Skip to content

Truth in Advertising

July 18, 2008

Some of my recent posts have led my few loyal readers to imagine that I have a lush, beautiful Pacific Northwest garden. While I’d love to continue to let them imagine that – and I often try to psych myself out too – it’s really not the truth. I suppose it could be if I’d had good landscaping to begin with, such as enough fill and topsoil, followed by enough energy to keep up with it or enough money to hire someone to do it. Alas, that is not my life – at least not yet. Someday, though, it will be pretty. One step at a time.

Remember the gorgeous roses in these pictures here? They came from this bush.

007

So, let’s take a little virtual tour of my back yard. This yard is the oddest shaped yard. It’s very shallow from back door to fence – probably about 10 or 12 feet, if that, and very wide and the yard wraps around both sides of the house. The small yard is fine because I overlook a lush greenbelt that is protected – meaning no one can ever build in there because it’s a wildlife habitat.

This is the side yard on the north side of my home – weeds, dead grass, and clay base. In the winter this is a wet soggy mess. The two lonely bushes are rescued native holly that I dug up from around a facility that was being demolished. Eventually, when my new flowering pink dogwood gets big, you will be able to see it over the fence there. It’s planted on the other side.

002

Turning left from this position (below), we have the north corner of the yard. Here you see a forlorn garden swing – inherited from my ex and in dire need of cleaning and painting – along with two of my favorite rose bushes that have seen better days. The rose bush on the left is Flutterby and the one on the right is Gold Medal. Flutterby should look like this picture here and Gold Medal should look like this.

003

Standing back a bit farther, here’s another view of the same corner. These are five rose bushes – no idea what they are called, but they are the pink roses I used to have a photo of in my header.

004

Another view of the north side, showing my two Mock Orange bushes. I love these bushes. They bloom twice a year with very fragrant blooms and are the hardiest hedge bushes I’ve known.

005

Turning left a bit…This is the overgrown common area that the homeowner’s association refuses to maintain because it’s a slope down to the NGPA (Natural Growth Protected Area) and they figure they can’t see it so why should they bother. Meanwhile, alder saplings are growing up close to my back fence, creating a fire hazard (not enough set back from the house) and also a safety issue – people can come up and hide in there, not to mention coyotes and bobcats – yes, we have those here too in the ravine. I’ve seen both.  I will have to pay to get this crap cut down.

017

and left some more to my favorite view. (Lest you think all my back yard is ugly. LOL) I love looking through that dark hole there into the deep ravine. It’s so beautiful. It makes all the other neglect worthwhile. I just look past what’s up close to what I can see in the distance. Somewhat an analogy of my type of thinking.

018

Turning around and looking south towards the other half of the yard (below). Here we have a toddler gate stretched out to block the puppies from going over to that side of the yard. You’ll see why in a minute. Up against the fence is another Mock Orange bush, and a neglected rose. My pretty flowering crabapple tree I got for my birthday is still alive, but still in the pot. I want to plant it so it will block the view of those homes in the distance. Notice the patio table with the umbrella with no cover. Yeah…

010

This is why it’s stuck way over there. A windstorm last year knocked it over and broke it. And my neighbor (you can see her house in the photo above) decided to do me a favor and give me a new umbrella. Problem is, she still has the cover for it. So she says. She’s crazy. Seriously. She’s looney. She’s selling her house by the way. (Wendy, watch out – she’s moving to El Paso.)

024

Walking up to the little doggy fence and looking to the other side of the house, here’s what you see. Lovely, just lovely.  This pile has been here all winter long. (Why the hell am I posting this embarrassing stuff on the Internet? LOL)

011

That’s all the furniture and left over crap from last year’s floor remodel that needs to go to the dump.

My neglected lilac bush and yellow rose all strangled by weeds.

013

On my patio is my sun tanning station. πŸ™‚

023

And as a final shot, I leave you with some bits of true beauty and nature’s miracles at work. I love roses because they are fragrant, beautiful, and grow even when neglected. I love everything that that symbolizes.

From this plant…

027

Comes this…

 028 031

032

8 Comments
  1. July 18, 2008 10:58 am

    I’m fortunate too in that no one can build behind our house. Your yard looks better than mine. I am hoping next year the keepers will get off their butts and plant stuff. I did get my window boxes this year which are nice. I think your yard looks fine. Thanks for the tour.

  2. July 18, 2008 11:10 am

    i have that same garden swing! mine is a bit on the “neglected” side too. nonetheless, your yard still has more foliage and flowers than mine. currently, i am able to use the excuse of “our area is in a excessive drought.” when the rains come, i will have to think of something else. πŸ™‚

  3. July 18, 2008 11:15 am

    Joan, Mermaids, you are sweet. I guess I don’t feel so bad about my yard now. I am in the mode of comparing myself to the Stepford family up the street with their perfectly manicured yard. He actually goes out and pokes holes in the front yard with a tool that squirts water deep under the layer of grass to stop it from turning brown. Talk about OCD.

    Yesterday, however, a nicer neighbor two doors from me hired some young, male landscapers to scrape off the old sod in his back yard and layer it with fresh gravel and topsoil. You can bet I got their business card and I had so much fun looking out my window while I worked at the eye candy. Nothing better than watching handsome, tan young men having fun with wheelbarrows and dirt.

  4. Bev permalink
    July 18, 2008 6:49 pm

    Love your sun-tanning booth! heehee

    I love lovely manicured lawns and beautiful flowers and shrubs and mulch and all that….but hey! I just don’t have time to do that stuff so if it weren’t for my hubby, well…… Anyway, you are still producting lovely roses, the doggies are protected, and you have your sun tanning station. What’s more to want? πŸ™‚

  5. Bev permalink
    July 18, 2008 6:49 pm

    Producting? Geesh…..producing! (It’s been a very long day, sorry to say.)

  6. July 18, 2008 7:31 pm

    Bev – that’s it exactly! lovely roses, safe dogs, and a private tanning area. Life is grand!

  7. July 19, 2008 5:54 pm

    I love your yard– I like that it’s not perfect, that it has a bit of crap here and there (neat, covered crap), and that it’s still a work in progress. The mock orange bushes are pretty, the roses are beautiful, the lawn is green, there are trees to look at, and a tanning area— what more could a person ask for?

    Thanks for the tour!

  8. July 20, 2008 7:15 pm

    I am in the mode of comparing myself to the Stepford family up the street with their perfectly manicured yard. He actually goes out and pokes holes in the front yard with a tool that squirts water deep under the layer of grass to stop it from turning brown. Talk about OCD.I’m fortunate too in that no one can build behind our house. Your yard looks better than mine. I am hoping next year the keepers will get off their butts and plant stuff.

Comments are closed.

