Skip to content

Where’s Marie? Vacation Plans, and BMW M3 Racing

July 23, 2008

I thought I’d post these pictures of my tiniest cat, Marie. Marie is nine years old and her sister is my orange cat, Maxie. They were litter mates and I got them from my former step-daughter after I got divorced. These cats have been my companions, my best friends at very low times, and have the sweetest disposition and only want to love you. In fact, Marie is sprawled across my left arm as I type purring loudly.

Yesterday I walked into my bedroom and saw this vision on my bed.

IMG_5677

She blends in so nicely, don’t you think? I’m into color coordinating my pets with my furnishings, you know.

And a closeup. Look at that attitude.

IMG_5674

In other news…

IMG_0064 Yesterday I booked my flight to go visit my brother in Kansas City, Missouri in mid-September. I’ll be flying out to watch him and his girlfriend each compete in the BMW Solo Nationals.

IMG_0090

 

 

 

He’ll be racing his BMW M3 (shown right) on a track with cones. He usually does really well – except for last year – and places somewhere near the top. Each time you hit a cone, you lose two seconds off your time. Also, this is Ann’s first year racing, so that makes it doubly cool. He said this year would be really cool if he places and I’m there, and it will be. We’ll get to go to a banquet and he’ll get a trophy of some sort. How fun will that be?

Here’s a video of inside the car when he’s racing. This is from the Kansas City Regional Autocross in 2007. Pretty cool if you like the sound of engines and screeching wheels. I do. It’s about two minutes long and you might need to take some Dramamine first.

If you’re so inclined, you can see all his videos here on YouTube.

Then, after the races, we’ll be going to Table Rock Lake in the Ozarks for about four days. I am sooooo looking forward to that. Pray for lots of sun!

(Photo scraped from www.parkviewlodging.com)

Chris says we’ll take the boat out into the lake a ways, drop the anchor and just hang out and swim. I can’t wait. 

Now, all I need to do is either buy or make some shorts or capris, a few new t-shirts, and probably a few summer skirts. Maybe even a new swim suit. (By then, I should have lost 40 pounds total too, so nothing I have now will fit.) It should still be warm when I go in mid-September, although he says I’ll need to be prepared for any weather. Cold, to them, is oh, sixty-ish. LOL. Bring it on. That’s warm here.

And you should know that this trip is taking me a bit out of my comfort zone. I’m traveling purely for pleasure, purely for myself, alone. My brother does it all the time, but I’ve only traveled for business, or with my mom. This is a new adventure for me, and scary as it is, I’m really looking forward to it.

Don’t forget: Project Runway tonight, and we’ll snark about it tomorrow. Latah…

4 Comments
  1. July 23, 2008 10:46 am

    What a sweet kitty! My little girl (Chlorox) loves to crawl into the spot between the pillows at the head of my bed too. I think they know how cute they look.
    You’re going to have such a good time at your brother’s and traveling for fun is so much better than traveling for business! If I can fly all by myself, anyone can.

  2. July 23, 2008 11:57 am

    My kitty is draped across my leg as I type. Your kitty is so cute.

    I can just see me driving around all those cones. Even at 10 mph I would knock them all over.

    I hope you have a great trip. It sounds like a lot of fun.

  3. Bev permalink
    July 23, 2008 2:30 pm

    I love a cat with an attitude! She’s beautiful.

    Car races aren’t my thing but there sure are a lot of people that enjoy them. I hope they both do well!

    Now the lake? THAT’s most definitely my kind of thing. The Ozarks are full of these fabulous lakes. You’ll have a grand time, am sure! Just curious why your mom isn’t going, tho. Does she visit them routinely?

  4. July 25, 2008 6:55 pm

    I’m so glad you’re doing this! A trip just for you! You’re going to have a great time.

    Marie is adorable.

Comments are closed.

