Skip to content

About Last Night – Party Recap

July 13, 2008

Ha! I’m exhausted. I have muscles upon muscles that hurt and some unknown, odd pain in my shoulder, but my mom’s party was wonderful. I just got off the phone this morning with her and she told me she didn’t get a chance to say to everyone: “I knew my daughter was bright but I didn’t know she was brilliant!” Mom absolutely loved the party, everyone had a great time, and I had teary eyes almost the entire time – especially during the slide show. But it was all worth it.

I was so busy coordinating everything and answering questions of helpers and catering staff and guests that I didn’t have time to take many pictures. My brother and other people took pictures, so I have to get copies from everyone. There were so many of my mother’s friends there that I’ve known for at least 20 years, and my oldest brother with his two daughters and ex-wife came in from out of town. My middle brother, who lives in the Midwest, unfortunately couldn’t make it. I was going to try to get him set up on Webcam to say hello, but I just couldn’t get it all together. As it was, I had a snafu with the music for the slide show, but our friend who set up the sound was able to hook his iPod into the system and play along. Phew!

Oh, and my mom was honored in a very special way. In AA, there is an organization in New York that manages all the administrative details called the General Service Organization, or GSO for short. One of the local guys here that runs the archives office, which my mom has donated books to, attended and shared with us how every single member of the GSO knew my mom or knew of her, her positive reputation and contributions to AA, and how she had a file of accolades in New York about an inch think. I guess she truly is a pioneer of AA. Anyway, the GSO sent my mother a personal birthday card and it was signed by every member of the GSO. What a tribute for her.

So, without further ado, here are some pictures, and of course, pictures of me in my new party dress. I felt like a princess, and the reaction I got from a couple handsome men made it all worthwhile. <hee hee> Most of the time, though, I walked around in my bare feet because it was hot and my feet hurt like heck.

All the flowers for the centerpieces:

IMG_5425

Getting the tables ready

IMG_5426

All set and ready for guests

IMG_5430

What was funny, too, is that so many people were excited to be a part of this celebration that they started coming in at 5:40 (scheduled to start at 6) and started “reserving” their seats! Cracked me up.

The final centerpiece – and thanks to our dear friend Mary, and my daughter, Stacy for getting these all together.

IMG_5431

The “whole fam damily” as my dad would have said:

IMG_5434

Left to right, top row: Me, Cody behind my youngest daughter, Stacy, who is holding, my grandson, Evan (8 months), my daughter Cindy (Cody’s wife and Evan’s mom), my nieces Elizabeth (17) and Phyllis (13), and my mom.

Left to right, bottom row: My brother, Curt, his ex-wife and little Phyllis’ mom, Sheri.

My mom cutting her birthday cake. I bought 50 candles for her as she wanted to have about 4 people come help her blow them out, but I couldn’t for the life of me find them. I found them when I got home and sat down. They were on the couch. LOL.

IMG_5437

My youngest, Stacy, getting ready to take all the leftover balloons out with my nieces and release them into the air.

IMG_5440

And finally, a couple of me in my new dress – a very, tired me – and the last, with Lily, who was so glad to see me come home.

IMG_5450

IMG_5451

IMG_5454

7 Comments
  1. July 13, 2008 8:33 am

    You. Look. Hot! I love the dress, it’s perfect for you, and you were radiant and beautiful! The party sounds like a raging success, your mom looked lovely, and the bouquets are gorgeous. I love your new header. Thank you so much for posting this and sharing it with us.

    Thanks, Wendy! I felt great. It *was* a raging success. I am mostly happy that it was everything my mom hoped it would be.

  2. July 13, 2008 9:17 am

    What a wonderful thing to do for your mother! My boss had an 80th birthday party for her mother and it was similar to yours; tons of family, friends, and memories. Your mother is such a pretty lady, your have a beautiful family, and you look wonderful in your dress!

    Laura, thank you. Lots of good memories made to be sure. Sometime, if I get mom’s permission, I’ll share some pictures of her when she was young. Talk about a striking knockout!

  3. July 13, 2008 12:19 pm

    Yea, you look hot and thin. Your Mom is awesome and that’s a great family pic. I’m glad everything worked out so well. Family means everything to me. I’m sure your Mom appreciated all your hard work putting this shindig together. Your Mom certainly deserved it. Hopefully you are resting today.

    Joan, I am resting. I’m exhausted. I’m supposed to be catching up on work – I have a deadline tomorrow – and I just can’t bring myself to do it. All I can do is surf the net or nap. I guess I’ll deal later. This next week I have to crank out that dress for my granddaughter. Glad it’s already cut out!

  4. July 13, 2008 1:14 pm

    What a wonderful party and I’m sure your mom appreciated it sooooo much! I love your dress! You look great!

    Thanks, Carolyn. What’s funny about the dress is how utterly simple it is and how, if I had made it myself, I would have done things a bit differently. Instead of a poly/nylon type lining, I would have used a batiste cotton or something a bit more breathable. Although, the nylon makes the outer fabric slip and slide a bit better.

  5. Bev permalink
    July 13, 2008 5:17 pm

    Wow….so glad everything turned out well and that everyone had a great time. How nice of you to coordinate this for your lovely mother’s well-deserved celebration of her life!

    So take it easy for awhile and bask in the knowledge that you.done.good, kid!

    P.S. Yes, you look maw-vel-lous!

    Thanks, Bev. I’m trying to take it easy. I have a lot of work-work to catch up on. Yikes.

  6. July 14, 2008 5:44 am

    well you looked great!

    and your mom is a very elegant and classy looking lady.

    glad everyone had fun!

    Thanks, VV. She is always classsy and dressed to the nines:)

  7. July 14, 2008 6:08 am

    Love the new header. Your mom looks great. You can tell you are feeling better – you look fabulous! Whatever you’re doing (besides WW) is definately good for you 🙂 g

    Thanks, Gaylen. It’s all Weight Watchers. I heart WW. Oh, plus working from home. That removes so much stress.

Comments are closed.

