Skip to content

The Birthday Girl & Dress

July 19, 2008

How cute is she?

016 002

003

007

 

 

 

The length is perfect but the bodice could have been about an inch and a half narrower. Next time – if I make her another one this summer – I’ll move the straps in by half an inch on each side, and take in the sides by about 3/4 inch each side. She’s very long and narrow and this pattern is made for a wider child.

You should have seen her face when she saw it. She gasped! She loved it and that made my heart melt.

7 Comments
  1. July 19, 2008 6:02 pm

    My heart melted too. Oh so pretty!!!

    She is beautiful, Joan. She was in her element with all her friends there. There must have been 25 kids there.

  2. July 19, 2008 6:50 pm

    and me to the list of melty hearts. so cute. i know it wasn’t easy for you to get that dress finished, but i knew you would. her face says it all.

    I took it slow and easy, Mermaids, and although all totaled, it was about a three-hour project, I spent probably 5 hours because I stopped when my back hurt, or whatever. I’m excited to start a new project, but taking it easy tonight. Probably I’ll cut out something tomorrow.

  3. Bev permalink
    July 19, 2008 6:50 pm

    She looks lovely! It’s a very sweet dress, love the piping, and I’ll bet that look on her face was fabulous beyond words.

    Now, if I had such a cute grandchild (ok, if I had ANY grandchild, sigh), I would certainly be sewing up a storm. I bet seeing her in that really picked up your sewing interest. Keep it going! 🙂

    Bev – you bet it picked up my sewing interest. I was fabric shopping online – didn’t buy – today but am ready to make myself a couple skirts and tops! Plus I took measurements of my baby grandson today. he needs a top from Grandma.

  4. July 19, 2008 9:54 pm

    Ohhhhhhhh, soooooo cute!!! You did a great job– it looks beautiful on her! She’s getting so big! Sounds like she had a fantastic birthday too.

    Thanks, MB. I had fun working on it. And yes, she is getting big. Did you notice she has lost her two front teeth? She got $8 from the Tooth Fairy, who also heard it was her birthday. Sheesh. The Tooth Fairy must not be feeling any effects of any economic recession.

  5. July 19, 2008 9:56 pm

    By the way, I did notice the pup. It goes with the dress. It looks like one of those poopless models– I want one!

    MB – It *is* the poopless model. Although, it does whine and move and bark just like our Lily – rather, more like Daisy. A bit freaky really.

  6. July 20, 2008 12:33 pm

    I love the dress! The fabric is awesome, so cheery and summery. And she’s just adorable. Did she get those fabulosu curls from you?

    Wendy – I used to pay thousands of dollars for perms to get curls like that. She gets those curls from her mom. (My daughter is her step-mom, so she doesn’t get them from her either, although Elise and my daughter look remarkably alike.) I hope when she gets older she doesn’t feel the need to straighten her hair all the time.

  7. July 20, 2008 12:34 pm

    Was supposed to say “fabulous”. Gawd, I wish I could make a face that showed “crying” but I’ll just have to settle for this: 😦

Comments are closed.

