Skip to content

Summer Thunderstorms

July 3, 2008

There’s one thing you can be sure of in the Pacific Northwest: Heat waves don’t last long. When we get hot summer days, they are short-lived (typically) and interrupted with bursts of warm, summer rain. Today, that is true. I love it because it saves on my water bill – even though I watered all my flowers last night. Hey, I haven’t been watching TV so I didn’t know thunderstorms were approaching!

image

I remember as a kid hating thunderstorms. The thunder scared me and the lightening terrified me. My dad would come into my room and tell me it was all going to be okay. However, I also remember one night, when I was seven, we were moving out of a rented home in Southern California and my mother and I were there late cleaning the last remaining rooms. I remember falling asleep on the kitchen floor while she mopped and gathered the last items together. It was thundering and rainy outside then too. Somehow it was comforting. Now, as an adult, I don’t mind them at all and rather enjoy the break in the heat. It allows me to get some things done inside that normally get put off because we’re outside trying to enjoy the brief summer weather.

What are your memories of thunderstorms? Do you like them? Hate them?

4 Comments
  1. thegirlfromtheghetto permalink
    July 3, 2008 8:30 am

    We had warnings on tv last night (Michigan) for dangerous thunderstorms. It was pretty loud and scary last night. I usually love it when it rains … and thunder is usually cool, except I was admittedly a little scared.

    P.S. My Dr.’s attorney called me to ask what was up w/ my boss … he was the one who refused to sign my first form. He’s redoing my FMLA paperwork and I’m picking it up tonight after work. You see, I’m not crazy when I rant about how nuts my work is? Damn I need a new job so bad …

  2. July 3, 2008 10:06 am

    It’s so loud here, GG, that my desk shook during the last clap of thunder. And good news about the FMLA. Goes to prove bosses can be morons.

  3. July 3, 2008 6:52 pm

    I don’t mind brief thunderstorms, they can be kind of cozy and interesting. But here in EP the ground is so hard the rain has no place to go, so if it rains for very long we have floods.

    Here’s a thunderstorm memory but it’s not really my own, and it’s gross, so be warned. A friend of mine had a dog that was terrified of thunder. During storms he’d go berserk and yelp (like he’d been hit by a car) and hide way under the bed while he had diarrhea and threw up. It was seriously insane and they had to get medication to give him when there was a storm. But the problem with that is, unless you know for sure that a storm is coming you’re out of luck, because you can’t just give it to him when you hear thunder or it doesn’t have time to work. Ugh. It was really messy. 🙂

  4. July 3, 2008 7:53 pm

    @Wendy – that is gross. Particularly if they had a carpeted bedroom. It wouldn’t be so bad in my house with the wood floors, but still gross. My puppies did fine during the storm, which is good to know. We’ll see how they do tomorrow night with the fireworks. Last year they were just puppies and didn’t bark much. This year might be different. Maybe I should get some earplugs.

Comments are closed.

