Skip to content

Another Idea Gone Awry + Where’s Lily?

July 17, 2008

016So I got this credenza last week for free off Freecycle.org. It was gray, had locks, and looked perfect for my office to hold extra files and office supplies, printer paper in the middle, and my printer and a TV on top. I also didn’t want the gray color, I wanted black, which would match my black desk. So, I figured, no problem. I’ll take it and Stacy, who’s a great painter, can help me paint it black.

Nice idea. Poor execution.

019In reality, I should have declined taking it in the first place. It has to be the heaviest piece of furniture – EVER – and when I got to where I was to pick it up, they neglected to tell me it was upstairs and I needed to help them carry it downstairs. Sometimes I am so dumb – or stubborn – or passive. Who knows. It’s highly likely helping carry that down the stairs is what started my back and hip to get out of joint.

Anyway, we got it home and it’s in my driveway. It’s been there for a week. I’m sure my happy suburban Stepford Wives neighbors are loving looking at that heap of blackness. Something went wrong with the top coat of gloss paint and it’s a mess. Not only that, but I have no way to even move it into my garage, let alone upstairs into my office, even if I could get the gloss on it the way I want. (However… if anyone has great suggestions on the right way to paint it, I’d listen.)

So, today I posted it for free on Craigslist. Surprise of surprises, I’ve received no takers yet. So, now I have one more piece of heavy crap junk to pile in my side yard and pay some people like 1-800-DUMP-IT to get rid of it for me. My free deal didn’t end up being so free after all.

So, while I’m working today, I thought Lily was in my office with me. I look over to her bed and this is what I see. I love her so much.

023 024

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

025 026

11 Comments
  1. July 18, 2008 3:11 am

    first, love the new header. if you tell me those are from your garden, i just might cry. 🙂

    second, i think i have the desk that goes with that credenza. weighs a ton…and grey. it has followed us thru several moves. each time, we think, “ok, it will fall apart and then we can justify throwing it away.” nope. solid as a rock. my grandkids may end up inheriting this thing. i’ve thought about painting it, but after hearing your story….maybe not. 🙂

  2. July 18, 2008 6:20 am

    Mermaids – No need to cry – the header is a photo I took of the flowers from my mom’s centerpieces. They came from a farmer’s market. Out here you can get giant bouquets for $7. And they last a good week or so. Some of the lilies are still opening up.

    I think that credenza would paint fine, just not using spray paint. It needs regular paint, using a roller. I just don’t have it in me any more to do these things. I keep thinking I do, then I don’t. I’d rather sew. Know what I mean?

  3. July 18, 2008 7:01 am

    I agree with mermaids– the new header is beautiful!

    I don’t think you should give up, Claire– it’s got great possibilities. Can you sand it down and start over? There’s a lot of painting info out there on the web, and I’ll bet you could salvage it.

    If you need help moving it upstairs, call some place like Three Men and a Truck, or see if there are some neighborhood kids who’d do it for cheap.

    I hope you keep it, because these ideas you have usually turn out so beautifully. And ticking off your neighbors is an added bonus!

  4. July 18, 2008 7:02 am

    Lilly is the absolute cutest pup in the universe.

  5. July 18, 2008 7:06 am

    @MB – You crack me up. Okay, maybe Sunday I’ll give it another try. It’s not supposed to rain for several days still, so I can leave it there. I think paint with a roller and using high-gloss might work. I get so tired of asking for help, you know? Stupid pride or something.

    Lily and Theo sitting in a tree… LOL

    She is pretty damn cute too. She loves to snuggle with you too while you sleep. Even better.

  6. July 18, 2008 7:23 am

    I’d give it another try, but I worry about the moving part. Could your SIL get a buddy to help him move it into your office? I know some furniture is so heavy it’s unbelievable, we had a computer armoir that was like that.

    Lily’s photos are adorable. It’s so sweet the way little dogs love to cuddle themselves under the covers. And her bed looks especially cozy.

  7. July 18, 2008 7:28 am

    Wendy – It’s the moving part that concerns me as well. SIL is busy for too long. They have Elise’s birthday party this weekend and I know they won’t feel like doing anything Sunday, then the following weekend they’re going camping. So, I’m looking at August before I could get help from them. They are just so busy.

    I have to find more of those round pink fluffy beds. 🙂 We threw one away it got so worn and loved.

  8. July 18, 2008 11:41 am

    I didn’t mean to laugh at you plight but I did. Sorry! I know nothing about painting anything and I plan on keeping it that way. I don’t want the keepers asking me to paint anything. I love the Lily photos. She’s so cute.

  9. July 18, 2008 11:46 am

    That’s okay, Joan. Someday I’ll laugh at it too. My problem is I love doing crafty things and I enjoy taking something for free and reusing it rather than buying something new. I love painting too – maybe it’s the latent artist in me. Or the fumes.

  10. July 19, 2008 5:25 am

    OMG, this is me! I bought a credenza from a charity shop last week to hold my new television. I’ll be moving in a couple of years and didn’t want to invest in something that might not work in the next house. It’s a pretty cool mid-century piece with fabulous handles that weighs two tons. We made it as far as the foyer which is where I’ve had to paint it. I’ve painted it a deep mahogany brown – almost black – and it looks great. Except for the finish on the top which looks like crap. Grrr. Today I will attempt to smooth it out with sandpaper and recoat. If it still looks bad I’m having a piece of glass cut to fit and calling it a day! Sometimes perfectionism gets in the way of me getting things done.

  11. July 19, 2008 6:29 am

    Gigi- I’m so excited you visited my blog and commented. You know you inspire me with your fabulous work. Yes, perfectionism can be a curse, can’t it? I think maybe I’ll try sanding it and repainting it a different color, but then, since I did some sewing again last night (first time in a year) I think I’d rather spend my time there. We’ll see.

Comments are closed.

