Skip to content

Can I Get the World to Stop for One Day?

July 17, 2008

007 Seriously. I’m not asking for a lot. Just 24 hours. I just need to catch up on everything and it seems the best way is to just get everyone else to pause for 24 hours. Wouldn’t y’all like to just sit and chill for a bit?

It seems like every time I try to catch up, something comes along and I’m put behind again. Yesterday, it was that pain in my upper left leg. So I go to my chiropractor and said, “Dr. G, I can’t lift my leg.” You should have seen his face as he tries to restrain himself – but doesn’t – from saying “Then, stop peeing on fire hydrants.” Very funny, dude. Seems though that I did something to my back and hip. It could have been that I twisted wrong and pulled something, or it could have been (more likely) from lifting the helium tank for the balloons or the projector and 6 foot screen for my mom’s party. Either way, it nearly brings me to tears to get in the car (lifting my leg over the threshold) or going up the stairs.

But today, it’s marginally better and I’m doing some stretches he gave me. But this means another visit to him today in addition to work and trying to fit in time to make Elise’s birthday dress. I think I’ll be sewing Friday night. It’s a small dress, but still. I promised her a new dress for her birthday and I’m going to keep my promise.

001 I also want the world to stop so I can sit and enjoy our summer. The pictures are of a bouquet I made of flowers from my garden. I have neglected my garden the last couple years, but the roses from a couple days ago got cut, stuck in with some pretty white daisies, and filler from from my mom’s party bouquets. It smells so pretty on my office desk. I just wish I could enjoy this beauty all year long. I suppose, though, if I did have it all year long, I’d not appreciate it as much. I doubt it, but it’s possible. I’ve always loved roses since I can remember.

Oh, and tomorrow, finally, I get a dining table and four chairs. It’s a black pedestal round set, with a glass top, and four chairs with fabric seats (so I can eventually recover them to suit my decor.) I haven’t had a dinette set in a year or more and eating on my lap is getting hazardous to my few tops left that I have. More on that tomorrow, along with pictures.

7 Comments
  1. July 17, 2008 1:00 pm

    I have to say I do a lot of sittin’ and chillin’ and I can’t complain. But I’ll do my best hocus pocus act and try to stop the world for you for 24 hours but don’t hold your breath. My magic doesn’t always work. If it doesn’t work you’re on your own. I haven’t eaten at a table in years. I hope your leg feels better.

  2. July 17, 2008 1:25 pm

    the flowers are amazing. cannot believe you have those growing in your yard. i have a black thumb and live in an area that is not conducive to gardening…red clay.

    i’ll send good sewing vibes your way. i could use a little 24 hr pause in the universe too.

    teri

  3. July 18, 2008 7:30 am

    I’m hope you’re feeling better, it sucks to be sore and not have the luxury of just lying around and whining about it until you feel better.

    When I feel like I’m falling further (farther?) behind and I”m overwhelmed I do shut the world down for as long as it takes me to catch up.
    P.S. – Your flowers are beautiful. What a treat!

  4. July 18, 2008 7:34 am

    Hi all, I forgot to respond to this post. Yes, I am much better physically. The leg pain is gone. I have an awesome chiropractor – that, and stopping lifting heavy stuff helped.

    Mermaid – I’ll take pictures of my back yard so you can see that really it’s a miracle these roses bloomed at all. Then you won’t feel so bad. 🙂

    Wendy – I need to follow your lead and turn off the world when I’m overwhelmed. The fragrance of the roses while I work is intoxicating!

    Joan – Your magic is working. I’m feeling so much better.

  5. July 18, 2008 7:50 am

    So glad you’re feeling better! Your garden must be gorgeous. Catching up with your posts, it sure seems that you’ve been overdoing it. Slow down….deep breaths….and no peeing on fire hydrants.

  6. July 18, 2008 7:59 am

    Ah, MB – you can read between the lines, huh? I have been overdoing it. I guess that’s what got me into trouble with the fibro in the first place. I don’t know how to go at a slower pace sometimes. My head moves faster than my body can handle.

    I’m going to have to dispel the myth that I have a luscious garden. LOL. 🙂 Stay tuned.

Trackbacks

  1. Truth in Advertising « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

