Skip to content

Project Runway – Season 5, Episode 2

July 24, 2008

(Caution: If you haven’t yet seen the episode, there could be spoilers ahead.)

Last night’s challenge was sort of bleh with what came out of the design room. The designers had to let their models purchase the fabric and none of the models were very creative with the fabric choices. However, I didn’t really expect that they would be. They also didn’t have any clue how much fabric to purchase – or perhaps they were limited by their $75 – so I think the designers were left with small quantities of fabric resulting in very, very short dresses.

The main twist to this challenge was that the fabric choices had to be “green” – as in eco-friendly, not color. So, how big a deal is that? Isn’t cotton organic and green? Anyhooo, on to the challenge. Aside from using green fabrics, they were to design a cocktail dress that the model wanted. Remember, these are supposed to be cocktail dresses. I’m thinking some of these designers go to really hoochie cocktail parties.

First up, our boy from Yakima, Blayne. I like the contrast of pink and black, and how the black insets the side of the waist, but the crap over the arm just looks wonky to me.

I think Blayne really wants to wear this dress himself.

Daniel – Blah. Nothing new here. Nothing original. Asymmetrical hem and a  neckline I’ve seen a zillion times.

Emily – another example of probably not having enough fabric. The model looks like if she were to stand up straight, her boobs would pop out over the top of that dress. It looks like she’s shrinking down so the front of the skirt doesn’t show everything.

Jennifer – The judges ignored this dress. Probably a good idea. Peacock feather earrings? She looks seriously scared.

Jerell – This dress looks like she’s wearing a shredded apron. Or suspenders. Maybe a modern Halloween version of Little Bo Peep?

Joe – Yawn.

Keith – He’s channeling Maria from the Sound of Music. This looks like a set of valances from the 1980s.

Kelli – Kelli was last week’s winner. Interesting dress, but I just have never understood a design that puts a seam that cuts the boob in half. I love the color combinations, however.

Kenley – The judges kept oohing and aahing over this one. Blah. It’s been done before. Nothing new here, folks.

Korto – She almost went home over this one. Michael Kors called it fins on the hips. And seams on the outside have also been done. What would have been cool is if she split the seams and let them fray. I wonder what that would have looked like?

Leanne – One of the designers I don’t expect to last long, but we’ll see. Natalie Portman (guest judge) said it looked a little Peter Pan-ish. I think the pockets in the hem are sort of unique, but all the stuff around the neckline is hideous.

Stella – she’s a character. She likes “leather” and urban design, so she says. This is okay, but again, nothing original here folks. Close to really hoochie, I think, but I also think that’s her style.

Stella looks like Cher, to me.

Suede – Cute. From a distance, this looks darling, but close up, I just don’t like the weaving of the material on the top and the uneven shoulder pieces. Maybe it’s how the model is standing.

And Suede – you are too old for the blue Mohawk.

Terri – This is a cocktail dress, but nothing original.

Wesley – Poor Wesley. He doesn’t know how to sew.

Maybe Wesley was really  meant to be an accountant.

Status of the designers after this episode:

PR_Designers_Ep2

Bring it on, and snark away. πŸ™‚

12 Comments
  1. July 24, 2008 9:37 am

    i was not aware there was “organic” tulle available? i cringed when suede won because that means he will be unbearable next week. “suede is happy. suede won the challenge.” he needs to get over himself….blue mohawk and speaking about himself third person. annoys me. very much. can you tell?

    teri

    Teri – good point about the tulle. How come he didn’t get points knocked off for that? Suede needs to grow up, get a real name, and be a real adult. Talking in the third person is like my grandson saying “me wants to go play”. It’s about on the same level of intelligence. LOL. It makes the editor / writer in me cringe.

  2. Bev permalink
    July 24, 2008 12:11 pm

    I hate the beginning of the season as there are too many designers to keep track of! I had already forgotten half of these meh designs so thank you for posting them all.

    I thought Suede’s was cute from afar – but mostly because I love red. Couldn’t tell if the neckline was uneven on purpose or poor design, but I do agree that it was the one that stood out the most and deserved to win.

    Gah. I personally hate any dark brown shiny fabric and why so many models chose that is beyond me. They were all kinda icky but Wesley’s hem disaster deserved the auf.

    You had a great idea about Korto opening up those seams and letting them ravel! She most definitely needed your help on that mess.

    There sure are some memorable personalities already this season, aren’t there?

    Bev – memorable is a good word. I think some of them are so bland they are memorable, you know? I’ve wondered what it is about the women designers this year with all the long, straight hair parted in the middle. Is that the new trend? I’m not with that one.

  3. kaylee2 permalink
    July 24, 2008 7:58 pm

    Oh I hate that Show πŸ˜€

    Sorry, Kaylee. It really is fun. You should try it!

  4. July 24, 2008 8:05 pm

    Okay, I still haven’t seen this season but now I have both on my DVR. LOL. That said, I couldn’t resist reading this post. I agree with you on every dress. The one with fins on the hips was maybe the worst. Or maybe Wesley’s — that was just pathetic. Like a 12-year-old sewed it, although I’ve known 12-year-olds who could sew better than that.

    Blayne’s dress would have been cute if not for that terrible shoulder mess. If the shoulders had been the same it would have looked terrific.

    Wendy – yes, I agree completely. Some of the designers just think they have to be odd – as in eccentric and far out wacky weirdos – to win.

  5. wyogranny permalink
    July 25, 2008 8:36 pm

    Just a lurker who has to comment on this. You are so right. I miss Chris. I did love the “leatha” thing, both Stella and Bryce get points for being funny and sarcastic and being able to take it as well as give it.

    Well, wyogranny, thanks for delurking! Welcome! I loved Chris!

  6. July 30, 2008 11:08 am

    Yes, yes, yes!!! I love PR commentary! I don’t have cable any more, but this is almost like being there!!!

    (Not only is Suede to old to have a blue mohawk, he’s too old to be calling himself “Suede.” What a ghastly name.)

    MB – Never fear, you’ll get all the juicy tidbits and details right here. Do you suppose when Suede named himself that he though it was really Suave, or represented “smooth”, both of which couldn’t be further from the truth for him? πŸ˜‰

  7. July 30, 2008 12:14 pm

    i love this show.. great post!!

  8. ari permalink
    July 30, 2008 1:47 pm

    I think tulle can be made out of silk too, not just nylon…but I may be wrong.

    Overall I do agree that the designs were a bit lacking, but honestly I thought the same last week too. I’m worried that as the seasons go by, they are getting more and more people who are technically better off than say the first season, but also creatively challenged.

    It seems like some of these designers have so much more experience and yet so much less life in some of their designs. Maybe its just me, but it almost seems like some of these designs are just too wearable to the point of being just plain boring (like Joe’s slip dress).

  9. July 31, 2008 9:33 am

    At this point, too many designers and we only see the over-the-top behavior. But, even if Joe’s dress is boring – I think it is pretty… Leanne is showing enough that I (we?) can see her own style even if it’s loopy! I also wonder if playing it safe in these early rounds at least lets you get to the next one?

  10. July 31, 2008 10:41 am

    i thought the same thing.. it looks ok at a distance. … but the construction looks sloppy. I liked Kenley’s the best.

  11. rustchic permalink
    August 1, 2008 5:05 pm

    i completely agree about the “organic tulle”

    unless it was vintage

Trackbacks

  1. Are You Ready? « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

