Skip to content

I Relapsed. I Slipped.

July 4, 2008

I fell off the wagon. No, not the drinking wagon – the not–buying-fabric-until-I’ve-used-up-most-of-my-stash wagon.

Yesterday I was in Kirkland visiting a friend of my mothers and we were reviewing some photos for a slide show for a party we are giving her on the 12th of July. Since I was in the neighborhood of my favorite Hancock’s fabric store, and I wanted some red-checked oilcloth, I decided to pay them a visit.

Uh oh. Not good. Half off was literally plastered in little bright yellow signs all over their store window. It might as well have said “Come hither, little girl. Red apples really are good for you.”

I spent an hour an a half in there looking at every fabric, touching every one, and finally deciding to bring home what I show you here. Keep in mind, I haven’t been in a fabric store for months other than to get pillow forms or something my daughter was buying for the grandkids. When I filled up my bookcase with fabric and realized just how much I have still in the bins in the garage, I told myself no more fabric until I sew myself a new wardrobe.

But half off? Please, people. I couldn’t resist. Besides, what’s the point of working 14 hours a day if a girl can’t indulge in a little fabric purchase? I forgive myself.

Moving on. Here’s the fabric that followed me home.

A beautiful black and pink (one of my favorite color combinations) spandex knit that will be either a top like one I made before, or a soft skirt. I got a yard and a half, at something like $2.50 or $3 a yard. It might even coordinate with some coral fabric I have as the pink is bordering on coral in some areas.

IMG_5399

And a coordinating pink polyester knit. Same price here, but I got two yards because I also need a solid pink top.

IMG_5402

And six yards of this pretty crinkle sheer, which really isn’t all that sheer, and is more sea-green than this picture shows you. These will be simple sheers for my bedroom. Really, the color is much prettier than here and it’s not quite that shiny, but you get the idea.  I don’t need anything heavier in there because they aren’t for privacy (I look out to a greenbelt and no one can see in) and I don’t need room-darkening because I’m up by daylight anyway.

IMG_5405

Now if I could just quit working long enough to finish Elise’s dress and my party dress, and sew these up, I’d be ecstatic. One of my work assignments should be finished by this weekend, I hope. The extra money is great, but sewing is better. Right?

Oh, and did I get the red-checked oil cloth? No. It wasn’t on sale. So I have to check out Joann’s. Wish me luck!

4 Comments
  1. July 4, 2008 8:14 am

    pretty fabrics!! when you fell off the wagon, i am surprised you didn’t fall on top of me. i bought fabric this week too. (hanging head in shame) but it was really special fabric for a very specific purpose. most of it has already been cut and some of it is sewn. too bad i was in a rush and bought too much….and the clerk cut too much. grr.

    good luck on finding some sewing time.

  2. July 4, 2008 10:25 am

    Wow, a fabric relapse! The rose fabric is beautiful. I can see why you relapsed. I’m glad it wasn’t a food relapse. It’s so hard to pass up sales. I’ve even bought stuff on sale that I absolutely didn’t need or ever used. Fortunately I’ve stopped doing that.

  3. July 4, 2008 12:46 pm

    I probably would’ve reasoned buying the oilcloth while you were there at Hancock’s vs going to J’s and buying even more than that. LOL! But, yes, what are you working for if not for money to buy things.

  4. July 4, 2008 3:45 pm

    Mermaid – I felt so guilty! But not for long.

    Joan – no doubt! I had a craving for a fast food hamburger today and restrained myself. Thank goodness I knew how many points it would have cost me.

    Debbie – J’s oilcloth was more expensive (I went there today) so didn’t get it. I was very tempted though to buy the cutting table that was on sale.

Comments are closed.

