Skip to content

Project Runway – Season 5, Episode 1

July 22, 2008

(*If you didn’t see it last week, I have a couple spoilers in here.)

Wendy asked me the other day about this and I forgot to respond, so I thought I’d post it here. Yes, Project Runway is back and it’s an interesting group this year. Some crazies, some seemingly meek women designers, some delusional ones, and some hidden gems. I don’t have any predictions yet, but perhaps soon.

Official Bravo Project Runway site: http://www.bravotv.com/Project_Runway/season/5/index.php

There’s one contestant from Washington state: Blayne. He’s from Yakima, which is in the central part of the state, not on the west side, like I am. I’m not sure yet what I think of him, but his first outfit was hideous and he was completely delusional that it looked great. I think that’s what’s fun about this show is these designers get this twisted view of reality creating stuff that no woman would be seen dead in. On the other hand, there are some who really create some amazing (for lack of a better adjective) designs.

Blayne’s bio says he was named “Seattle’s most stylish male”. Are you kidding me? Although what he’s wearing in this picture is pretty representative of most guys his age that I see in the software business.

Blayne

Here’s what Blayne designed. Ewww.

Here’s the winning design by Kelli. What’s amazing about this is she made this out of vacuum cleaner bags. They also showed us how she made hooks and eyes for the back out of the wire from spiral notebooks. Ingenious! Brilliant!

Next episode is tomorrow night (Wednesday) on Bravo at 9 p.m. And Bravo plays the reruns before the new episode, so if you missed last week, never fear.

If you’ve been watching, who’s your favorite so far?

10 Comments
  1. lovefashion permalink
    July 22, 2008 6:17 am

    I loved Kellis dress..I thought she did an amazing job!! I’m always looking for dresses like that just to wear for going out..and I just found a couple of really cute ones from this website called ShopGoldyn that I really love!!

    Lovefashion – Thanks for visiting my blog. Welcome. I’ll have to check out that site. Come back next week when we snark some more – or anytime really. 🙂

  2. July 22, 2008 7:40 am

    Blayne is a Christian Siriano wannabee, imho. he needs to lay off the tanning and invest in some shampoo.

    trash bag lady was just sad and pathetic. apparently it did not occur to her that she could iron those plastic bags together to make a more stable fabric. that could have been cool. sad when we little bloggers know more tricks than the “designers.”

    Kelli’s creation was *very* creative. loved the bleaching and dyeing of the vacuum cleaner bags. that was a cool effect. see, *that’s* creative, that’s taking it a step further than what’s right in front of you.

    ah, can’t wait for wednesday night….even more to snark about. 🙂

  3. July 22, 2008 7:43 am

    I think I’ll have this as a regular post every Thursday so we can snark about what’s fresh in our minds. 🙂 It will become even more fun when we start to really get to know the designers.

  4. July 22, 2008 9:56 am

    I started episode one but didn’t finish it which I will do tonight so I don’t get behind. I know they were making the outfits from grocery store items but then I had to leave and make Sarah’s food for her overnight stay on the Island. I didn’t read all of this post because of the spoilers. Thanks for the warning.

    Joan – make sure to let us know what you think of it.

  5. July 22, 2008 10:57 am

    I’ve only seen a clip of the show on The Soup (but I’ve got the new and old both DVR’d for Wed.) and one of the judges said that thing in the front looked like an old diaper. He was right, it does look like a diaper.

    Hey, did you hear the names of the next four designers eliminated have been leaked to the Internet? If you don’t want to know them, avoid all Project Runway news for the next month.

    I’ll get my snarking here, however. Great idea!

    Wendy – that was Michael Kors that said that. He was so right. I love him. He’s most often right on, plus I have some of his clothes from Macy’s or Nordstroms that I love. I love the styles he designs. I wonder if he really does design everything you see with his name on it, or if he has junior designers who design under his label. Hmmm. I’m sure someone lurking will pipe up and educate me.

    I hadn’t heard about the leak. Now I’m sorely tempted to go find out. LOL.

  6. Bev permalink
    July 22, 2008 11:08 am

    I also loved Kelli’s dress. I thought the gal who fashioned a mop head into a crocheted bodice also did well. I know the judges thought xxx’s (I don’t remember all their names yet) yellow dress with the vegetables around the neckline was innovative but I thought it was bleh. I actually thought the dress was pretty but hated the sliced tomatoes on there! Maybe it reminded me of the salad we had that night, tho! ha

    Bev – I wasn’t impressed with the yellow dress and vegetable necklace the way the judges were, but whatever. I actually thought Blayne would have been tossed off because of the diaper look, but the guy who was offed deserved it. I kinda felt bad for him because his was better than the garbage bag lady.

  7. July 25, 2008 11:16 am

    I finally saw episode 1. I thought the winner, Kelli, definitely deserved it. I loved the vacuum cleaner look. The thing about the garbage bag lady is that she spent 12 hours and that’s all she could come up with.The guy who did get thrown off made a damn ugly outfit but at least he put some work into it. I would have thrown out garbage bag lady. I will watch episode two tonight.

  8. July 31, 2008 9:38 am

    I think Stella should have been gone. I don’t think she would have won if ‘make something out of trashbags and you have only 30 minutes’ was the challenge…

    That’s what bums me about this show this year – it is predictable who will make the top 3 or worst 3 by how much camera time they get prior AND if you have any bizarreness at all, you’ll be safe!?

  9. July 31, 2008 10:44 am

    This has been my favorite show so far.. They designs were great. But poor Jerry,, what was he thinking with those rubber gloves…. LOL

Trackbacks

  1. Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 3 « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

