Skip to content

Shrinking Body + Shrinking Wardrobe = Pathetic Closet

July 26, 2008

Okay, true confessions time. I have no clothes. I had better hustle my butt and make some because I certainly don’t want to go spend tons of money on clothes I’ll only wear a few times and then they’ll be too big for me.

I just finished going through my closet and getting rid of three pairs of pants that are too big – and that was painful because I spent about $80 each on those pants. IMG_5751I am not even going to bother trying to alter them. It’s not worth the frustration on my part. I also threw out anything that didn’t make me feel good, like old sweatshirts I’ll never wear.

But I did make a pile of tops that I will try to alter and take in. That’s easier to do than pants, and these are tops I might still like to keep for a while.

 

However, this is what I’m left with in my closet. IMG_5755A handful of tops, three dresses – and one of those I don’t wear in public – and a handful of pants and probably some of those should be tossed as well.  Most of these tops I made myself, and some of them I won’t wear again – they are too short in the waist – but I’m hanging on to them as a sort of muslin, so I know how much longer to make the next version. Also, I have about five sarongs I brought back from Hawaii a couple years ago that I love for around the house during the summer. They’re in there too.

My wardrobe is: Pathetic. Sorry. Sad. Wimpy. Un-girlish. Completely breaks the stereotype of a girl having so many clothes she needs two closets.

Well, folks, I guess I’d better get busy. I hope to crank out at least one skirt for myself this weekend. I didn’t get anything done last weekend other than finding the fabric and patterns, but at least that means I don’t have to do that step this weekend. I can focus on fitting, cutting, and sewing.

I do have to leave you with some more cuteness, though. I got to take the boys – my grandsons –  to their swimming lessons last Wednesday evening, which meant plenty of time spent squishing the squishable Evan. He’s almost crawling and boy, does he know who his Grandma is. Just like Cayden does.

IMG_5683

IMG_5686

IMG_5697

He also loves his auntie Stacy.

IMG_5698

4 Comments
  1. July 26, 2008 12:24 pm

    Well I certainly understand the clothes situation. I need to take the time and throw away the old stuff that is just taking up room. I own 4 pair of capris, 2 pair of pants (both jeans) and 4 T-shirts. That is all. I want to try to get through summer with just that and then buy some clothes in the Fall because I will have nothing then.

    And the photos of Evan are so sweet. I could just hug him right through the computer.

    Joan, he’s is so sweet in person too. I’m very lucky that my daughter produces really cute, squishable babies. They are so good natured too, which is a wonderful blessing. They only get fussy or crabby when they are hungry or tired. Even when they grow up and turn 3.

  2. Bev permalink
    July 26, 2008 8:36 pm

    Get going on those skirts, gal! 🙂

    I have a ton of clothes in my closet that I don’t wear, but unlike you, it’s not because they are too big! I have a tendency to make a lot of skirts (’cause they are easy) and then nothing goes with them. I really need to go on a mission to make/buy tops to go with them. I sorta lost the sewing mojo about a year ago. But I will enjoy seeing what all you make!

    Bev – I’m going, I’m going! I’m starting today (Sunday) with altering and finishing a cute UFO that I started uh, 2 years ago. LOL. Tops arent too hard, but for quick, cheap ones, like white tshirts, I just hit Target or Wal-Mart and get the $3 ones on clearance. Works for plain and simple.

  3. July 27, 2008 4:12 am

    well….you know how i feel about sewing. 🙂 no offense, but that *is* a sad little wardrobe. definitely time to fire up that sewing machine.

    teri

    Teri – it *is* sad, huh. I’m firing it up, I promise! Yesterday, I captured my daughter and set her to housecleaning, and unfortunately, I had to help. Good news is, I have a clean house, which makes it easier to sew. I don’t know why that is but it is. I *WILL* have a new skirt to wear to weigh in tomorrow. I have promised myself. And you, now.

  4. July 30, 2008 12:22 pm

    We should all have this problem–nothing to wear, because I got too thin!

    In the interim, you now have a great excuse to go thrifting! Great finds, cheap thrills.

Comments are closed.

