Skip to content

When I Dream, I Dream of Pink

July 25, 2008

My current dream – which I *will* turn to reality fairly soon – is of a pink cruiser bicycle. Something like this one.

Now, I haven’t ridden a bicycle in years, but Moonbeam McQueen loves to ride them and she has inspired me. There are so many good, level spots where I live to ride, that I know I’d have a blast.

I dreamt a while back that I got a bike, and it was similar to this, but the seat was a good three feet wide. Seriously. That must be because I must think my butt is that big. It’s not, but in my head, that’s how I see it. Anyhooo…

Along with my pink bike, I want to get this for Lily, so she can come on bike rides with me.

So, my oldest, Cindy, laughs and lovingly tells me I’m “such a nerd” and “that’s really over the top”. She’s absolutely right, too. But how fun is that? And can you imagine what a guy magnet that would be? A pink bike, a pink doggie basket, a darling white ‘huahua, and, not to mention, *me*, in a sea of boring brown, blue, and black bicycles?

Bring it on!

6 Comments
  1. July 25, 2008 8:30 am

    I can just imagine you and Lily pedaling down the road “Pretty in Pink”. Especially in your new svelte body. You’d be like the Pied Piper with all the men following behind you. I don’t think it’s “over the top at all”.

    Joan – I hope I can be the Pied Piper-ette. Hahaha.

  2. July 25, 2008 2:37 pm

    I want a pink bike!!! Right now I have a steel gray mountain bike that Hans gave me when he finally bought a new one. His new bike looks like something Paul Bunyan would use! By all means you would have to get the pink basket thing for the poochies. How much fun would that be? When I was about 10, I fastened a cardboard lid on top of the basket that came with my banana bike (remember those?), and stuck my cat inside and rode all over town. I had fun and I think the cat did too. We ride as often as we can and if you’re debating it even a little bit, I say go for it!

    Laura – I have promised myself that as soon as I have the money saved up, I’m getting it. I remember banana bikes. Loved mine.

  3. July 25, 2008 3:54 pm

    I love that bike! And the Lily carrier is adorable too, it would look perfect on there. I must be a nerd too, because I’d love to ride around like that. I’ve always wanted a motor scooter, and you can’t get much nerdier than that.

    You could name your bike “Pinky and the Brain” and just smile mysteriously when they ask who’s who. 🙂

    Wendy – I once won a motor scooter. It was burgundy. At the time I was too introverted to try to ride it, and besides, it wasn’t pink, so I sold it. Now I somewhat regret it, but I’ll get more exercise on a bicycle and Lily will enjoy it too. Love your idea…

  4. July 25, 2008 6:52 pm

    I love that bike! It’s so girly!

    I checked out the exact same kind of pet carrier for Theo, but ended up with a wicker basket. I forgot to tell you that after I took him riding yesterday, he came home and promptly vomited. Twice. He loved it though. Maybe I’ll give him some doggie Dramamine next time.

    Have to search your blog for puppy goggles now.

    MB – We didn’t photo the puppy goggles yet. I have to get my daughter to put them on Daisy. They’re hilarious. She didn’t get any for Lily, which made Lily sad. Poor neglected Lily.

  5. VeeDogKnitter permalink
    July 27, 2008 4:07 am

    My mom has that bike, and LOVES it!! Also, my friend down in Newport Beach has one..Pink with flames, and her husbands is black with flames…both have baskets on front, and their chihuahua’s fit perfectly. We went riding with them on Balboa Island….perfect beach cruisers!! The “main” chichuahua tried to kill every dog on the beach..with her bark. She does not know she is small.

    I remember Balboa Island! what a great area. I had a friend that lived there and when my girls were little, we used to drive down there from Buena Park and hang out on the beach. Most ‘huahuas don’t know they are little. Expecially Lily. She barks like she thinks she a Rottweiler or something. She has to protect me. LOL.

Trackbacks

  1. Pink is for the dogs « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

