned out to be cute if not different. Have lots of fun!!!!

    Thank you, Laura. I remember the first time you commented here! I loved sewing for my girls when they were young, and now I get to sew for Elise, and my next challenge for the kids will be shirts for the boys. I have the most awesome Hawaiian fabric to use up. LOL.

  4. cabsplace permalink
    June 23, 2008 8:35 am

    Dang girl! You rock!
    I am sewing impaired. Actually, I like sewing…it’s the prep work I can’t stand. Come to think of it I’m that way with cooking, painting, gardening, hmmmm, just about everything except teaching…I actually love that prep work…it’s the clean up I hate there (i.e., the grading, lol!)
    Your sis,
    Cat

    Hey, everyone, meet my sister, Catherine! I guess I am like our mom, eh? I don’t mind the prep work so much, as long as I know what I’m doing, have all the measurements, and stuff. It kind of makes the finished result that much more special.

  5. June 23, 2008 4:05 pm

    That is going to be an adorable dress! Can’t wait to see it finished and modeled on your granddaughter.

    Thanks, Carolyn. I forgot just how much sewing makes me happy. That’s what illness and home remodeling get you.

  6. VeeDogKnitter permalink
    June 24, 2008 5:32 am

    YIPPEE!! So glad that you are back in the saddle again! That fabric is darling….my neice would love that!
    Yesterday i finally sewed a purse i have been meaning to get to, and like you, i had a big-ass grin on my face the whole time. Isn’t it great? Way to go, girl!

    Thanks, VDK (I’ll abbreviate your alias because I’m tired…) The fabric comes from Joanns, if you have one near you. Just a simple cotton. Washes up so sweet and soft.

  7. June 24, 2008 5:22 pm

    That dress is going to be soooo cute. I love the fabric. And I love the idea of a reading pillow! I’m into pillows big time, and I couldn’t read without one. Great idea for the little ones.

    Wendy – Making this dress is making me think I need some fun cotton skirts for summer. Even just to wear around the house or for “work”. Seeing as I work at home and all.

Trackbacks

  1. This and That on a Wet, Saturday Morning « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

