Skip to content

This and That on a Wet, Saturday Morning

July 5, 2008

It *is* Saturday, right? Sometimes, because I work non-stop (meaning every day of the week) I lose track of the days. Sigh. I just know what I’m supposed to get done each day and try to take some time out for me in between working.

Speaking of taking time out for me…I did just that yesterday. I stepped away from the computer and into the sewing room. I plan to do like Mermaids has done before and do just a little bit in there every day. Even if it’s just cutting something out, stitching a couple seams, cleaning the room. Something. I didn’t work so hard for such a lovely room to ignore it.

So, yesterday I finished cutting out my granddaughter’s birthday dress and didn’t have the energy to thread the machines so I started working on cutting the fabric for the reading pillows I’ll also be making for the kids. Those are quick wins. However, I stopped myself when I couldn’t remember what size square to cut for a 24×24 pillow form. Anyone know? Do you cut it a bit bigger to allow for seam allowances or a little bit smaller to make it fluffy? I should have written down what I did two years ago when I made one. I was also going to cut the fabric and stitch up my new bedroom sheers, but that didn’t happen. Maybe I can get to that today.

I also went to Joann’s to look for red-checked oil cloth for the centerpieces for my mom’s party. It wasn’t on sale and was more expensive than Hancock’s, so I came up with an ingenious idea: scrapbook paper! It’s already precut to a 12×12 size, doesn’t take any sewing, looks just like red-checked fabric, and can be thrown away when done. Besides, they had it on sale, six sheets for 96 cents! How cool is that idea? And what would I do with all those oil-cloth squares when I was done? I just couldn’t fathom the idea of adding even more work to my load right now. So the centerpieces will be the checked 12×12 squares with a small 6×6 plain red square on top and then a small vase with flowers from the local farmers market in the center and red and gold curling ribbon around the base of the flowers. (I’ll take pictures when it’s all done.)

Last night I learned something new about my fibromyalgia too. Extreme noise sets it off. The fireworks around here last night were insane and went on for a solid two hours. Even before it started slowing down around midnight, I was in the middle of a serious flare-up with every nerve ending in my body on fire and this odd vibrating sensation throughout. Now, tell me that this disease or whatever it’s called isn’t neurological. I guess that’s why I’m blessed to live in a quiet neighborhood on a quiet street – except for two days out of the year. New Year’s Eve is just as insane.

Today, I have to work. A lot. I have some Web site copy writing to do but trust me, in there somewhere, I’ll hit the sewing room. Even if it’s for an hour.

Have a great day!

9 Comments
  1. July 5, 2008 10:20 am

    The idea to use scrapbook paper is ingenius. And they have such a gigantic selection of beautiful papers.

    I’m totally hip to the whole thing about not knowing what day of the week it is, and I NEVER know the date. I can’t remember if I blogged about it or not but this past Christmas I really screwed up. On Christmas Eve I suddenly remembered that it was indeed Christmas Eve and I needed to call people and wrap gifts. Then, on December 30, I thought it was New Year’s Eve and I put our turkey in to brine overnight (so we’d have turkey for New Year’s Day). Once you’ve done that you can’t let it sit around for 48 hours, you need to cook it. Soooo, on New Year’s Eve I was stuck in the kitchen cooking and monitoring a freaking turkey while everyone else in the house was having fun. And then nobody ate the stupid thing.

  2. July 5, 2008 10:24 am

    @Wendy – That would totally cook my goose if no one ate it. (Sorry, had to use the pun…) Especially, if I’d been slaving and they were playing. I’ve never done that exact thing, but all day yesterday I thought it was Saturday. Sometimes that causes panic attacks when I think I’m running out of time.

  3. July 5, 2008 10:27 am

    Also, I was furious that no one in the house told me it wasn’t New Year’s Eve. And they blamed ME. They said, “How were supposed to know what you were doing?” And I said, “Well I was obviously brining a freaking turkey, didn’t you wonder why?” And they said no.

  4. July 5, 2008 10:29 am

    @Wendy – You would think they’d ask you what you were doing. I guess in one respect, it’s good they let you do your own thing, but still… I’d be furious too. My kids are the same way, though. They just don’t pay attention unless it’s money they need.

  5. kaylee permalink
    July 5, 2008 10:33 am

    BUSy BEE!

  6. July 5, 2008 11:50 am

    I have to check my computer every day to see what day it is. It does sound like you are keeping busy. Sorry about the fibro flare up. That must suck. Those shots I had are helping my back, I think. I just hope they help for a long period of time and not just a couple of weeks. Well, I hope you feel better today.

  7. July 6, 2008 3:49 am

    the “slow and steady” method of sewing really works. no, not nearly as satisfying as spending a whole afternoon working on a project, but most of don’t have a whole afternoon available.

    as for the day of the week….during summer, it is a struggle for me. the boys and i don’t really have a schedule during the summer, so we frequently don’t even know what time of day it is….but that’s why i love summer.

    great idea to use the scrapbook paper. anything that makes life easier. and it was cheaper!

    teri

  8. July 6, 2008 7:37 am

    @Kaylee – Sometimes *too* busy, eh? LOL

    @Joan – I hope those shots help for a long time too. Mine did, although the doc warned for some people they only last a short time. I think they just have to state the rare instances so you know. Glad it’s helping so far.

    @Mermaid – sometimes I am inspired (scrapbook paper) and sometimes I have to follow other people’s tried and true ways (your slow and steady). It all is good. I love summer too, that’s why I wish it would hurry and really get here!

  9. thegirlfromtheghetto permalink
    July 7, 2008 6:10 pm

    Oh, the noise factor is horrible for my fibromyalgia. I work in a loud and hostile place and can’t take the stress of all the noise. Having a family is so loud, too, and I miss the quiet days of my singlehood. Every sounds bugs me … and there is nothing I can do about it. Fibro is the weirdest disease …

Comments are closed.

