Skip to content

A Mixed Bag of a Day

July 16, 2008

Yesterday my plans went all to hell. I got up early and had planned on getting all my work out of the way by 2:00 p.m. so I could enjoy the afternoon sunshine, and then in the evening sew on Elise’s dress. Instead, I woke up to learning that one company I did some work for – and have a little bit left to do – shorted me by 31 hours of pay. Nice. Not. I was not a happy camper and before I let them know their error I checked all my facts, and yes, I was right. Then I spent the next several hours stressing about it and talking to them on the phone, telling the payroll clerk how much I was owed – long, long, story – and finally getting them to cut me a manual check. Then, of course, I had to drive 25 minutes in rush hour traffic to go pick it up and deposit it. At least my daughter was home and we carpooled.

Before heading out, however, I checked my mail and my day was completely changed. I got a lovely package from Wendy at Life with Buck. Recently she made a Lily Diary for my ‘huahua Lily and me and she sent me the original, along with a book, a magazine, and some real estate ads from El Paso. Wow, I could get a mansion there for what my house would sell for here today.

017 You must know, Lily’s Diary isn’t just a photoshopped image. It’s a collage of sorts. She put so much thought, love, and attention to detail in this, as she does all her doggie diaries. Lily’s ears are pierced in the diary, and she really has a string of pearls on her. It’s priceless to me and I’m going to get it framed. Meanwhile, I have to find just the right place of honor for it. I have it on the fridge for now, but that won’t stay there long. I’m too worried about it getting ruined.

Later, I went grocery shopping. I was almost completely out of my food and so my Weight Watchers plan was going out the window. We can’t have that, now, can we? 013Just so you know, here’s what nearly $200 in groceries looks like.

Five reusable Safeway bags. I got mostly all fruits and vegetables, a couple small steaks and other sundry foods. I was so hungry and so looking forward to my grilled vegetables and steak perfected on the barbeque. I got everything ready, started the barbeque and within three minutes was out of propane. Figures.

By this time, I’m completely exhausted. I put everything under the broiler and called it good. However, the last few days and all the running around, driving, party hostessing, and such have finally caught up with me. I was afraid they would, as was our dear friend who visited us from Portland this weekend. I now have a very bad fibro flare going on, so bad in fact that I can hardly go up the stairs, or lift my left leg. The pain is excruciating. Thank goodness all I have to do is sit at a computer to work.

I’m sure today will be better. We’re set to have warm sunshine days for at least the next week and I’m going to take advantage of every minute of it.

Does it set anyone else into a panic attack when the commercials start blaring out “Summer’s almost over” when ours here has just started?

8 Comments
  1. July 16, 2008 9:50 am

    Wendy sends the best Care packages. She is so thoughtful and funny as hell. She is also so creative and imaginative.

    Glad to see the reusable bags. I just bought seven of them. I’m glad you got some good food for weight watchers. Today I am making a crock pot supper– Pork roast (which I cut off every tiny piece of fat) with sweet potatoes, ginger and pineapples. The kids love this one. The sauce it cooks in is FF chicken broth, pineapple juice from the can of pineapple chunks, soy sauce, onion and ginger. It is yummy and I serve it on rice.

    Sorry about the fibro flare. For some reason everyone I know who has fibro seems to be flaring up this week. Hope it abates soon.

  2. July 16, 2008 9:57 am

    Joan – thank you for reminding me about crock pots. I have a few extra dollars now, so I’m going to see if Costco has a good one. I’m hungry just thinking of your dinner. You should post more of your recipes. They sound fab. I have almost everything to make that recipe – except the pork roast and ginger.

    I bought stuff to make a cucumber salad with rice vinegar (suggested by my WW leader) and also a yummy melon salad (which I’m having for lunch) complete with three types of melons, papaya, and fresh raspberries. YUM.

    I think I’m going to go to the chiropractor because I think the upper leg pain might be connected to my back, but I’m not sure. It’s not getting any better.

  3. July 16, 2008 12:49 pm

    Awwww…I’m sorry about your flare. And your check. And the propane. But Wendy’s care packages will cure what ails you! Just give it a day or two.

    I want some of those reusable bags!

    Hope you feel better very soon.

  4. July 16, 2008 1:00 pm

    Moonbeam – Wendy’s care package is the best! I’m already feeling better except for not being able to move my left leg off the ground. I think it might actually be more related to my back than the fibro, but I’m not sure. Argh.

    PS – did you see I linked to you from my business blog? 🙂

  5. VeeDogKnitter permalink
    July 17, 2008 3:11 am

    You rock for many reasons…..but for today, you rock for using those recycleable grocery bags!! Big pat on the back to you for helping to reduce the strangle-hold that OIL has on us in the form of plastic bags, and for saving trees in the form of paper bags.
    Now, because i know you lived overseas, isn’t it crazy that they have been doing this FOREVER (using re-usable grocery bags) in Europe, but we are now just catching on? I think as soon as our grocery stores start to charge us for non-reusable bags (like they do in Germany, at least) we will all finally get the point!
    So glad that you got paid, wow 31 hours is a BIG deal!
    Love the Lily Diary. Does Wendy take orders? I think Henry and Fred NEED these!! ;o)

  6. VeeDogKnitter permalink
    July 17, 2008 3:15 am

    So sorry about the fibro flare-up. I got so excited by the pic of the grocery bags that i did not read any further, and headed straight to the comments.
    Anyways, those crazy immune system diseases are the most frustrating things…i have several friends with RA, and so many don’t understand how they work, and how debilitating they are. Hang in there, and take it easy if you can.

  7. July 17, 2008 4:33 am

    It’s called a full moon!!! I swear it is, and last night I posted in reference to the lunacy that’s going on this week. At least you’re not alone! As for summer’s almost over? I almost gagged when I went to JoAnn’s the other day and saw that the store is full of Halloween junk! I love your reusable grocery bags and I’m very unhappy with myself that I haven’t made any yet, but it’s on my to do list! If you have a Dollar Store nearby, you should check and see if they have crock pots, they’re really very cheap and you don’t need anything fancy, believe me!

  8. July 17, 2008 6:05 am

    VeeDogKnitter – I love the reusable grocery bags. Funny thing – I remember when they were first introduced here and you were asked “paper or plastic”. They thought it would be a great idea for saving trees. Not. These Safeway bags cost me 99 cents each and actually I find they are easier on my back even when loaded down full. The straps are longer and I can throw them over my shoulder, using my shoulders to carry them, rather than my lower back.

    Laura – it’s insane how fast the Marketing world wants us to use. Buy, buy, buy. “Get it now, or you’ll miss out”. They instill panic in us in all the wrong ways – environmentally too. I watch people buy just crap, crap, crap that I see a year later at garage sales. Argh.

Comments are closed.

