Skip to content

Sneak Peek – She Really Does Sew

July 18, 2008

Ha! Sometimes I even amaze myself. Talk about leaving everything to the last minute. My granddaughter’s birthday party is tomorrow, starting at noon, and thank goodness I already had her dress cut out. In just about two hours I’ve almost finished the dress. I have to insert the zipper (doesn’t phase me) and insert the straps to the front of the dress, and then hem the dress. I’ll machine hem it, I think. I also think I might topstitch along the upper bodice, just for added…whatever.

033

I added some piping between the bodice and the skirt just for a little something extra, and I’m glad I did. Elise loves purple and horses and I think this dress will be perfect for her. Let’s just hope it fits!

034

6 Comments
  1. July 19, 2008 3:34 am

    the dress is beautiful. the piping is a great touch…gives it a much more professional finish. i knew you would get it finished. a grandma made dress will make her day even more special.

    a great big happy birthday to elise!

  2. July 19, 2008 6:42 am

    Mermaids – I got it all done last night. I always have a problem getting the top line of the bodice backs even when installing the zipper, so had to do a bit of fiddling there. And I did a simple stitched hem, so that worked too. At lest it’s done, and it’s darling. I have some fabric left so I might make a little purse or something to go with it this morning – or not. Maybe I’ll make her a little bag later that matches so she can carry her FurReal friends in it. 🙂 I slept well knowing it was all done.

  3. Cherie permalink
    July 19, 2008 10:11 am

    Claire, yes it is super darling! Must be fun using the smaller pieces of fabric, also. Alas, I have no child to sew for!

  4. July 19, 2008 10:45 am

    That is so cute … why didn’t my gramm teach me how to sew, what a great and useful skill you have!

  5. July 19, 2008 5:19 pm

    You’re so talented– it’s so cute! I hope you’ll post a photo of your granddaughter wearing it.

  6. July 19, 2008 7:55 pm

    @Cherie – It’s fun sewing something small and easy – a great way to get back in the groove.

    @GG – You could learn to sew. Seriously. All it takes to get started is a machine that does straight and zig-zag stitch, a bit of fabric and thread.

    @MB – Thanks! It’s cute because the model is cute. Do you notice her teacup pup? LOL. I did post a picture. Check it out on my newest post.

Comments are closed.

